We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shocked to hear this is a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“shocked to hear this is a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

By accident we found ourselves in front of this hotel 3 weeks ago around 11 AM. This is your typical 4 star hotel. The service, the look. Like inside plastic tables without table clothes, middle of the road furniture. Nice but not that special either. Staff friendly but not so professional. Now there is nothing wrong with a 4 star hotel but having stayed in so many 5 star hotels all over the world I was quite shocked to read on TA this is actually a 5 star hotel. Maybe it is just a misprint. We had coffee and a cheese sandwich as it was the only thing they served at that time of the day. And then we left to have lunch at the Grace Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joop C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Joop C,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and for sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

If there is a possibility, we would like to further discuss your comments. When convenient for you, please send your details to marcel.eichenberger@radissonblu.com

Best Regards,

Marcel Eichenberger
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    506
    143
    56
    49
See reviews for
300
670
79
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights in March at the Radisson Blu Hotel in a business class room for our 30th wedding anniversary. Initially we were given a sea facing room on the first level on the right hand side of the hotel which was dissappointing but we requested a room on the left hand side of the hotel as the views of the Atlantic Ocean are much better and we were lucky enough to get a corner room on the 4th floor. The room and bathroom were outstanding and the views from the balcony incredible. We could watch the magnificent sunrise and sunset from our corner balcony. Truly spectacular. The accomodation was expensive but the room and views were well worth paying for. The service in the hotel was excellent as was the breakfast buffet on the terrace and the staff were very helpful. Beautiful pool area.The swimming pool is not very large but the view of the ocean makes up for it. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Spend the extra on the sea facing room. Its worth it! Ask for a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear kasuperwoman,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments.

Once again, best wishes for your 30th wedding anniversary! Thank you for commemorating this momentous occasion with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back, when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from the most amazing Honeymoon that started at the Radisson Blu.

From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more friendly and because we were on Honeymoon we were lucky enough to have extra attention from Paul van den Broeck from guest relations. Paul was amazing! from the tips for dinner to helping us organize where to go and when. Plus the little extras such as Champagne and towel swans, he could not do enough for us. He really is an asset to the hotel.

The hotel is in a great location with fantastic views. Just 5- 10 minutes walk to the waterfront.

The breakfast was the best of our 3 week Honeymoon and we stayed in 3 further 5*+ hotels. There was so much choice!

The rooms are very comfortable and clean with huge bathrooms!

All in all I don't think I would stay anywhere else in Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muttipj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear muttipj,

We would once again like to take the opportunity of wishing you and your wife all of the very best!

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and for sharing your encounter with us and other viewers.

We are delighted to hear about your experience at our hotel and will surely relay a copy of your feedback to Paul van den Broeck, so thank you very much for this.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Best Regards,

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wonderful location (close to Green Point stadium), short walk to The Waterfront area, plenty of restaurants. BIG and comfortable bedroom and the bathroom as well. Excelent internet speed. Restaurant area and the food and breakfast are wonderful. Excellent and nice staff (no exceptions). My disappointment was the pool: full of birds, birds scat on the edge of the pool, birds feather in the water. I was not "courageous" enough to swim there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeBRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear cruiserbrazil,

Thank you very much for taking the time to deliver such a positive response.

Our feathered friends can be a little lawless at times, but we are dealing with them as kindly possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travel brings you to Cape Town!

Best Regards
Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I chose this hotel because it belongs to the Radisson Blu hotels and remained not disappointed. The service was overall perfect, my Business Class room very spacious and comfortable. The views towards the Atlantic Ocean are worth the extra money!

This hotel is well connected with the Waterfront thanks to a shuttle bus. It also provides reliable taxi services for other destinations. I was impressed that the reception was able to organize me a trip to Cape Point within 12 hours!

I enjoyed the overall well prepared and presented breakfast in this hotel. The gym could be more equipped and the swimming pools larger, but I stayed here for business, so I cannot complain about this aspect.

Security is a major concern in South Africa and I was very happy to feel myself secure in this hotel. I would strongly recommend this hotel to those visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiplTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear DiplTraveller,

On behalf of our team we would to like to thank you for your detailed review of our hotel.

It is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I use the Radisson for both business and personal use and it has always impressed me for a number of reasons. Excellent staff, proximity to everything, the outside veranda is one of the best sites in Cape Town for cocktails etc., the rooms are spacious and comfortable particularly the suites that get upgraded to from time to time. Quite frankly, I am a fan!

Room Tip: Suite 409 is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear KevinH,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

We are delighted to have received such a response, and look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My birthday present to my husband was a week-end at this hotel.
We arrived early and as the rooms were ready , we were allowed to check in. What a pleasant reception! Everybody at the reception desk was friendly and co-operative. Service overall was faultless. Throughout our stay the manager was so concerned as to whether we were comfortable and happy. My husband was ecstatic when he received a bottle of grape juice and sweet delicacies as a birthday treat from the manager.
We were very satisfied with the room and especially the bathroom. I must add that the breakfast was simply awesome. The hotel is also very coneveniently situated especially if you are a tourist.
I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Alraz,

What a pleasure reading your review!

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your fantastic experience with us and other viewers.

We glad to have played a role in such a memorable occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your stay next stay.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,026 reviews
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,596 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rezidor, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing