We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AHA Inn on the Square
Ranked #66 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week, location is brilliant. Everything is close by and transport is convenient. The room was small but manageable since we hardly were in the room. Room was well cleaned, neat and modern. The shower pressure was very low which was one of the only downfalls. Staff were friendly and the hotel had a nice lobby and bar area to sit at. The hotel also has free WiFi and a business centre for guests which is brilliant since most hotels charge for this. The only issue that I had was that before I checked in I requested a room on a floor high up and facing the square. When we checked in the room was high but not facing the square. We called reception and the lady said that they were full that night but would change the room in the morning. We did request for our room to be changed in the morning but the guy at reception said that if we changed our room we will need to pay an additional fee of R350 per night (I think this was due to us booking through a different website and not with the hotel itself). Our room faced the roof of another building and a slight view of long street. Overall the hotel was great and I will stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    269
    129
    38
    32
See reviews for
77
209
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for four nights at the end of our three week tour in Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe, and Cape Town. It was a perfect central location for walking around Cape Town. Yes, you can hear the vendors setting up and taking down their stalls on the square. Watching that process and walking through the market only added to our enjoyment of this location. We were only a few steps away from the action and nightlife on Long Street. Watching and listening to a group of twenty drummers on the street was a highlight of our stay. The rooms were modern and clean. The bathroom was small but had a great shower. The breakfast buffet had everything one could possibly want and everything was delicious. Yes, it was very busy on weekday mornings but with a wonderful variety of international travelers. The staff was friendly, helpful, and eager to please.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We were truly disappointed with this hotel. It was loud when the market set up in the morning & broke down in the evening. The area seemed seedy to us so we didn't venture out the only night we were there. The room & bathroom were extremely small. They told us they upgraded us due to it being our homeymoon. I would not want to see the regular room. We asked to be switched to a larger room & they showed us a room that was the same exact sz, just had a bathroom in the fromt of thr room. The shower was so small with a shelf up high that my husband hit his head trying to shower. The pool was tiny & FREEZING. I dont think it is even considered a lap pool. The gym was 3 treadmills with one being out of order & some weights. Breakfast was absolute chaos due to several tour groups being seated all at the same time & what terrible service. We did have dinner at Dish & it was pretty good. Just stay away from the pureed chicken soup! We checked out after one night & stayed at the Waterfront. We are so happy we did!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy4insurance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Glendale, California
Level Contributor
256 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Overlooking Green Market Square with its daily crafts market, the hotel is very convenient for walking around Cape Town. Unlike some reviewers, we found it NOT to be noisy at all from our 6th floor room. Buffet breakfast has nice choices including an omelette and French toast stations. The room had sterile decor, good reading lights and the bathroom was even smaller than I expected from other reviews - cannot imagine what the architect was thinking! Concierge was helpful in making dinner reservations, but housekeeping left something to be desired. Would come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zuzka E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of our South African trip. The location was really good and near most major attractions. When we arrived there was an issue with our booking but the staff sorted it out immediately and were very apologetic. The room was modern, clean and towards the back of the hotel so we didn't encounter any of the noise from the market. The rooms and bathroom are pretty small but we were hardly in it. On the plus side the shower was really good. The only real issue is that the hotel description claims it has a gym, but I would argue it was two well used and outdated treadmills. Otherwise the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGuig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of the Ultimate Africa trip with Overseas Adventure Travel. We like African craft markets so enjoyed being able to stroll through the one right outside the front door. We were on the second floor and could not hear the early setup as some have complained. The bath was SMALL! The shower door and bathroom door will hit each other if both are open and the towel rack is behind the bathroom door so it must be shut to access the towels. There are no drawers for clothes and the small hanging area is not adequate for 2 peoples belongings This room was much tighter than several of our tented camps on safari! Glad to have a safe in the room. The breakfast buffet was great. Lots of offerings and made to order omelets. There is sketchy wifi, especially in the rooms, but also 2 computers to use in the lobby that are faster and more reliable than the wifi. From here, we walked to the waterfront in about 15 minutes. Plenty of restaurants in the hotel area - we liked "Fork" - a tapas restaurant. Many people went to Five Flies but we were underwhelmed with it. Would I stay there again - yes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We actually travelled last year, Sept. 2012. The hotel is nice in the lobby and the restaurant, but our room looked old. I liked the location, except the people begging for money scared me. There were some good looking restaurants near by but we ate at KFC! The hotel is close to the harbourfront and close to table mountain, so it's in a good spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#97 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#75 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Inn on the Square

Property: AHA Inn on the Square
Address: 10 Green Market Square Road, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Inn on the Square)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Inn on the Square 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on historic Greenmarket Square, the Inn on the Square Hotel immerses the traveler - whether on holiday or on business - into the sights & sounds of beautiful Cape Town. A landmark hotel, along with its unique setting and comfortable, refurbished accommodation, the Inn on the Square is complete with heated rooftop swimming pool and sundeck overlooking Table Mountain and its signature restaurant, DISH that presents diners with the option of enjoying an experience from a menu which blends International Cuisine with South African & Cape nuances either in the refined, urban interior or al fresco on the terrace which spills out onto the Square. One of Cape Town's most charming spaces, the historic cobbled stone Greenmarket Square offers a wide variety of curios, clothing, candles and specialty stands from where to procure a small piece of Africa. All hotel rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room safes. The hotel's central location, meanwhile, invites the traveller to explore the beauty of the city on foot - the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Convention Centre and colourful Long Street are all within walking distance - ensuring that every detail of this extraordinary city may be appreciated to its fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your AHA Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Cape Town Central
Park Inn Cape Town
Greenmarket Square Park Inn
AHA Inn On The Square Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing