We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel”
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #38 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here for four nights at the beginning of our holiday in Cape Town. We had a room on the top floor (as requested) with limited views of Table Mountain. The room was perfectly adequate and spacious enough. Everything worked. The air conditioning was quiet. The bed was comfortable. Free wifi worked well. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They made enquiries/reservations for us at venues we wanted to visit and airport transfers. Breakfast was provided by the Italian Restaurant next door and was excellent with a reasonable range of cooked and cold items in very pleasant surroundings with attentive staff. This arrangement is due to change in March when the hotel opens its own breakfast facility.

There were two drawbacks with the hotel. Firstly, its location, although central and close to a number of the tourist sites – e.g., Company Gardens and the Castle, it was some distance from the Waterfront (approx. 30 mins. on foot) but taxis were cheap. But, at night it was not recommended to walk anywhere from the hotel due to possible security issues. Secondly, there was only one lift and it broke down on two occasions during our stay – not a problem if you are on first or second floor but is a nuisance if you are on the top floor!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    245
    64
    8
    5
See reviews for
67
212
104
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in a superior room that gave us plenty of space, a refrigerator and a couch. It was a very comfortable room with good tv.
Location was good and we were close to everything we needed. There was a 7/11 directly opposite with basic supplies.
The only downside was the noise from the university student accommodation directly opposite the hotel. We were there on a Friday and Saturday night and students were coming and going all night. They weren't yelling or anything but their normal conversation was so loud we had to close our windows.
I suggest booking a room that didn't face the street.
Strong points - an outstanding breakfast with excellent service.
The Italian restaurant next door which had good food and low prices.
Would definetely go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pankala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed one night and had booked through the internet with no knowledge of the location or facilities. We were extremely pleasantly surprised at the convenient location and the warm welcome that we received. The room was big with a comfortable bed and a good breakfast. Everything we needed before our long flight to the UK. The free internet facility in the reception area was very good as was the advice on where to dine for the evening. Altogether a lovely stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank easytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuruman, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nice 3 star hotel with very friendly staff. Breakfast was very good, and a visit to The Cousins restaurant is a must. Staff always willing to go that extra mile, safe area, close to everything.......Highly recommended.
Christo
Kalahari Northern Cape

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whartog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We are a “mature” couple and recently had 4 nights’ stay at the Parliament Hotel in Cape Town.
The hotel is very well positioned just a short walk away from the CBD and city sights.
We had booked an executive twin room and it was very comfortable and spacious with a partial mountain view – some buildings down the street blocked the mountain.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and any requests immediately attended to.
The WiFi was password protected, free and quite fast.
We had no car so did all our sightseeing either walking or on the Hop on Hop off bus.
Two stops for the Hop on Hop off bus were very close by.
Breakfast was continental buffet to start with and then one can order eggs (any style) with mushrooms, bacon, tomato and sausage.
Right next door – you can actually walk through the breakfast room – is a fabulous Italian restaurant called “The Cousins” and is run by two cousins.
The food was excellent and well priced. We had 3 out of our 4 dinners there.
The Parliament Hotel was a great place to stay and we would certainly stay there again if in Cape Town..
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Read the reviews, check out the location, our room was great and I'm sure others were similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandiefran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Basic hotel with no frills but was good value for money and in a good location in Cape Town. The service was very good even though we got in very late at night. The breakfast was good. The rooms are ok sized and quiet which was perfect after a long flight. Note that there is parking in the garage.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Parliament Hotel for four nights at the end of January 2014. We could not believe the wonderful service and hospitality offered by Antonio and his staff. Due to airline schedules we arrived about four hours before the nominated checkin time. we were shown to our room almost immediately. After 23 hours of travelling from Australia, it is hard to explain how much we appreciated this. The excellent and helpful service continued with help and advice for our sightseeing, taxis etc - nothing was too much trouble. Loved the breakfast in the funky café next door run by two Italians. The location of the hotel is excellent for walking to many attractions including museums and for the main shopping area of Cape Town. We loved the view of Table Mountain from our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropiglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#46 of 109 in Cape Town Central
791 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
208 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 109 in Cape Town Central
458 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#48 of 109 in Cape Town Central
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Property: Parliament Hotel
Address: 9 Barrack Street | Cbd, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament Hotel is exclusively located in the heart of Cape Town. The central location adjacent to the Company Gardens and the Slave Museum makes this city hotel the ideal starting point for business trips or holidays in Cape Town. The Hotel offers easy access to the best local attractions, Cape Town's International Airport and the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CCITC). Cape Town not only serves as an important business location, but it is also a magnet for history, art, culture and architecture. The Parliament Hotel offers a vibrant and friendly environment that provides both business and leisure travelers with the affordable hotel experience they desire. Nestled in the city center, this three stars hotel features 27 modern, spacious and en suite rooms with comfortable beds and all fitted with safety boxes, HD television sets, heat/air conditioning system & free WIFI. CANCELLATION POLICY:•Failure to confirm the reservation will result in the cancellation of the booking without notice 48 hours prior to arrival.•Guaranteed bookings must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival in order to avoid one full night charge. •In the event of premature departure the full extent of stay, as originally booked and confirmed will be charged. • For No Shows the full contract will be charged. •All bookings must be made in writing via email or via fax; as well any amendment to the booking must be notified in writing. •Please note that in the below periods of 2014 & early 2015 we require a full non refundable deposit for the entire length of the stay booked: * Christmas and New Year 2014/2015 from 15th December 2014 to the 06th January 2015 * Cape Argus Cycling Tour from the 07th March to 10th March, 2014 * Jazz Festival from the 27th to the 1st April 2014 * Two Oceans Marathon from the 17th April to 20th April, 2014 * World Travel Market from 24th April to 10th May, 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing