We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location is unparalleled with ocean front on two sides, views of Table Mountain and the soccer stadium. We had a terrific meal on the patio with a great jazz trio playing. The staff were truly welcoming. Too bad about the room. With all the hotel had going for it, we were assigned a room that managed to have no view and a tattered curtain. Travelling with my sibling, we had asked for separate beds, but they were pushed together. When we asked for another room, we were told no, but they would fix the beds while we were out for dinner and they did the turndown service. That didn't happen, and we had to call housekeeping late at night when we were exhausted and had wanted nothing more than to fall into a comfortable bed. The room also was near the atrium overlooking the ballroom space, and some event that evening was very loud, which made the room even less desirable. We had booked the room using our loyalty program points - thanks for valuing your customers, folks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSkyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear BigSkyRed,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments.

We are both thrilled and wearied at the receipt of your feedback but are happy to learn that you have enjoyed our hospitality in as far as our staff’s welcome, food and entertainment are concerned.
However, thank you for highlighting the condition of the curtain in your room, as we realize that only through constructive criticism are we given an opportunity to improve where we are found to be wanting.
I am happy to confirm with you that we are in the process of replacing all curtains in our Standard Rooms and we look forward the successful rollout and completion thereof.

With regard to the beds, I do apologize for this not being done as per your request. This is most certainly not our standard and I will ensure we address the issue so that it does not happen again.

In the light of the afore-mentioned, please accept our thanks and appreciation for your feedback and our sincerest apology for what you have experienced.

Being a Club Carlson member I can assure you that you are a valued customer and we will be certain to not have these issues reoccur.

We trust that this will not deter you from visiting our property and that we will again have the privilege of hosting you in the near future.

Best Regards

Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    501
    142
    56
    49
See reviews for
295
666
78
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, USA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Simple and to the point. If you are heading to Capetown, do not hesitate to use this hotel. The hotel has a great location, great staff, excellent food, and a super patio overlooking the water, to enjoy a drink.
If I were being a little picky, my one complaint/observation would be that sometimes it takes a little too long to get served when on the patio.
Breakfast and dinner were very good, and the chefs were very accommodating.
The hotel is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no818528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear no818528,

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your comments. We appreciate receiving such positive feedback of your stay. In addition, we would also like to welcome the information with regard to your observation to the time it took to be served on the patio. This has been noted and constructively addressed with the department concerned so thank you very much for bringing this to our notice.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Best Regards,
Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

With the awesome buffet breakfast accompanied by the unbeatable view, The hotel is a great jumping off point to explore all that Cape Town has to offer. It iis about a 7 minute walk to the V&A water front. Be sure to make time to enjoy the spa!

Room Tip: If you're in a standard room, ask for a corner room and you might get a limited water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty_Boop_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Betty_Boop_999,

Thank you for a very short but sweet response! Your feedback is appreciated, so thank you very much for taking the time to let us have your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Best Regards,
Michael Rathgeb
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A two night stay at the 5 star Radisson Blu was what you would expect from a international hotel chain. It was clean, tidy and a great location within a stroll of the Cape Town Waterfront attractions. The service was pretty good and they did a great chicken curry. Overall a good stay but after the two safari camps it was a little impersonal - a bit like being on a business trip.

Room Tip: The Radisson seemed to lack a personality but it is a great place to have drink at sunset on the te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Stephan O,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

A further sincere thank you for the positive comments on our hotel, location and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

From getting into the car for airport transfer to final check out, the experience was great! The staff were very helpful and pleasant and willing to go the extra mile. The venue is superb and we enjoyed a lovely Friday afternoon at the pool where Phinias (hopefully right spelling of his name) served us with a big smile! The Saturday night Earth Hour dinner was superb as well. The restaurant manager was very friendly and popped over to the table to see how we were doing. The fresh bbq seafood was very well done indeed! My room had a fantastic sea and pool view and the tranquility of waking up to the sound of the waves just added to the experience. Radisson surely goes out of their way to make sure you feel part of their family when you spend time in a resort like that! Great staff, great location and fantastic service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbyMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear GabbyMelissa,

What a pleasure reading your review!!!!! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

Your positive accolades to the mentioned staff will certainly be passed on.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your expectations were met by our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michel Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is fantastic. Just on the sea with amazing view from the rooms. For me there are few but:
Early check in is impossible so I need always to pay for an extra night.
Make sure you are in a renovated room which is fantastic. The old ones are quite sad.
Service sometimes is below expectations
In conclusion, great location but not a perfect experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paoloc0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear 02111971,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your experience with us.

Further be advised that early check in is subject to availability and is non guaranteed unless the previous night is booked in advance; we welcome and value your constructive feedback so this has been noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town and the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been visiting Capetown every year for almost 5 years and had always stayed at the Cape Royale Suites. This was my first stay at the Radisson Blu and I was very impressed. Excellent location, superb view of the sea at the restaurant. Also breakfast was a lovely spread and the steak menus were just excellent. The staff were also warm and courteous.



  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adodo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Adodo T,

What a pleasure reading your review!!!!! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your impressive experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for the lovely comments on our location, service/food in restaurant and courteous staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town and the Radisson Blu Hotel.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,579 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing