We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value for money in stunning location”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel can be highly recommended. Very personal, not too many rooms, staff will know you after 2 days. Great waterfront location with wonderful views and 8 mins walking distance to V&A waterfront shopping. Only let-down (and that makes me question the 5* rating) is the rather poorly run tobago restaurant and the condition of the room (cracked and loose paint, mould in the shower etc) - simply the details you expect to be right in a 5* hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFoxhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear LondonFoxhole,

Thank you for taking time to deliver your response and sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
Your comments have been noted and we have addressed the issues mentioned.

Wishing you a very Happy New year and safe travels.

Kind Regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    941
    496
    141
    53
    47
See reviews for
281
661
77
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, the location right on the water is great and the bar and restaurant setting is second to none. I could spend days in that bar area just relaxing! All the staff I encountered were super friendly and efficient (a big thanks to all the staff!). We utilised the shuttle bus to the V&A waterfront many times. If you can afford it then book a sea view room - we were in a standard room but it was still lovely. I would stay here again. My one gripe is that the wifi was very hit and miss.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanetMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear ShanetMc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this great feedback of the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

I am so pleased to read all your positive comments as this really encourages all our staff to be the very best.

Wishing you a wonderful festive season and a very happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamako, Mali
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you are looking for unadulterated luxury, amazing service, wonderful cuisine, and a stellar location in Cape Town, look no further than the Radisson Blu. I am generally a big fan of the Radisson Blu chain because of the high standards as well as the environmental consciousness of the company. The Waterfront,lCape Town though is the best I've experienced. The hotel is located in a small next to the new stadium (an amazing piece of modern architecture with table mountain in the background.), the spacious city park around the stadium, the V&A Waterfront (a 5-minute walk), and of course the ocean. I particularly enjoyed the long infinity pool right up against the ocean, great for laps and heated to boot! Plan for part of your day every day to sit by the ocean on the hotel's beachfront (excellent beach-chairs and umbrellas with great service, food, and drinks. No sand though, you're there for the stunning views of the harbor, the boats passing by, and even (I kid you not) dolphins frolicking. The rooms are modern and the beds just eat you they are so comfortable. You will not want to wake up. One negative: instant coffee is an abomination, there should be drip coffee makers in the rooms, not just electric water kettles, though the little packets of real milk were a nice touch. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ocean view, but you pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintWorldWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear ClintWorldWide,

Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel! It was such a pleasure reading your comments – thank you. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and other readers and look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Kind regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Choosing the Radisson Blu as our hotel in Cape Town was one of the best decisions we made on our last trip. The personnel was super helpful, accomodating and made our anniversary trip very memorable! Thank you for the nice welcome champagne and romantic setting in the room! Location is perfect, with convenient parking. Also the views are great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlamfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Karlamfm,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could contribute to making your anniversary a memorable one!

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you back to Cape Town.


Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Quite surprised by some of the recent comments negative comments on this hotel, I have traveled widely and stayed in many hotels and in my opinion the Service, Food Quality and Location make this hotel in my top 5 places to stay.

The service, warmth and helpfulness from staff is extraordinary and I would stay here for this alone. There are many hotel chains in so call luxury resorts who could learn many things from the staff here.

This is not a cheap hotel by any means, and its possibly this element that leaves people expecting more given the usual cost of things in South Africa. Its probably my only real complaint. Wifi is a pain in the butt, as in many place in SA - they just dont have the communications infrastructure that people may be used to elsewhere, but its getting there and I was able to work on VPN effectively.

I would loved an Ocean view but hotel was full so if you get the choice try to grab one with a view

Room Tip: Ocean room view will make your stay!! Land facing rooms can get a bit noisy, especially over kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MulhollandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear MulhollandP,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront.

It is so good to receive such positive feedback and I have shared this with all of our team.
Wishing you a great festive season and safe travels.

Kind Regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I'm wrapping up a 3-night stay, in town for business. I had been planning to stay at the Hilton downtown, but at the last minute switched over the Radisson Blu on a colleague's suggestion. I was a little nervous b/c the Hilton has done such a good job in my past stays, but decided to give it a try, mainly b/c it was on the waterfront. In the past, I've stayed at the Westin in Cape Town.

Physically and location-wise, this is a nice hotel. The lobby is a little small and worn, but completely functional. The restaurant is probably the nicest physical area in the hotel, with a great patio area that has a view of the ocean. Breakfast there is a delight for the natural surroundings. I had a business class room, and it was great. Very spacious. Suffered from a set of less than professional paint jobs in the past that lead to a lumpy look, but this is nitpick.

Food was average (room service) to slightly above average (breakfast buffet).

Noise is poor. There has been an event every night in the lobby, right outside the room door given the open air construction of the hotel, which means a lot of noise in the rooms until late each evening.

Wi-Fi is terrible. I think they're doing some type of port or MIME-based filtering that allowed me to browse webpages, but blocked downloading of attachments or navigating to some of my corporate sites or loading data for certain Android apps, e.g., American Airlines. This made it so difficult to work that I had to purchase a separate data bundle on my mobile SIM just to compensate for this.

Service is the only major bump in the road. Let me first say that nearly everyone I met at the hotel was friendly. This means a lot to me. When you come off a plane after 36 hours of travel, the last thing you need are mean people.

However, there was a pretty big miss on my last evening that really just didn't reflect well on the hotel. I had been using the car service during my stay. It's expensive but convenient, and since I was here on business, I didn't have much allowance for being late or uncertainty. After my last meeting, I decided to take a brief walk at the waterfront and asked the driver to take me there. When he dropped me off, I asked him where the shuttle picked up and he informed me it was at the same location as where he was dropping me off, hourly, at a quarter past the hour.

With that in hand, I planned an hour to walk and browse, and headed back to the site. It was getting chilly and I decided to dine back at the hotel. By 10 past, I didn't see the shuttle so called the hotel. They indicated that I was at the wrong location, and said I needed to walk about 5 minutes to a different location for the pickup, but that I would be late by a few minutes. I asked if they could hold the shuttle a few minutes but they said no. I asked if there was any other way to get back and they said no. No apology, directions, offer to pickup and provide a ride, voucher in case I lacked enough local currency - just a goodbye. I asked a nearby bellhop for help getting a cab, but he seemed to only be helping his hotel's patrons, and instructed that I walk.

So past sunset, I took the 20 minute walk back to the hotel. It was chilly and I did my best to cover my throat, but by the time I got back, I was sweating and tired, had a crick in my throat, and got the sinking feeling I had caught a cold. The guest relations person who had introduced himself to me was unavailable (on vacation for 4 days) and had no voicemail, and my request to speak to the manager on duty resulted in a dropped call. Tired, I simply gave up and decided to hop in the shower.

I'm not yet sure what to think of the Radisson Blu. I think like many hotels, it's a mix of good and bad. Great location, ok food, terrible Internet, mixed service - well-intentioned and with a smile, just uneven. And as I sit here writing this with a cough and growing cold, I just have to ask myself, are these mishaps worth it? I hop back on a plane tomorrow to Johannesburg for more meetings, then in the evening, start another 36-hour plane journey back. And I have to conclude that it would be better to be well-rested and healthy than to have great scenery.

I will likely need to recommend to my colleagues that we utilize another hotel for business and in the future, will probably need to stay at the Westin or Hilton. But I will definitely miss breakfast on the patio.

Room Tip: Get a business class room if you can. The higher and further away from the lobby where there is mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Paul L,

I would just say thank you for your feedback.

I do apologize for the incidents that took place and Marcel the gentleman you spoke to on the morning of your departure will contact you directly.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our teams friendliness, the incidents incurred were due to miscommunication and we will be sure to address these issues.

We look forward to be granted the opportunity in welcoming you back when next your travel brings you to Cape Town and to rectify this unpleasant experience by creating memorable ones.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in September. Was placed in very nice room on lower level with brilliant sea views (room 9) - unfortunately this room is a bit noisy being placed next to the bar and also with noises coming from the kitchen throughout the night. Asked a few times for the music to be turned down from the bar area and eventually got it right. Breakfast was ok, but seen better. Will go back to hotel, but certainly not that room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomnomcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear NomNomCpt,

We appreciate you taking the time to deliver your comments regarding your recent stay at The Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel.
Your feedback given is important and will be constructively dealth with.

We trust that this will not deter you from visiting our property again in the near future and where we will be granted the opportunity of exceeding your expectations.

Best regards
Debra Sivertsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing