We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever”
Review of The Ritz Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz Cape Town
Ranked #95 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Bewdley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!
From the point we arrived to the day we left we hated this hotel. The rooms and corridors stank of stale smoke, which was magnified if you tried to use the very noisey air conditioning. The room safe didn't work because of lack of batteries (and it took 5 days to get them to fit new ones!). The sheets were clean but when you had the misfortune to look at the beds/ matresses underneath they were badly stained, and damaged. For the 3 of us we had 3 coat hangers in total, and when the maintenance man came up to find more he advised there were no more in any of the other empty rooms on our floor. We never got any more.
Draw fronts were broken and came away in your hands, windows didn't open properly. When we first arrived there was no phone in the room. The hotel is in desperate need of a major refurbishment.
We were on "B&B Basis" but breakfast was poor. We arrived for breakfast at around 8.30am (breakfast was 6.30 - 10am) each of the 8 days we stayed we were forced to hunt around tables looking for cutlery. Croissants were "advertised" as available but we never saw one in 8 mornings and there were shortages of cereals, fruit, juice on most days. Every morning at least one pigeon would be found walking/ flying around the breakfast tables in the dining room and at no time did any staff member attempt to get them out.The staff were friendly but obviously poorly trained and with little or no management.
The first floor bar was rarely manned after 7pm and we had to get reception to find the barman on three occasions just to get a drink.
We had to call for "security" on two occasions firstly to stop loud music at 6am in the morning, and the most serious at 3am New Years Day when our next door guests were fighting in the corridor outside our room and threatening to stab each other!! My wife was left terrified to sleep.
Parking is very limited and the entrance/ exit very tight if you have anything larger than a standard car.
The Terrace Pool was clean but there were only approximately 12 sun loungers for this 21 storey hotel!

Room Tip: Look at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    233
    204
    106
    128
See reviews for
124
262
94
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

So checking in was an issue. We came to Cape Town twice and stayed here on both occasions. Each time checking in appeared to be an issue. The first time we had to wait 20 minutes for our room to be ready, then arriving in the beds weren't made. A little spoilt but I kind of think this what you pay for a made bed. After advsiign the reception they did offer us two rooms to choose from. We had advised that it was for three people...two adults and a child. So we expected there to an extra bed. There was in the form of a sofa bed but with no extra sheets to use. Not a great start. The second occasion, on arrival at 9pm there was no booking for us. We were kept waiting for 20 minutes whilst they did something to sort it out. We never knew what that was as they never talked to us the entire time or even apologised.
Anyways after this the stay was relativley pleasent. The second visit we were on the 20th floor and it was real windy outside which meant we heard rattling of windows and constant whistling. For the price I guess it wasn't a bad hotel as the decor a little dated and in need of a little new paint. Did notice that the curtains were a little dirty and they don't pay to much attention to cleaning the room as there were empty bottles of water left on the floor.
We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and this ok. Most of everything you may want was on offer. The only issue is was the hot food ran out quickly and there would usually be a little wait for it to come back out again. Good selection if you have fussy eaters though. Eating outside on the pool terrace was a nice touch, although could have used a few more umbrellas, as even at 9am the sun is hot.
The pool terrace is about as much of the hotel we used. This was quite nice considering the rest of the hotel is a little dated. Never to busy either but we did leave it looks like before the holiday rush.
If I were to stay in Cape Town again I'd probaly rather stay a little near or in the V&A Waterfront area. Overall, I owuld rate this as a large Travelodge with a nice pool. Not worth paying anymore than we did (around £60p/n)
Didn't try the hotel restaraunt but can reccomend Esperanza. The food and service was excellant and very good value for money

Room Tip: Views around the hotel are good no matter what side you may be on, although the higher probably the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I was in this hotel for 5 nights. Apart from the location and revolving restaurant,nothing good can be said about the hotel.
The deluxe rooms are worse than the average standard room of some of the hotels in cape town.They also charge you the parking fee of ZAR50 per night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poonit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I spent one night here and was extremely disappointed! The furniture in the room was stained, the bed was extremely low with a thin mattress, the bathroom was small and stuffy and the breakfast was not appetizing. I booked online and the pictures on the website were definitely misleading....will not even think of staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auraya19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I booked online to spend 1 night at the Ritz. Confirmation of the booking was emailed to me, mentioning that I must quote a reference on arrival. On arrival I gave a hard copy of the emailed confirmation I had received , to the receptionist. They could not find my booking and the manager was also informed. After waiting 28 minutes, no record could be found of my booking. During my wait, not once was I offered anything to drink or to check whether i was OK!!!
I decided to find alternative accommodation in Seapoint.
Conclusion- don't waste your time or money by staying at The Ritz.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrezSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My mother and I stayed in this hotel for just one night. The hotel is a typical 3 star hotel with the amenities that u would expect from a hotel of this grade. Staff was friendly although not overly so.

Rooms were clean, but smelled of smoke, and we specifically asked for non smoking room.
Breakfast was ok, but nothing extraordinary.

If u want to stay just for one night and dont wanna pay too much, this hotel would be ok, but if u want to stay longer, there are much better options.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the nicest views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritzaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed for 12 days in this hotel. Ok its a dated hotel and so lacks the modern touch like a fridge or iron or hair dryer. You need to pay for wifi, which can be costly if you use wifi a lot!
Rooms are ok but some rooms are better than others. The bathroom shower was ok but leaked but for the most part was clean. TV in rooms were dated and showed a few channels. Pool was kept nice and clean. Revolving restaurant was dated and not the best for food. On plus side location is good!, staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was not bad at all. This is not a business. Hotel or a 5 star at best 3 stars! If you go expecting more then this you will be dissatisfied loads of great bars and restaurants nearby to use instead! Worth staying for low budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowstam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
372 reviews
Winchester Mansions
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
The One 8 Hotel
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cascades on the Promenade
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
385 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#39 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,280 reviews
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#40 of 109 in Cape Town Central
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Cape Town

Property: The Ritz Cape Town
Address: Corner Main & Camberwell Roads | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Cape Town Ritz Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ritz Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Sea Point's vibrant promenade and a short distance from the beach and the V&A Waterfront lies the landmark Ritz. Iconic and rich in history with magnificent views of the ocean and city, The Ritz has held it's prideful place for 45 years. Inspired by exclusive and design driven accessible luxury, The Ritz is being reconstructed to unveil unparalleled luxury. Opening Early 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Hotel Cape Town
Cape Town Ritz
The Ritz Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing