We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good customer service”
Review of Parliament Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parliament Hotel
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at the Parliament Hotel. Thanks to the whole team which was really good at providing the best service ever. The rooms are neat and the breakfast good. The hotel is well located in the city centre (near restaurants, gardens and shops). I highly recommend this hotel. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 607 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Parliament and would have loved to stay longer! The service we received was excellent, the food was of good quality and the room was spacious and clean. It was great value for money and a perfect location to reach all the sights. I want to especially mention Antonio the manager who always greeted us with a smile and helped us arrange a number of trips, I recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain, lovely to look out on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Until recently, Antonio Carpanese managed five star hotels before coming to the Parliament. While the Parliament is only rated three stars, Antonio is using his five star experience to improve that rating. Guests benefit from superior service and a great deal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Pro:

Solid service
Very good breakfast buffet and nice service (included in room rate)
location
price

Con:

Rooms are dated
Very basic appointments

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CV39560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

It was a pleasure to stay at this beautiful, clean and well-staffed hotel. The room was clean and offered a gorgeous view of Table Mountain. Green Market Square and Long Street were nearby and the staff was always pleasant and helpful. Antonio, the manager, was the most friendly, professional and helpful hotel mgr. I have ever met. I'm returning to Cape Town in a few weeks and have already booked here.

Room Tip: 5th or 6th floor facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I recently stayed at the parliament hotel for the first time primarily for its proximity to parliament as I had a work related event there. I was quite impressed by the high level of service and hospitality from the hotel manager and the staff at large. Honestly, the service and effort to ensure guests are accommodated far exceeds my experience with staying at 4 star hotels in the waterfront area. While service is good at the higher end hotels, the general feeling is the staff doesn't try. Hard to accommodate the needs of its guests as tourists flock to the waterfront regardless of any extra effort. While the parliament hotel is unfortunately located on a 1 way street with limited street parking, it is quite close to the long street and craft market areas within the city. The waterfront may be scenic, but at night you may feel isolated as the tourists drift away around 9pm

Ultimately the value of the parliament hotel is excellent given its affordable cost and commitment to service. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boombui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear Boombui,
thank you very much for your comments and your wonderful feedback. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Parliament Hotel, Cape Town.
I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Antonio Carpanese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The room was comfortable and clean, albeit a little dated and just overall basic.
The staff were very polite and helpful and breakfast was good.
We had a pleasant one night stop here the night we landed in Cape Town, but wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay, it didn't really put us in the holiday mood. Next time around we would spend a little more to get a little more comfort/style.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 110 in Cape Town Central
833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 110 in Cape Town Central
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 110 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament Hotel

Address: 9 Barrack Street | Cbd, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $67 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parliament Hotel is exclusively located in the heart of Cape Town. The central location adjacent to the Company Gardens and the Slave Museum makes this city hotel the ideal starting point for business trips or holidays in Cape Town. The Hotel offers easy access to the best local attractions, Cape Town's International Airport and the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CCITC). Cape Town not only serves as an important business location, but it is also a magnet for history, art, culture and architecture. The Parliament Hotel offers a vibrant and friendly environment that provides both business and leisure travelers with the affordable hotel experience they desire. Nestled in the city center, this three stars hotel features 27 modern, spacious and en suite rooms with comfortable beds and all fitted with safety boxes, HD television sets, heat/air conditioning system & free WIFI. CANCELLATION POLICY:•Failure to confirm the reservation will result in the cancellation of the booking without notice 48 hours prior to arrival.•Guaranteed bookings must be cancelled 48 hours prior to arrival in order to avoid one full night charge. •In the event of premature departure the full extent of stay, as originally booked and confirmed will be charged. • For No Shows the full contract will be charged. •All bookings must be made in writing via email or via fax; as well any amendment to the booking must be notified in writing. •Please note that in the below periods of 2014 & early 2015 we require a full non refundable deposit for the entire length of the stay booked: * Christmas and New Year 2014/2015 from 15th December 2014 to the 06th January 2015 * Cape Argus Cycling Tour from the 07th March to 10th March, 2014 * Jazz Festival from the 27th to the 1st April 2014 * Two Oceans Marathon from the 17th April to 20th April, 2014 * World Travel Market from 24th April to 10th May, 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Parliament Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing