We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
333 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights. We had a business class room which was on the 4th (top) floor overlooking Robben Island. This truely was a sea view to die for. The sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below was so restful. I loved it. The room was large, modern and very comfortable. I liked the way the bedroom area could be shut off from the living area. The bed was so comfortable, we slept very well. The Hotel was beautifully maintained and was so light and bright. The design was fantastic, it felt like an ocean liner with lots of glass and open space. Staff were helpful and friendly. We particularly appreciated the shuttle bus service to Victoria and Albert Waterfront and back. It was only a 10 min walk away but it was useful especially in the evening. We found the location perfect for exploring Cape Town. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weelassieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear WeelassieScotland,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for the fantastic comments and description on our hotel, not forgetting the positive recommendation.

We looking forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Micheal Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    498
    142
    53
    48
See reviews for
287
664
77
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta ga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here June 1-5 2012, before we left for safari. Our travel agent double booked us then accidently canceled BOTH reservations. We were supposed to have two rooms since we were traveling with 2 teenagers. Due to the mix up, the hotel upgraded us to a suite that was so amazing it is difficult to put into words. Large balcony overlooking the waterfront and table mountain in the background. Walked to the V&A and took a taxi home due to all the outstanding
(and inexpensive) South African WINE!! We had the lovely breakfast buffet in the hotel most mornings and wine in the bar most evenings. Bartender and staff were so friendly and helpful when we were trying to find a local rugby match. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends!!

Room Tip: Suites are amazing if you wish to splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eakoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Eakoch,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

A further sincere thank you for your lovely comments, we glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What can I say about this hotel, than fantastic? We booked four day stay here before we headed on to Australia and booked a lovely sea view room.
The room was really big with its own living room with lovely French like shutters that separated the bedroom from the living room. All wood floors with lovely decor which gave you the impression you were on a boat. It had a big bathroom with lovely shower and lots of complementary toiletries.
The breakfast was really good with everything you could want for breakfast, you could even order special coffee at no extra charge, the only down side is it takes quite a while for the waiting on staff to bring you a hot drink.

The food in the restaurant for lunch and dinner was also excellent with the service really good and the wine even better; best wine in the world is definitely here in South Africa.

The pool area was very nice with infinity pool with really nice sun loungers. The gym was well equipped with everything in good working order and if you felt more like a relax they had an indoor pool and spa facilities which looked fab.

This hotel is about a 10min walk down to the harbour and waterfront which we walked once in the day time and we got a taxi back when it was dark coming back. There are plenty of taxis at the shopping plaza down at the waterfront and really cheap about £3 to get back to the hotel. The hotel does run a shuttle bus free of charge to and from the waterfront every hour or so which we used to get down there once.

Lots of lovely shops and resturants at the waterfront felt really safte here not like I thought it was going to be. Also got the ferry from the waterfront to Robbin Island, book your tickets before you get here for this trip, still the same price but it does get really busy and you may be dissapointed if it's full when you get here.
If I come back to South Africa I would come back to this hotel as it was really good location and good facilities.

Room Tip: Well worth getting a sea view room worth the extra money if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wirraltravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Wirraltravller,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

A further sincere thank you for the lovely comments and heart warming description of our hotel, location and facilities. We are truely glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring to Cape Town.

Best regards,
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I so want to give this hotel a four star review – but I can’t. It’s certainly very popular. Completely full during my latest visit with mainly European tourists. And it does have a unique selling point amongst Cape Town hotels: if you were on the deck of a cruise liner you’d be further from the Ocean than you are at this hotel. The Radisson is right up against the crashing waves of the Atlantic and makes the most of it with a great infinity pool that really works and a wonderful terrace and bar area that makes for superb breakfasts (with a good buffet) and a buzzing, slightly clubby atmosphere at night. In addition there’s a good sized gym, hydro-therapy pool and spa area and it’s all only about ten minutes’ walk from the Waterfront Shopping area which all begins to explain why it’s so popular for tourists. Unfortunately however, I’m here for work. True it’s a weekend and I’ve decamped from my usual hotel for a change of scenery but I still have some work to do. I’ve been allocated one of the “standard rooms” and they are particularly unimpressive (except for the bed which as usual for Radisson is pretty good). In my current room there’s a tiny desk – maybe large enough for two laptops – and that’s it for work surfaces. If you happen to order room service that’s all of your work area gone. There’s also a hard plastic desk chair that’s both too small and uncomfortable to use with the desk for long and a minimalist style arm chair that would look at home in a hospital waiting room. And this is why I’ve ended up giving the hotel 3 stars. Other room types are available (although not this weekend) and I’m back here next month for the same reason and will try and get one of the nicer ones. If it makes a difference I’ll let you know. Either way I’ll try and spend as little time as possible in the room and as much of it as I can savoring the fantastic location.

Room Tip: If you are stuck with a "standard room" know that they are not all equal. Quite a few have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby S.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Toby S,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your comments with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for for the constructive feedback and positive comments on our location, terrace and bed quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
General Manager
Michael RAthgeb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Check in was ok although a bit slow. We were told we had to pay the bill even though the voucher from the travel agent clearly showed that the bill was to be settled between the agent and the hotel and only "extras" were to be paid for directly. As we were only staying for one night there wasn't time to sort out the issue. We had booked 3 standard rooms however on arrival we were asked if 2 of us would mind sharing a 2 bedroomed suite (presumably they had over booked the single rooms). We did so and the 2 bed suite was really very good, with great views and they sent up a bottle of wine for us as a thank you. Coffee on the terrace in the afternoon was lovely, but it took ages for someone to come and serve us, although they were very friendly when they finally did, and some orders were mixed up which was surprising for such a small group. Dinner later on was fine, good menu with large selection, nice waitress. We returned to the hotel after an event so had to hurry up and order before the kitchen closed at about 10:15. Breakfast was good, good selection, although when I asked for eggs benedict I was told that the cook "hadn't made the Hollandaise sauce as it's been so busy" - but there was no offer to actually make it now that someone was asking for it, so a bit disappointing! All in all, its a very nice hotel, the rooms are great (at least the 2 bed suite was) with really lovely views, and the staff are very friendly, but they need to be a bit sharper if they are to really be deserving of the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear PaulaB,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for the constructive feedback on the areas of improvement, this has been noted and will be constructively dealt with.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

this is a lovely place to stay in cape town, we use it a lot. a bit out of the center of town, but close enough for a short taxi ride. the outdoor bar has one of the best views around, the rooms are nice and the food is very good. friendly staff and a good atmosphere overall.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Opiste,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us.

A further thank you for the positive comments on our hotel, location and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
328 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We flew out to Cape Town on the 31st December and stayed in this hotel for 7 nights. We have stayed in the Radisson Blu in Johannesburg before so had an idea of what to expect - we only booked this hotel 2 days prior to our arrival!! When we got there the staff were very friendly. We were unable to check in as too early but were told we could use the spa to take a shower and change. Once we got our rooms we were pleasantly surprised with the size and the view. We did have to ask for room service to remember to replenish our shampoo and condition on a couple of occasions. The pool area was nice - small pool but plenty of seating area however, unfortunately, despite the signs, people still 'reserved' their sun beds... The staff at breakfast were very friendly - the food was good. The hotel had a courtesy car to take you to and from the V&A waterfront every hour which was convenient although only a 15 minute walk. I had a massage on 2 occasions in the Amani Spa which was very relaxing and reasonably priced. This was a great hotel in a perfect location - near to the V&A Waterfront but far enough from it at the same time ;)

Room Tip: Business rooms are slightly bigger with better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Wishinguwerehere,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for your feedback on out hotel, facilities and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing