We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Hotel with Fantastic Location”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four nights and was mostly impressed by the overall hotel. The porters and staff at the entrance of the hotel were absolutely fantastic. They were always smiling and super helpful and accommodating. Moving, the hotel room was nice and I loved getting a small water bottle at night with a piece of chocolate. The air conditioning when we first came leaked water into the bed but after a quick call, the condition was fixed. Next, the star of my stay was the breakfast in the morning, it was huge with a great variety and fabulous food. I appreciated that it opened early so that you could get an early start on the day while still having a great and filling breakfast. Additionally the service at breakfast was fabulous especially a server named Techana ( I hope that I got the spelling right), he was extremely observant and helpful and always seemed to have a smile on his face. The view on the deck is also super fantastic and eating breakfast or dinner there is one of the best things about the hotel.The only major downside of the Radisson is its restaurant Tobago. The service at the restaurant was extremely slow and the service was below par. Secondly, the food was not very good and not as good as it sounded on the menu. Rather go to a restaurant at the waterfront or in downtown Capetown.Overall, the location, breakfast, and service was fabulous and the shuttle to the waterfront is a nice touch. The restaurant was the major fault of my stay but it is definitely a hotel worth staying at in Capetown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maus1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Maus1996,

Thank you very much for taking the time to deliver your response and sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

We are delighted to hear about your experience at our hotel and will surely relay your comment to Tchana.
Also so happy to hear that the problem with air conditioning was resolved so efficiently.

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for your business and wishing you all the best for the New Year!

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    500
    142
    55
    49
See reviews for
294
666
78
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2013

1. the room stinks (feet, shoes). The Hotel agreed to give another room (that smells less). One hour to have our bagage (one was disappeared and appeared again). To apologize, it gave us 4 pieces of chocolate cake: it took them three days to remove the dirty plate. In the room, problem with the shower : small pression, water leaks
2. The service was awfully low especially at the restaurant (some mornings at breakfast no coffee after 20 minutes) and 15 minutes to have a drink by the pool. The coach at the fitness was not service oriented at all. Enable to say "hello, good morning" and not possible to "disturb him" because he was always using one of the exercising bank to do massage to his clients (in the fitness). In fact, we disturbed him (and his clients), because we made noise by using machines and sweating... Hello guys, you know what means fitness? never seen that ... no professionnal.
3. Internet : always problem of connexion. What's wrong, guys?
4. Food : average.
5. Good view, very small pool to look at.
En résumé: first stay in South Africa, first hotel in Cape town. Big prices and big disappointment. We have been six times on holidays for the last two years to USA and always the hotels (Radisson blue, etc.) were very friendly service oriented hotels. (Fortunately all the other hotels of our 3 weeks trip in South Africa are real 5 stars).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pivi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Pivi B,

Please accept our thanks and appreciation for your feedback and sincere apologies for what you have experienced at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

At a convenient time to you ,can you please send your details to marcel.eichenberger@radissonblu.com as we view your comment as serious and would like to discuss this further.

Looking forward to hearing from you and wishing you a prosperous 2014!

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that is located on the waterfront and within walking distance to all the great restaurants and shopping. Not interested in walking, they have a shuttle that runs every hour. The staff have all been friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Jamie F,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your comments. We appreciate receiving such positive feedback of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back, when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Kind Regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel can be highly recommended. Very personal, not too many rooms, staff will know you after 2 days. Great waterfront location with wonderful views and 8 mins walking distance to V&A waterfront shopping. Only let-down (and that makes me question the 5* rating) is the rather poorly run tobago restaurant and the condition of the room (cracked and loose paint, mould in the shower etc) - simply the details you expect to be right in a 5* hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFoxhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear LondonFoxhole,

Thank you for taking time to deliver your response and sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
Your comments have been noted and we have addressed the issues mentioned.

Wishing you a very Happy New year and safe travels.

Kind Regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, the location right on the water is great and the bar and restaurant setting is second to none. I could spend days in that bar area just relaxing! All the staff I encountered were super friendly and efficient (a big thanks to all the staff!). We utilised the shuttle bus to the V&A waterfront many times. If you can afford it then book a sea view room - we were in a standard room but it was still lovely. I would stay here again. My one gripe is that the wifi was very hit and miss.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanetMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear ShanetMc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this great feedback of the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

I am so pleased to read all your positive comments as this really encourages all our staff to be the very best.

Wishing you a wonderful festive season and a very happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamako, Mali
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you are looking for unadulterated luxury, amazing service, wonderful cuisine, and a stellar location in Cape Town, look no further than the Radisson Blu. I am generally a big fan of the Radisson Blu chain because of the high standards as well as the environmental consciousness of the company. The Waterfront,lCape Town though is the best I've experienced. The hotel is located in a small next to the new stadium (an amazing piece of modern architecture with table mountain in the background.), the spacious city park around the stadium, the V&A Waterfront (a 5-minute walk), and of course the ocean. I particularly enjoyed the long infinity pool right up against the ocean, great for laps and heated to boot! Plan for part of your day every day to sit by the ocean on the hotel's beachfront (excellent beach-chairs and umbrellas with great service, food, and drinks. No sand though, you're there for the stunning views of the harbor, the boats passing by, and even (I kid you not) dolphins frolicking. The rooms are modern and the beds just eat you they are so comfortable. You will not want to wake up. One negative: instant coffee is an abomination, there should be drip coffee makers in the rooms, not just electric water kettles, though the little packets of real milk were a nice touch. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ocean view, but you pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintWorldWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear ClintWorldWide,

Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel! It was such a pleasure reading your comments – thank you. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and other readers and look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Choosing the Radisson Blu as our hotel in Cape Town was one of the best decisions we made on our last trip. The personnel was super helpful, accomodating and made our anniversary trip very memorable! Thank you for the nice welcome champagne and romantic setting in the room! Location is perfect, with convenient parking. Also the views are great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlamfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Karlamfm,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could contribute to making your anniversary a memorable one!

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you back to Cape Town.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,011 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing