We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Poor noisy room. Double glazing faulty so extremely windy. Lack of communication in hotel led to poor service & disruption to our holiday. Sadly left a bad taste! Rooms badly planned with little storage ie NO drawers , small wardrobes ! Staff helpful & friendly. Location good.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Kwis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Kwis25,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Many thanks for your feedback and comments of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

If there is a possibility, we would like to further discuss your comments. When convenient for you, please send your details to marcel.eichenberger@radissonblu.com

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was really looking forward to returning on business travel and after crossing my fingers discovered the following areas of improvement:
1. am on a business class suite that's stunning but the pool is righ in front of room 5 - why not have glass that conceals me from the outside world while I can still see it as your precious guest?

2.take care of the 'sea flies" both in the rooms & most importantly in the dining areas - the candles requested seemed to work so please invest in a repellant candle /2 per table and over every buffet table at breakfast - will eally stand you in good hygienic stead. as an industrial heath dr i cannot understand how this establishment does not give serious attention to this.

3. perhaps increase the waiter staff compliment and kitchen turnaround time - something is seriously not right here - our non-passionate waitress does not seem to know the difference between a ribeye & a t-bone steak and had the audacity to challenge my observation that my order was not delivered - that aside - the taste was out of this world!

4. Carmen with whom we had booked the conference package was nowhere to be found - always a nice gesture t come out and meet you guests and then intro them to whoever will be looking after them. a conference package should not be as tricky as ours is at the moment-day 2 tomorrow and we hope for the best. We have booked 4 business class rooms and feel that warrants better attention than this.

5.my colleagues who checked in a day later than I did had to wait for quite a while to have their business rooms ready

6. Shower in main bedroom leaks and needs taking care of before it gets all mouldy

Room Tip: The groumd floor next to the pool esp is not where you want to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rato_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear rato_11,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments, we appreciate your feedback.

The constructive feedback you have stated is important to us and please note this matter has been looked into and dealt with.

We trust that this will not deter you from visiting our property again in the near future, and where we will be granted the opportunity of exceeding your expectations.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was a great hotel for our Cape Town stay. The oceanfront pool and eating area is spectacular. Breakfast spreads are amazing. The standard rooms are spacious and modern. Everything is clean and new.

The location is at the end of the promenade that goes all way to Sea Point.

The walk in the other direction, towards the V&A, isn't as nice, however they do provide a shuttle. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly, although service at dinner time could be improved upon.

There is a fantastic gym (for a hotel gym) and an indoor pool in addition to the glorious infinity pool outside. There is also a spa but our experience at the spa was quite uneven.

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms are amazing but more expensive. The views on the non-sea-facing side vary. Worth as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Daniel306,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront .

Your positive comments is greatly appreciated and the additional comments have been noted accordingly.

On behalf of our entire team we look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were at the hotel and had a wonderful experience in a gorgeous room although we did pay a premium in a family apartment but was worth it! This time came back with friends and they got a beautiful sea facing room with balcony (paid the same price as we did) and we were given a room half the size overlooking the car park and we couldn't sleep from the noise. No balcony and the windows could not open either. Wifi was also not great really

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Cynthia H,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. Please be advised we have noted your comment on our system and in future will allocate accordingly.

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and other viewers and trust that this will not deter you from visiting our property in the near future.

We trust that on your return we will be granted the opportunity of exceeding your expectations!


Best Regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is in a great location: Situated right by the ocean, you can enjoy the (relatively small) infinity pool, while watching dolphins (if you're lucky) and you can walk or take the shuttle operated by the hotel to the Waterfront, where you'll find a lot of restaurants cramped in a touristy area. The personnel at breakfast is really and has adopted a strong service mentality.
Why we weren't happy: The hotel overall has a very anonymous atmosphere and you feel like a number rather than like a valued guest. The rooms were not really clean (toenails from prior occupants under the bed), the bed sheets had holes in them, there were too few towels in the bathroom (and you should expect two per Person if you've booked a double room). The service was not ok and when ordering bar food we waited for longer than an hour. If you want to brave the bar service anyways: Stay aways from the cocktails! They had cheap siroups and alcohol in them and are not worth the price. When we complained with the hotel manager in person he did not react appropropriately meaning that we never heard back from him.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 204World_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear 204World_Traveller,

Many thanks for taking time out to write a review of the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

I really do apologize for the service you experienced as this is definitely not the standard we strive to a achieve.

I do believe Marcel Eichenberger , the Executive Assistant Manager is in direct contact with you and assisting you with regards to the feedback given.

Trust this will not deter you from visiting our hotel when your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just return from a week stay in Cape Town and was delighted that we opted to stay at the Radisson Blu. The location is just spectacular and only topped by the level of the customer service and friendliness of the staff, they just couldn't do enough for you - Paul from guest relations and Abligail waiting tables I have to single out for just going that extra mile every time. I know where I will be staying on my next trip and I would recommend you do to if you want to be blown away!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Markus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Markus R,

Wow! What a great review. Am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

Thank you so much for the great and positive feedback with regards to our staff especially stars like Paul and Abigail. This has been noted and we are grateful for this recognition.

We are expecting you to have more trips to Cape Town just to have that blown away experience all over again.

Wishing you safe travels.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

A classy, well appointed Hotel with beautiful views and a relaxing atmosphere. Close to the City of Cape Town and walking distance to the waterfront. High speed internet access free of charge, undercover parking and great walks or runs along the beachfront promenade add to the already well-priced package. Conference rooms for business are well located, served and appointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Jonathan L,

Many thanks for your kind and great review of the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

The hotel has indeed great views and is quite serene and enjoyed by so many guests especially when spotting dolphins frolicking in between the waves.

Am extremely happy that your stay was enjoyed and we look forward in welcoming you back when next you in Cape Town.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,579 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,797 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $195 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Splitty, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing