We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What can I say about this hotel, than fantastic? We booked four day stay here before we headed on to Australia and booked a lovely sea view room.
The room was really big with its own living room with lovely French like shutters that separated the bedroom from the living room. All wood floors with lovely decor which gave you the impression you were on a boat. It had a big bathroom with lovely shower and lots of complementary toiletries.
The breakfast was really good with everything you could want for breakfast, you could even order special coffee at no extra charge, the only down side is it takes quite a while for the waiting on staff to bring you a hot drink.

The food in the restaurant for lunch and dinner was also excellent with the service really good and the wine even better; best wine in the world is definitely here in South Africa.

The pool area was very nice with infinity pool with really nice sun loungers. The gym was well equipped with everything in good working order and if you felt more like a relax they had an indoor pool and spa facilities which looked fab.

This hotel is about a 10min walk down to the harbour and waterfront which we walked once in the day time and we got a taxi back when it was dark coming back. There are plenty of taxis at the shopping plaza down at the waterfront and really cheap about £3 to get back to the hotel. The hotel does run a shuttle bus free of charge to and from the waterfront every hour or so which we used to get down there once.

Lots of lovely shops and resturants at the waterfront felt really safte here not like I thought it was going to be. Also got the ferry from the waterfront to Robbin Island, book your tickets before you get here for this trip, still the same price but it does get really busy and you may be dissapointed if it's full when you get here.
If I come back to South Africa I would come back to this hotel as it was really good location and good facilities.

Room Tip: Well worth getting a sea view room worth the extra money if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wirraltravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Wirraltravller,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

A further sincere thank you for the lovely comments and heart warming description of our hotel, location and facilities. We are truely glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring to Cape Town.

Best regards,
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,855 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

I so want to give this hotel a four star review – but I can’t. It’s certainly very popular. Completely full during my latest visit with mainly European tourists. And it does have a unique selling point amongst Cape Town hotels: if you were on the deck of a cruise liner you’d be further from the Ocean than you are at this hotel. The Radisson is right up against the crashing waves of the Atlantic and makes the most of it with a great infinity pool that really works and a wonderful terrace and bar area that makes for superb breakfasts (with a good buffet) and a buzzing, slightly clubby atmosphere at night. In addition there’s a good sized gym, hydro-therapy pool and spa area and it’s all only about ten minutes’ walk from the Waterfront Shopping area which all begins to explain why it’s so popular for tourists. Unfortunately however, I’m here for work. True it’s a weekend and I’ve decamped from my usual hotel for a change of scenery but I still have some work to do. I’ve been allocated one of the “standard rooms” and they are particularly unimpressive (except for the bed which as usual for Radisson is pretty good). In my current room there’s a tiny desk – maybe large enough for two laptops – and that’s it for work surfaces. If you happen to order room service that’s all of your work area gone. There’s also a hard plastic desk chair that’s both too small and uncomfortable to use with the desk for long and a minimalist style arm chair that would look at home in a hospital waiting room. And this is why I’ve ended up giving the hotel 3 stars. Other room types are available (although not this weekend) and I’m back here next month for the same reason and will try and get one of the nicer ones. If it makes a difference I’ll let you know. Either way I’ll try and spend as little time as possible in the room and as much of it as I can savoring the fantastic location.

Room Tip: If you are stuck with a "standard room" know that they are not all equal. Quite a few have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby S.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Toby S,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your comments with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for for the constructive feedback and positive comments on our location, terrace and bed quality.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
General Manager
Michael RAthgeb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Check in was ok although a bit slow. We were told we had to pay the bill even though the voucher from the travel agent clearly showed that the bill was to be settled between the agent and the hotel and only "extras" were to be paid for directly. As we were only staying for one night there wasn't time to sort out the issue. We had booked 3 standard rooms however on arrival we were asked if 2 of us would mind sharing a 2 bedroomed suite (presumably they had over booked the single rooms). We did so and the 2 bed suite was really very good, with great views and they sent up a bottle of wine for us as a thank you. Coffee on the terrace in the afternoon was lovely, but it took ages for someone to come and serve us, although they were very friendly when they finally did, and some orders were mixed up which was surprising for such a small group. Dinner later on was fine, good menu with large selection, nice waitress. We returned to the hotel after an event so had to hurry up and order before the kitchen closed at about 10:15. Breakfast was good, good selection, although when I asked for eggs benedict I was told that the cook "hadn't made the Hollandaise sauce as it's been so busy" - but there was no offer to actually make it now that someone was asking for it, so a bit disappointing! All in all, its a very nice hotel, the rooms are great (at least the 2 bed suite was) with really lovely views, and the staff are very friendly, but they need to be a bit sharper if they are to really be deserving of the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear PaulaB,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for the constructive feedback on the areas of improvement, this has been noted and will be constructively dealt with.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

this is a lovely place to stay in cape town, we use it a lot. a bit out of the center of town, but close enough for a short taxi ride. the outdoor bar has one of the best views around, the rooms are nice and the food is very good. friendly staff and a good atmosphere overall.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Opiste,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us.

A further thank you for the positive comments on our hotel, location and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We flew out to Cape Town on the 31st December and stayed in this hotel for 7 nights. We have stayed in the Radisson Blu in Johannesburg before so had an idea of what to expect - we only booked this hotel 2 days prior to our arrival!! When we got there the staff were very friendly. We were unable to check in as too early but were told we could use the spa to take a shower and change. Once we got our rooms we were pleasantly surprised with the size and the view. We did have to ask for room service to remember to replenish our shampoo and condition on a couple of occasions. The pool area was nice - small pool but plenty of seating area however, unfortunately, despite the signs, people still 'reserved' their sun beds... The staff at breakfast were very friendly - the food was good. The hotel had a courtesy car to take you to and from the V&A waterfront every hour which was convenient although only a 15 minute walk. I had a massage on 2 occasions in the Amani Spa which was very relaxing and reasonably priced. This was a great hotel in a perfect location - near to the V&A Waterfront but far enough from it at the same time ;)

Room Tip: Business rooms are slightly bigger with better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Wishinguwerehere,

What a pleasure reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for your feedback on out hotel, facilities and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a problem when a large suitcase of ours went missing. Lameez really put herself out tracing it and getting it delivered to us! Our 2 bedroomed suite was really comfortable with a wonderful view across the water! Breakfast was also very good!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 325Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear 325Sunshine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and positive experience with us and other viewers.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

we choose a business room on the 4th floor, the room is very beautiful with very nice ocean view,
we arrive late in the night and first impression was not the best but the next day with the daylight we change our opinion, location is very nice, reception staff need some improvement but what is really remarkable is that during breakfast on the terrace you can see a lot of dolphins.
nice experience.

Room Tip: business room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Stuart,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

A further thank you for the postive comments on our hotel, location and friendly staff. '

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,441 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,614 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,406 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,347 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#53 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town

Address: 100 Beach Road | Granger Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#11 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $226 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the glittering azure waterfront of Cape Town, the hotel has the majesty of the legendary Table Mountain soaring behind it and every shopping and eatery delight beside it. It’s also a heartbeat away from Cape Town’s pulsing business centre, an easy stroll (or complimentary shuttle) to the famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront with its myriad of world-class shops, restaurants, cinemas and colourful working harbour, or a short hop to Africa’s most beautiful beaches and the call of our lush and ancient winelands beyond. The state-of-the-art Cape Town International Convention Centre is a mere 5 minutes away.The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront provides the finest service, setting and comfort making your stay always one to remember and certainly one to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Cape Town
Cape Town Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing