We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Central Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AHA Inn on the Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AHA Inn on the Square
Ranked #66 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Central Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a well run and very convenient hotel. The rooms are a good size and the bathroom, although small, has an excellent large shower. Breakfast was very good and the staff helpful and courteous. Both the gym and pool are small but have a superb view of table mountain. Ideal for a central base in this lovely city.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the market square - which is quiet but interesting to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomric122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    259
    122
    38
    30
See reviews for
74
200
40
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean but the staff were absent minded. Our phone didn't work and I reported to the front desk the first afternoon. The phone was replaced 3 days later. The bath mat was taken the 2nd day and not replaced for 3 nights.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tginmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Most flights arrive in the morning and check in not till 2 but u can leave your luggage. We were disappointed with the size if the room but maybe we just had a particularly small one. Our view was also poor as we looked out over vents and chimneys with a tiny corner if the mountain behind. There were stains on the carpet. The bathroom is tiny and there is no storage. The shower is nice and big though and was powerful and hot. There's not much room to unpack in the bedroom either. There is a tv and tea and coffee facilities in the room and a/c also.This worked well but was noisy. The heated pool was not heated while we were here and was freezing. The saunas are gender separate so we couldn't enjoy that together either. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was 80 rand for continental and I think 160 for a full English. Lots of choice and very tasty. The restaurant food in the evening always looked good too but we only tried a few things. They were delicious. This is a useful base for exploring as the hop on/off bus stops close by. Well worth a trip. The market in the square outside was great too. Overall a nice basic hotel with good staff and food.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandSpanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently stayed at Inn on the Square for the Easter weekend. The hotel was great. Clean rooms, great service with friendly staff. The bar and restaurant were also perfect.
The location couldn't be better. Just a walk away from great restaurants and city life.
We also used the train which was impressive and a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

There was only 1 complaint. As expected there is limited parking in the city, so the valet service parks your car and fetches it when you need it again. As it was Easter and staff was limited, this was a slow process but we just knew we should ask for our car 30-40 minutes prior to departure. However, the one occasion we left wine that we had purchased at the wine farm in the car as we were going to the airport the next day and did not want to carry it back and forth. Unfortunately, the wine had been removed from the car by the valet service and we had only noticed once we got to the airport.

Overall an excellent experience, just disappointing to realize the wine had been taken as you are leaving Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is extremely well situated for exploration and enjoyment of the Cape Peninsula. From arrival the staff make you feel at home and at ease, allowing you to relax. It is simply amazing to see the surrounding area wake up and go to sleep as the day progresses. One can see a lot of effort has gone in to ensure travelers are safe and at no point did we feel unsafe walking around searching for a restaurants or bars, day or night.

The service offerings of this hotel is certainly inline with a four star hotel, valet parking (Due to it being on the square with a Flea Market on a daily basis - Great shopping experience), Room Service, Fully Licensed Cigar Lounge, Fully Licensed Restaurant - with, if not the BEST, mussels you can find in Cape Town and a 24 hour reception area that is ready to assist. One cannot fault them for their service or their friendly, efficient staff that is always willing to go the extra mile. The pool deck, sauna and gym on the top floor certainly make it fun to spend time at the hotel instead of always exploring the Cape.

The rooms are newly refurbished and are more spacious than some four star establishments I have been in. The room service menu is a copy of the restaurant menu with only a few items missing. There are all the amenities available in the room except a mini bar... but who wants to spend time in their room with everything else on offer? The beds are very comfortable and induce a great nights rest. The TV has an extensive selection, again when compared to other three star establishments.

We had one minor incident with airport pick up, however the ability of their management to react speedily and sincerely more than made up for it.

Thank you for being the base of a memorable and amazing time!! You will certainly see us again, as well as a few of our friends that travel to Cape Town regularly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLeonvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here with my Grandmother in 2009. At first when we arrived we did not like the hotel at all. I called the agent to see if we could go elsewhere, but there was nowhere available at a good price at short notice. However at that time I didn't realise it was only three stars. Looking back it was very good for a three star hotel.

Our room was quite small and the next door rooms were very noisy. Embarrassingly so! Quite funny in a way, but it became less funny as the days went by and the noises continues from all around us. The market is up very early - so you don't get much sleep.

The rooftop pool was nice and shaded. You could see the mountain and it was very pleasant. We both spent a lot of time here when we were at the hotel. Often, we were not here during the day or night and found it great for its location.

The staff were very friendly. They offered good advice and the breakfasts were good.

I loved the location. It was lovely walking around the markets and we were able to get some bargains. It was perfect from traveling from.

I would definitely advise getting a taxi to and from the the bay though. We were mugged (attempted) in broad daylight. When we got back to the hotel, we told them about the ordeal. They said that many 'muggers' work in a duo as they did with us. We were approached by a very tall man with a knife and told to hand everything over. We were then 'rescued' by another man who came in between the 'mugger' and ourselves. We thought the man was very brave and escorted us to a nearby hotel. We gave the man who 'rescued' us money. We were told it happens and that we should be careful. Although it was two men in a scheme, I can assure you that it did not make us any less scared. We were just so grateful to be alive.

The reason why I am giving this hotel such a high rating is because of its friendly service. They were very helpful and we felt very safe there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expressiveelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Staff are very courteous and caring. Linda was actually explaining to the taxi driver where to take the foreign guests and also fixed the price with the taxi. I was impressed. The check in was a bit slow but the room was very clean and complimentary bottles of water were welcome. The evening wine and cheese is an excellent offering. The General Manager, Mr Clinton Thom, is very accessible and really concerned with the highest levels of hospitality. The bathrooms are as shown elsewhere, small - but clean. The shower is excellent. The location is excellent with the flea market and restaurants all within minutes away. My wife says that the ambience was impressive. My wife and I will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Higher floors are preferred to avoid the noise of the people setting up and removing the stalls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Easygoing282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#44 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#82 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.0 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#93 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Inn on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Inn on the Square

Property: AHA Inn on the Square
Address: 10 Green Market Square Road, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Inn on the Square)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Inn on the Square 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on historic Greenmarket Square, the Inn on the Square Hotel immerses the traveler - whether on holiday or on business - into the sights & sounds of beautiful Cape Town. A landmark hotel, along with its unique setting and comfortable, refurbished accommodation, the Inn on the Square is complete with heated rooftop swimming pool and sundeck overlooking Table Mountain and its signature restaurant, DISH that presents diners with the option of enjoying an experience from a menu which blends International Cuisine with South African & Cape nuances either in the refined, urban interior or al fresco on the terrace which spills out onto the Square. One of Cape Town's most charming spaces, the historic cobbled stone Greenmarket Square offers a wide variety of curios, clothing, candles and specialty stands from where to procure a small piece of Africa. All hotel rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi and in-room safes. The hotel's central location, meanwhile, invites the traveller to explore the beauty of the city on foot - the V&A Waterfront, the Cape Town Convention Centre and colourful Long Street are all within walking distance - ensuring that every detail of this extraordinary city may be appreciated to its fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your AHA Inn on the Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Square Hotel Cape Town Central
Park Inn Cape Town
Greenmarket Square Park Inn
AHA Inn On The Square Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing