We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, small bath, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AHA Inn on the Square
Ranked #66 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location, small bath, good breakfast”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of the Ultimate Africa trip with Overseas Adventure Travel. We like African craft markets so enjoyed being able to stroll through the one right outside the front door. We were on the second floor and could not hear the early setup as some have complained. The bath was SMALL! The shower door and bathroom door will hit each other if both are open and the towel rack is behind the bathroom door so it must be shut to access the towels. There are no drawers for clothes and the small hanging area is not adequate for 2 peoples belongings This room was much tighter than several of our tented camps on safari! Glad to have a safe in the room. The breakfast buffet was great. Lots of offerings and made to order omelets. There is sketchy wifi, especially in the rooms, but also 2 computers to use in the lobby that are faster and more reliable than the wifi. From here, we walked to the waterfront in about 15 minutes. Plenty of restaurants in the hotel area - we liked "Fork" - a tapas restaurant. Many people went to Five Flies but we were underwhelmed with it. Would I stay there again - yes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    269
    129
    38
    32
See reviews for
77
209
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We actually travelled last year, Sept. 2012. The hotel is nice in the lobby and the restaurant, but our room looked old. I liked the location, except the people begging for money scared me. There were some good looking restaurants near by but we ate at KFC! The hotel is close to the harbourfront and close to table mountain, so it's in a good spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic Location !! It made commuting around the city so much easier. With Long street just behind.. Green square market right on the front door, plenty of eating out options within 2 mins walking and loads of security around, its location is unbeatable.

The rooms are tiny and kinda bare boned and if you have a little extra luggage, moving around can be a pain. But all said the location kinda makes up for it all.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the backside of the hotel which is really not an inviting scene
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rishabh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Deputy General Manager at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Greetings from the Inn on the Square Team.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review .
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us.
We are very fortunate to be in an ideal location in the City Centre making it very accessible to tourist attractions and restaurants.
A tip from us .... If you are travelling with a lot a luggage for a nominal charge we do offer family rooms which are more spacious.
We pride ourselves with consistent high standards of service and constantly change the way we operate to ensure complete guest satisfaction, its only through feedback received from our guests that we are able to achieve this.
Thank you for your support and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
193 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel was part of "Ultimate Africa" tour package from Overseas Adventure Travel. Stayed here three nights. The bathroom size was unbelievably small. You have to turn sideways and squeeze around the door and to get in or out with closed door. I think there was about six inches space between door edge and toilet. The bedroom area was good with comfortable bed. Temperature control is tricky. You have to guess at what setting would suit your needs and hope it doesn't overheat or leave you chilly at night.
I was very satisfied with the buffet breakfasts. Lot to choose from, including omelets made to order.
One evening dinner was not good. No one else was in the restaurant..perhaps due to reputation. The man servicing our group of nine had trouble remembering who ordered what and even after asking more than once, brought the wrong items. His attempts to joke around didn't go over at all. We were very tired after a 12 hour tour day and decided to eat in at the hotel - a big mistake.
I am tempted to rate this as "poor", but the location and breakfast tilted to "average". We are early risers, so the noise from the market vendors didn't bother us. I didn't use the rooftop pool, but one friend tried it and didn't go into the tiny pool due to cold water and winds. He said the sauna was good, though. The hotel was a short walk to Desmond Tutu's cathedral and an impressive Methodist Church which we briefly visited and snapped some pics.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor with views to the daily vendor market area. They set up and tear down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philly2VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend. The hotel is right on Greenmarket Square with Long St directly behind. We were within short walking distance to many great restaurants, shops and the African Dance theatre. The room we stayed in was a bit small but we made do. We didn't get any noise from the markets from the 5th floor and so had restful nights sleep. A good selection of food at breakfast and helpful staff at the front counter.

Room Tip: The higher up the less chance of hearing any noise from the square or passers by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth H, Marketing at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we truly appreciate it and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

The Team at Inn on the Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel has a great "family" feel; from the very proactive front desk staff, to the friendly bar tenders, to the excellent restaurant. The breakfasts were wonderful with a wide selection of different foods.The only draw back is the teeny tiny bathrooms. You almost have to stand on the toilet seat to close the bathroom door. Otherwise, the room was more than adequate. The square in front of the hotel is filled every day with an African market with excellent artifacts at good prices, if you bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth H, Marketing at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review, we truly appreciate it and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We've noted your feedback regarding the size of the bathrooms.

Many thanks and kind regards
The Team at Inn on the Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff here were excellent, very polite, friendly & helpful. Unfortunately the facilities were below par. The rooms were tiny, the noise from the market intolerable & the air-con/heating didn't work despite my asking reception twice if it could be fixed. The bathroom was ridiculously tiny & the level of cleanliness was poor. Disappointing lack of cocktail making skills from the barman 3 nights in a row. 15 minutes is far too long to have to wait for a cocktail to be made. I suggest NOT advertising cocktails on a menu if the staff cannot make them. Again, I must say the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veronicamunro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#97 of 109 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#75 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Inn on the Square

Property: AHA Inn on the Square
Address: 10 Green Market Square Road, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Inn on the Square)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Inn on the Square 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on historic Greenmarket Square, the Inn on the Square Hotel immerses the traveler - whether on holiday or on business - into the sights & sounds of beautiful Cape Town. A landmark hotel, along with its unique setting and comfortable, refurbished accommodation, the Inn on the Square is complete with heated rooftop swimming pool and sundeck overlooking Table Mountain and its signature restaurant, DISH that presents diners with the option of enjoying an experience from a menu which blends International Cuisine with South African & Cape nuances either in the refined, urban interior or al fresco on the terrace which spills out onto the Square. One of Cape Town's most charming spaces, the historic cobbled stone Greenmarket Square offers a wide variety of curios, clothing, candles and specialty stands from where to procure a small piece of Africa. All hotel rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room safes. The hotel's central location, meanwhile, invites the traveller to explore the beauty of the city on foot - the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Convention Centre and colourful Long Street are all within walking distance - ensuring that every detail of this extraordinary city may be appreciated to its fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your AHA Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Cape Town Central
Park Inn Cape Town
Greenmarket Square Park Inn
AHA Inn On The Square Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing