We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax Station, VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here in Feb 2013 with my Dad. The hotel was our base for seeing the greater Cape Town attractions before heading north to Sabi Sands. The location is scenic, quiet and a convenient 10 min walk to the waterfront area shops and restaurants.
We very much enjoyed the common areas of the hotel :
- the pool area. Nice area to lounge and have a drink. Dad enjoyed the pool overlooking the ocean.
- Breakfast/Dinner outdoor patio - Great place to have breakfast and dinner. Quality of the food was very good for both. Service was always good for breakfast. Dinner was sometimes slow.

The room had a great view overlooking the ocean. We did have a problem when arriving late on check-in . All rooms were apparently booked and the only one left had a water leakage problem in the bathroom. They offered to move us for one night to a nearby hotel but we were too tired after the long flights from the US. They apologized repeatedly and gave us a deep discount for the night and moved all of our things to a new room the morning for the rest of our stay. We appreciated the way this was handled. No room problems for the rest of our stay - clean and comfortable.

Other pros are the free internet and the great service we received from the front desk while making other reservations and taxi/car plans.

I would definitely stay here on a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffxstation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear ffxstation,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver such a positive review after your stay with us.

We are delighted to have received such feedback and look forward to hosting you at the next occasion when your travels bring you back to Cape Town!

Best Regards

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    506
    143
    57
    49
See reviews for
301
671
80
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything you expect from a top class hotel, in a wonderfully picturesque setting. The views as you sit eating in Tobagos restaurant are fabulous. You even get to see dolphins swimming past. Service is top notch and the people very friendly and polite. Free spa has a 30 degrees heated pool with periodic jacuzzi jets. The treatments are really relaxing and reasonably priced. Hourly shuttle to the lively V&A shops and restaurants, nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laboux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Laboux,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

We glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel in April 2013. Attended at meeting for the weekend. My room was spectacular. Had an amazing view. Impressed with the Nespresso machine in the room.
Unfortunate that the room was only serviced once a day. Coffee/nespresso was not replenished. Bathroom was not cleaned properly. The wrapping of the hand soap was lying there for the whole weekend. I forgot to throw it away prior to dinner the first evening. At check out it was still lying there
The food was amazing. Especially the snacks that was served during welcome drinks. Also lunch (standing lunch) was amazing. Breakfast was also stunning. A pity I couldn't stay another day to enjoy my room and have a relaxing breakfast without having to entertain clients. Would recommend this hotel any time. This was my second visit to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Sanet V,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing you experience with us and other viewers.

We appreciate and welcome your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with your room and the quality of the food. Further your constructive feedback has been noted accordingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town and a return visit to our property.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hi Marcel
Thank you is just not enough to express our sincere gratitude for organizing such an amazing spread for our special anniversary dinner at the Radisson on Thursday 25 April.
Everything far exceeded our expectations and our friends and family couldn’t stop raving to us about all the food and service you offered to us on the night.
Heinrich was a gem. Nothing was too much trouble for him and his service and attitude resulted in a faultless evening.
Everything ran so smoothly and there was plenty variety of food and drinks for everyone to enjoy. We all left the venue completely satisfied and we won’t hesitate to have a function at the Radisson Blu in the future.

Thanks once again for making our anniversary evening so memorable.

Francois and Lisa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Francois and Lisa,

We are naturally very pleased to receive such feedback and to hear that we could contribute to your very special occasion.

Thank you also for your kind comments with regard to Heinrich, we will share your message with him and all staff who had the privilege of serving you at your anniversary dinner.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards

Marcel Eichenberger
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights. This hotel is located quite near the V&A Waterfront and if u can get a sea view room it is quite good value. The first room I got booked in looked quite average and the plug does not work so I have to switch room because that means I can not charge my phone etc.They changed me to a room with sea view which was very nice of them. The room is not very big but serves the purpose.For the price I paid I have to say I'm satisfied, however this is not really a 5 star hotel type. It is also near sea point so if u like stay by the sea and see the city center side this is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear YiS,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments.

We value your feedback and this has been noted accordingly. We are however pleased to hear that you were happy with your upgrade and that for the price you paid, you were satisfied.

I would like to discuss a few items with you directly so if you wish to have further feedback please could you e mail on Marcel.eichenberger@radissonblu.com

Best Regards

Marcel Eichenberger
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If I had stayed at one of the seafront rooms I am sure my review would have been a 4 or 5 star review.

However, as it is, I paid £240 for a room, without breakfast (!), that had absolutely no view. In fact, the way the hotel is constructed, if you are not looking over the sea, odds are you RIGHT above the parking lot or the entrance. Most hotels set the rooms a bit back from such high noise areas, but not this one. And since there are only about 5/6 floors, you are very close to the noise from the road, parking lot and entrance.

One night there was music being blasted... from the hotel's own van!

I would only stay in this hotel if I got a sea view, otherwise it is really not worth it. You are paying a lot for access to the outdoor facilities, but if that is all you want then find cheaper guest houses.

If you are here for business and not using the outside there are less pricey options that are less noisy if you don't have a seaview.

The hotel is spotless, the staff friendly, food nice, and the outside area is nice (though pool side service is pretty sketchy).

Again I asked the staff if they get the tip if I put it on the bill and they said no. I have heard this at every Rezidor Hotel I have stayed in in Africa - shame on you. I asked the same question of the waiter at the One and Only and he said they DO get the tip. I know where I would prefer to work...

Room Tip: Chose high up seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlartibarfastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear SlartibarfastLondon,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments.

We appreciate and welcome your constructive feedback, this has been noted accordingly. We are happy to hear that your expectations were met regarding the cleanliness of our hotel, our friendly staff and quality food.

Our sea facing business class rooms, is indeed the highlight of our hotel with the beautiful view and ideal location.

Furthermore we can assure you that our waitrons do receive all tips owing to them that’s included on the bills, so I am unsure as to why our waitrons would make such a statement I will talk to my team to see why they would say this

We trust that this will not deter you from visiting our property as we look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

I would like to discuss a few items with you directly so if you wish to have further feedback please could you e mail on Marcel.eichenberger@radissonblu.com

Best regards

Marcel Eichenberger
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights with my husband and 1 year old baby. We loved this hotel. The rooms are spacious, with a separate lounge area. Beautifully appointed bathrooms. Great location, walking distance to the VA Waterfront. Our room had great views over the harbour. The hotel offers a big breakfast spread, free wifi, helpful business centre, helpful staff etc. The bathrobes and slippers, daily newspaper were a real treat

It is a five star hotel so I guess it is to be expected that everything would be top notch. Worth it.

Room Tip: Sea / harbour facing rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batsamai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Batsamai,

Thank you very much for taking the time to deliver your comments. What a pleasure it is to receive such wonderful feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Best Regards

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,032 reviews
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,603 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Rezidor, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing