We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De Waterkant House, a pleasant place to stay but with some reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Waterkant Village
Ranked #94 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed February 8, 2006

I stayed at De Waterkant House in January 2006. This is the bed and breakfast house of De Waterkant village. There is an attractive living room, a kitchen with beer in the fridge (an honesty bar system) and there is a tiny plunge pool. The room was large and had views over roof tops towards the harbour/dock area. The bathroom in my room was large but a little tired looking.

I thought breakfast was fully included but actually you get a 40 Rand voucher per person per day for the De Waterkant cafe.

The De Waterkant area is an area with character with some pastel coloured houses. It is possible to walk to the centre of Cape Town and also to the V&A Waterfront but not sure walking is recommended at night.

I found the De Waterkant village reception staff to be a bit lacklustre. They didnt give me breakfast vouchers upon arrival and when they did they gave me fewer than I needed. They also apparently failed to communicate a tour booking properly to the tour company - the tour company didnt pick me up at the stated time but reception did subsequently chase up and I was picked up 30 mins late.

I can recommend both the winelands and cape point tours. I did both and they were well worth it. The Cape is a really beautiful place.

I didnt know this until I arrived but I discovered the area is popular with gays, a fairly discrete presence perhaps but not quite discrete enough. I personally didnt like the fact that there were 'pink pages' in little holders right outside the De Waterkant cafe. On the other hand there were attractive young female models floating around due to auditions in the area so I suppose you could say this is a diverse area.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 02102010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 209 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2006

The Waterkant Village was a real find. It’s a collection of apartments and houses and a guesthouse in the historic Waterkant district which are let through a central agency. In many ways this was the highlight of my six days in Cape Town. I opted for a so-called ‘crash pad’ because the more up-market options were booked out. Nonetheless I had two double bedrooms and a workable living room/kitchen and bathroom, with polished wooden floors throughout - and best of all, an amazing roof terrace which ran the length of the apartment, and with views from Table Mountain to the harbour. All this, out of season, for the equivalent of $A50 a night, which is remarkable value. Next time around I would check out some of the beautiful houses available. As usual the benefit of this kind of accommodation is getting under the skin of the place - shopping for groceries, making friends with the café owner downstairs and generally feeling at home.

One recommendation is to check your arrival time. Courtesy of a delayed flight I arrived at 2am - never a good start in South Africa - and had to navigate Cape Town’s motorways and extensive one-way system in the rain. A mobile phone (get a local SIM) is essential in South Africa - and the night manager arrived in 10 minutes.

The Waterkant is a great area for visitors to stay. Unusually the architecture dates from the 1700s, and this district is essentially between downtown Cape Town and the suburbs and beaches of the Atlantic sea-board. It’s mainly residential but with some ad agencies and similar businesses. As usual in South Africa you will need a car, but the Waterkant has some of Cape Town’s most trendy shops, cafés and clubs - and unusually these are accessible by foot, although I was careful walking alone at night. It's also home to a low-key gay area if that's of interest.

Also the V&A Waterfront, a successful conversion of docks and wharves into shops, restaurants and cinemas, is nearby and within walking distance. I also walked into town and to a large Virgin Active gym and pool. I drove to Cape Point and the wine districts, cooked, and enjoyed plenty of excellent Chenin Blanc on my roof terrace at sunset!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ozfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trullo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zoek nog even verder naar een beter hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank marinamercado2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ToineGhering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Evitare l'appartamento che si affaccia sull'angolo davanti al bar,rumoroso fino a tarda nott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zoeButtiglieraAlta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Waterfront Village
#69 of 110 in Cape Town Central
644 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#81 of 110 in Cape Town Central
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#77 of 110 in Cape Town Central
95 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#87 of 110 in Cape Town Central
211 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#73 of 110 in Cape Town Central
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $92 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760’s. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired café’s. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors. Walking on the beautiful sidewalks, one cannot help but be caught up in its spell, cast by the beauty of the Dutch influenced architecture, with flower boxes under the windows, sprawling balconies and rooftop decks providing exquisite views and majestic old trees that line the streets, filtering the sun selectively through their branches. This is a place that will tempt you into its fold and dare you to indulge and delight in life’s finer pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing