We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central self catering”
Review of Riviera Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Suites
Ranked #87 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very central self catering”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at the Riviera for a week in Dec/Jan. It is very well situated and close to everything in Sea Point. We had a sea facing apartment with an enormous balcony and a beautiful view. The place itself could do with some upgrading i.e. kitchens, furniture, mattresses and the reception area. Otherwise the house keeping and laundry service was very good and the linen was of a high quality and there is good cupboard space. Bathroom was modern but small for a 6 sleeper apartment. All in all we had a enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: D2 had a large balcony and lovely sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    42
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

went for long weekend and used it just as a base camp to sleep
nice and central in lovley part of town room was big and clean
but the parking was a problem i booke d a parking but ever time i went out and came back some one was parked in the parking that was annoying but other then that all good

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcoavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pforzheim, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

liked it here... nice little self catering hotel with spacious appartments, relatively clean, staff was helpful and friendly...only thing that disturbed me was that the rooms had no air-condition.. but if you´re not planning to go in summer (december-february) it should be okay... area is great !! love sea point!!! good bus access to the waterfront... nice place all in all... :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is located in a nice residential area. Directly opposite is the beach where you can take a walk or jog. The hotel staff were friendly. My room was clean and nice. I would definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taffy_16P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

An average (old?) building that has recently been refurbished. Stayed in a 1 br unit for a week. Friendly and helpful staff and very clean unit. Bed was very comfortable. On site parking limited (book in advance) but on-street parking seems safe enough. Location is excellent to visit various attractions. Sightseeing bus stop on the corner and new Myciti buses due to service area soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

On arrival, we got a room that reeked so badly of old smoke that we went back to reception to ask for a non-smoking room. The receptionist told us that the only way that we can get another room is if we pay an upgrade fee. After a long debate, I found my original online booking form that clearly stated that we stipulated a non smoking room and got a decent apartment on the 5th floor.

The furnishings were bland and the microwave did not work - I reported this several times to reception, but it was not fixed during our week-long stay.

All in all, it is a good place if you just want to sleep - it had a Formula One feel to it.

Room Tip: If you dont smoke, insist on a non-smoking room - they have whole floors that are smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Riviera is a converted apartment block on the Sea Point beachfront, within easy walking distance to the many restaurants on the Main Road. It provides accommodation from studios with a kitchenette, to fully equipped multi bedroom apartments. Lower floors can be quite noisy. Good value family accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.3 mi away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#101 of 109 in Cape Town Central
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#114 of 203 in Cape Town
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Splendida
La Splendida
#82 of 109 in Cape Town Central
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Verge Aparthotel
The Verge Aparthotel
#131 of 203 in Cape Town
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Suites

Property: Riviera Suites
Address: 273 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Hotel Riviera)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#66 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location is everything, and Riviera Suites, situated on Sea Point's Millionaire's Mile, is surrounded by the best that Cape Town has to offer - night life, beaches, restaurants and sporting facilities. Nearby sites worth visiting include the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain, the wine lands, the Castle, art galleries, museums, malls and top-class restaurants. With uninterrupted sea views in front and marvellous mountain vistas behind, these luxury self-catering and serviced apartments are perfect for a fantastic Cape Town holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Suites Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing