We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seniors enjoy Cape Town city center hotel”
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here five nights in August-September. The staff is wonderful - friendly and helpful with restaurant and tour recommendations and taxis. The hotel is well located near city central sites, but the neighborhood is run down. Complete breakfast, which I didn't notice on the web site, is very good and included in the room price. Our room was spacious. The only problem is the heater-A/C in our room blasts air directly at the head of the bed and noisily cycles frequently. Parking is priced reasonably, but requires driving up to parking level M to walk into the hotel's Floor 7.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acarpanese, General Manager at Parliament Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Gabe G,
thank you for having chosen the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town as your preferred hotel whilst on your most recent visit to Cape Town.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and in the Mother City and I really appreciate your review, that I have already shared with the entire Team.
The comments we receive from our guests are invaluable to us as they highlight opportunities for improvement in our standards and facilities.
I do sincerely hope to welcome you back again to the Parliament Hotel in a not so distant future.
Kind Regards,
Antonio Carpanese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 607 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Cape Town with a group of 8. We had 4 of the rooms. We chose this hotel because of the value.

The staff of the hotel is fantastic. They will help you with everything, including calling cabs and setting up tours for you. The breakfast is great and filling.

The rooms themselves are basic yet comfortable. The hotel is pretty perpendicular (I think there are 4 rooms per floor), however there is an elevator which moves fast.

As far as location is concerned, there really is not much by the hotel. It is about a 20 minute walk to the harbor (which we did often), and about a 5 minute walk to Long Street. We felt safe the entire time in the neighborhood of the hotel.

All in all, this hotel is absolutely worth it because of its value, service, and comfort. A solid choice to stay while in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topgun151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acarpanese, General Manager at Parliament Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Topgun151,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town; we do value the feedack from the guests staying with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Antonio Carpanese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Parliament Hotel was a really good choice I made after reading the reviews in Trip Advisor. In fact, they are a 3 star hotel with a 5 star hotel service. Since I just arrived from the moment I left the Hotel, all the staff "magically" knew my name, even when i saw them for the first time. As I have celiac disease, when I booked, I asked for a gluten-free breakfast, almost with no hope in getting it, but they made everything they could to understand my demands and to offer me gluten free meals. This was really impressive for a 3-star.The rooms are kinda large, clean and silent - nice for people in business trips, but also for tourists looking for fun in the city and surroundings. Mr. Antonio (owner and manager) is such a nice guy, alway doing his best to make you have a great time. I do recommend Parliament Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brazilianadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acarpanese, General Manager at Parliament Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Brazilianadvisor,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town; we do value the feedack from the guests staying with us and we are delighted that we fulfilled your needs during your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Antonio Carpanese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay this July 2012 at the parliament hotel in Cape Town. The staffs are very welcoming, friendly and available when needed. A variety of nice breakfast, even for halal food. I won’t forget people like Shamim and Antonio.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acarpanese, General Manager at Parliament Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you very much for your your review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town. We hope to welcome you back soon. Antonio Carpanese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Staff was great at this hotel. We wanted our time to be filled with adventure. They were able to arrange ambsail along with other tours. They saved us a lot of money on transportation and other tours. Might be a three star, but service is close to a five star. I had some medication that needed to be stored in fridge. I left and came back to hotel and to my surprise they delivered a fridge to room. Owner was personally involved from daylight till dark. Breakfast was hot and filling. They even found a place for us to stay in Venice for the next night. I would  definitely recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hdavisjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your your review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Antonio Carpanese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had an excellent stay, all the staff was very friendly, service was good, the room was just what we wanted and it's located exactly where you want to be, the heart of Cape Town.. Thank you to everyone at the Parliament Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda_Bothma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

LIke many buildings in this area, the Parliament Hotel seems to have been built in the dreadful sixties, when cheapskate developers were demolishing nice old buildings to erect unimaginative ticky-tack. So the Parliament has had to convert a sick building into a decent hotel, and has succeeded better than one could have imagined. Yes, the bad design remains, the passages are claustrophbically narrow, the lift arrives with a thump,the bathrooms are not exacly sumptuous (though perfectly serviceable) and the plumbing is all too audible. But everything is clean and fresh, the rooms are spacious, and above all the service is superb, with a personal touch you wouldn't find in larger, more expensive establishments. The breakfast, again, is adequate rather than lavish, but the hot dishes are cooked on demand and thus fresh and appetising. And, of course, the location is ideal for the city centre; not exactly glamorous, but convenient and fairly safe.
All in all, this is a very good value hotel. That said, if you're a light sleeper, this may not be for you: the double glazing is quite effective, but doesn't blot out all sound, and certainly not the internal noises of other people's plumbing. Also, if you like the latest bathroom fittings, go elsewhere; ditto if you dote on large breakfast buffets. All those can be had at the Town House next door, at roughly twice the price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 110 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Address: 9 Barrack Street | Cbd, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $67 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament Hotel is exclusively located in the heart of Cape Town. The central location adjacent to the Company Gardens and the Slave Museum makes this city hotel the ideal starting point for business trips or holidays in Cape Town. The Hotel offers easy access to the best local attractions, Cape Town's International Airport and the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CCITC). Cape Town not only serves as an important business location, but it is also a magnet for history, art, culture and architecture. The Parliament Hotel offers a vibrant and friendly environment that provides both business and leisure travelers with the affordable hotel experience they desire. Nestled in the city center, this three stars hotel features 27 modern, spacious and en suite rooms with comfortable beds and all fitted with safety boxes, HD television sets, heat/air conditioning system & free WIFI. CANCELLATION POLICY:•Failure to confirm the reservation will result in the cancellation of the booking without notice 48 hours prior to arrival.•Guaranteed bookings must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival in order to avoid one full night charge. •In the event of premature departure the full extent of stay, as originally booked and confirmed will be charged. • For No Shows the full contract will be charged. •All bookings must be made in writing via email or via fax; as well any amendment to the booking must be notified in writing. •Please note that in the below periods of 2014 & early 2015 we require a full non refundable deposit for the entire length of the stay booked: * Christmas and New Year 2014/2015 from 15th December 2014 to the 06th January 2015 * Cape Argus Cycling Tour from the 07th March to 10th March, 2014 * Jazz Festival from the 27th to the 1st April 2014 * Two Oceans Marathon from the 17th April to 20th April, 2014 * World Travel Market from 24th April to 10th May, 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing