We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AHA Inn on the Square
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

especially if you like traditional african markets, as the square is filled every day with stalls which are put up each morning around 6 am and taken down in the evening. the downside is that even with double windows, you can hear the clanging of the metal supports during the process.

the beds were great with the best sheets we've ever experienced in a hotel. wish the towels had been of the same quality. the bathroom is so small, you can't actually go in and close the door, so don't share a room if you're not already very close friends! but the shower was a nice size and everything has been updated.

the hotel is in a very historic place - the square was actually a slave market and the building has had several lives. the restaurant's breakfast was very good and the staff was quite helpful.

my atm card was stolen at standard bank's open atm machine just across the square (lesson - use the atm machine that's actually INSIDE the bank on the street behind the hotel) - and the hotel's staff was very kind and helpful in calling my bank so i could cancel the card, walking around to the bank to report the incident since they has 'security people' stationed in the open atm area, and then they called the police so i could make a report. i REALLY appreciated their attentiveness and assistance.

the only negative of the hotel is the internet access - couldn't get into the internet from our room at all. had to go to the lobby to use it (it's free though). also they give you a new code every 24 hours, which is a pain, as it's a long string of numbers. and if you and your companion have 2 devices, you have to get 2 codes every 24 hours...the system could use some improvement!

overall, good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnelrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth H, Marketing at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! We truly appreciate the feedback. We've noted your comments regarding the towels and internet access and will be sure to take them into consideration. We're pleased to hear that the staff were of assistance in reporting the incident regarding your bank card at the ATM, will be sure to pass your feedback on to them.

Many thanks and kind regards
The Team at Inn on the Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    271
    131
    38
    32
See reviews for
77
213
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at the hotel for work purposes and I've thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff are friendly and helpful, and I appreciate additional small gestures such as having iced tea in the lobby and cheese and wine in the evening. The location is great - right on Green Market Square with easy access to numerous bars and restaurants and within walking distance of Long Street where the night life is.

The only drawback is the absolutely appalling wifi connection. We stayed here for business and needed the internet on a regular basis to keep up with work and to arrange meetings. The wifi was nearly unusable and the lobby only had 2 computers for shared use, which were constantly taken. If the hotel could sort out it's wifi connection, I would have given this hotel a 5 rating.

Room Tip: If internet connection is a concern, ask for a room on one of the lower floors as these seem to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DP301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth H, Marketing at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your great feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your return stay! We've noted your comments regarding the WIFI - thank you.

Kind regards
The Team at Inn on the Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Good location in front of the market where so many people meet. We did enjoy the nice restaurant and the wine cellar that offer a good choice of local wines at reasonable prices. The room. Was not exhalirating but the quietness was ok. The staff was nice and trying its best to make you feel welcomed. And the taxi driver that took care of us during that week was extremely nice and informative.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth H, Marketing at AHA Inn on the Square, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we truly appreciate it and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards
The Team at Inn on the Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a 3 night stay here in March and found this Hotel to be a lovely, friendly, restful, safe place to stay for weary travellers getting over a long flight and to catch up with our sleep and ourselves before heading off on our Safari holiday in Namibia. The hotel was clean, the rooms spacious, there was a safe in the room, the facilities in the room were good, we had a view out to the square below where there was a daily market happening. Most importantly the staff were friendly, helpful and discreet; and always smiling, they looked like they really enjoyed their jobs in the Hotel and were happy to be there. Nothing was a problem for them. The Hotel was very central and easy to get about the city from that point. They had Wifi available for a small fee, in house computers available, a connected Bar and Restaurant. The food was good and well presented and the menu had good variety - even game. Great breakfasts and plenty of it, which set us up well for a day of sightseeing. We would definately stay there again if we were in Capetown and we would absolutely recommend this Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Capetown for any length of time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square if you want a good view and to see all the action of the Market bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was the second leg of our trip and first impression was, what a great location. Even though we had a hire car it was good to be able to leave it behind and be able to walk to nearby restaurant and bars, of which there were plenty.

The room was spacious and clean with a lovely view over the square. Wifi was only really available in the lobby.

The service at breakfast was very good and the staff very helpful. Reception desk were also very helpful and forthcoming with information. Valet parking invaluable because of central location. Disappointed with the spa as whole area smaller than expected but this didn't take anything away from the overall hotel experience.

A special mention goes to Linda, Assistant to the General Manager. She was very forthcoming with information and advice about our next leg to the Garden Route. Giving us nuggets of local knowledge of what to expect and where to go.

Above all we highly recommend this hotel with its professional, welcoming staff to anyone who wishes to visit Cape Town and we will definitely return when we next visit South Africa.

Room Tip: We were on 7th floor facing the square with partial view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel_Yemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Arrived late in Cape on June 6th and I will not be leaving until the 29th of June. My trip to Cape Town was business related and Inn on the Square is located in the heart of the Cape Town business district, hence close to our new Cape Town offices. The hotel is far from a flashy place, and would not suit the casual adventurer, but as a business hotel, or a place to bring the missis it's more than adequate. There is a sauna, gym and a rather small swimming pool on the eight floor. The swimming pool area has a nice view to Table Mountain and a couple of sun beds for those lazy days when the weather is nice.

The bar at the hotel is in Cape Townian terms quite expensive, but after a hard day at work it's relaxing to sit down there and have a chat with on of the bartenders while enjoying a pint of beer or some glasses from one of the excellent South African wines. The restaurant is as the bar, quite expensive, but the food is very good, especially the pasta. Breakfast is good.

This is not a hotel, or a district to bring the whole family with your kids. But I think the atmosphere, room and bed quality would make it an excellent hotel, not only for business trips, but also to bring a wife or girlfriend. If the hotel area gets boring, there is always Long Street right behind the hotel, where you can find almost any kind bar or Night Club. If I am to return to Cape Town sometime in the future, Inn on the Square is absolutely one hotel I will be returning too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stay there from the 30th May to 8th June. I experienced the hotel as a guest and as a travel professional, and have to admit the hotel is in prime position; close to tourist attraction (museum, gardens, monuments etc...) walking distance (5min) to Visitors Information Center. Adjacent to Long Street, which offers a variety dining option and for the pubs.
Room is neat, clean and of average size. Well equipped with complimentary tea, coffee & bottled water. Apart the bathroom which is small but functional, the room is very confortable. Gym is small but well equipped to keep fut during your stay. Pool desk is very nice to enjoy the winter sun if Cape Town. Dismantling and setting up the stall every morning and evening might be a nuisance but honestly we barely hear them from the 8th floor. The staffs are very helpful and polite. I was really a hassle free stay. Breakfast is good average size buffet and dinner buffet as from Zar 130 offers a good variety.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dpdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
776 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
955 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Tower Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
652 reviews
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
375 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Inn on the Square

Property: AHA Inn on the Square
Address: 10 Green Market Square Road, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Inn on the Square)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Inn on the Square 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on historic Greenmarket Square, the Inn on the Square Hotel immerses the traveler - whether on holiday or on business - into the sights & sounds of beautiful Cape Town. A landmark hotel, along with its unique setting and comfortable, refurbished accommodation, the Inn on the Square is complete with heated rooftop swimming pool and sundeck overlooking Table Mountain and its signature restaurant, DISH that presents diners with the option of enjoying an experience from a menu which blends International Cuisine with South African & Cape nuances either in the refined, urban interior or al fresco on the terrace which spills out onto the Square. One of Cape Town's most charming spaces, the historic cobbled stone Greenmarket Square offers a wide variety of curios, clothing, candles and specialty stands from where to procure a small piece of Africa. All hotel rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room safes. The hotel's central location, meanwhile, invites the traveller to explore the beauty of the city on foot - the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Convention Centre and colourful Long Street are all within walking distance - ensuring that every detail of this extraordinary city may be appreciated to its fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your AHA Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Cape Town Central
Park Inn Cape Town
Greenmarket Square Park Inn
AHA Inn On The Square Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing