We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Waterkant Village
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$172
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$102
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$128
$116
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$196
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$197
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
$184
$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$752
$427
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$733
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$549
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
79
70
31
19
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
70
31
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloader streetsmall living roommanagement companystaff at receptionbedroom apartmentbeautiful apartmentlocation is excellentquiet locationa great place to stayfelt very safesmall poolenjoyed my staywaterfront areaaccommodationproximityubertaxis
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 217 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Charles Guest House on Waterkant Street, Cape Town, had a clean room, but that is were the postives ended for our stay. The Shower either had NO water or only COLD water. So showering was out of the question. We were told to eat breakfast at the Village Cafe but the food was terrible and completely tasteless. This would be the first time that I will NOT recommend a stay in an accommodation.

From a frequent traveler,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liebner-anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Liebner-Anthony,

Thank you for your feedback.

Unfortunately the geyser burst that morning and we had it repaired within one and a half hours and it took 30 minutes for the water to heat up again.

We do apologise for the inconvenience caused that one morning but this was unfortunately out of our control and appreciated our guests understanding with this matter.

Guests staying the The Charles guest house receive a breakfast voucher which they redeem at the Village Café. There is a variety of items to choose from on the menu. I am sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience and will relay your comments to the owner of Village Café.

Kind regards,
Michelle Pretorius

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location, nice apartment, fantastic weather, friendly atmosphere, excellent hospitality - in all a friendly place with a Cape twist! Maybe not perfect for kids, but next time we come back adults only!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anders o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Charles Guesthouse in De Waterkant Village for 3 nights. The room that was allocated was pleasing, although the en-suit bathroom had no door. The room was nice (nice character) and the location was great.

The housekeeping was substandard; they only gave us one towel back after refreshing the room, which was annoying. They provided enough coffee and tea for each of the three days, but only provided one serving each for the two of us for three days - which was silly.

There is no designated parking available and you have to park on the street. There are security guards on the block, but we had to park quite far from our room.

There are a few nice restaurants in the neighbourhood and the front desk seemed willing to help guests with bookings. There is a nice convenience store just down the street, although one is pestered by homeless people when returning to the guesthouse.

They do not have their own restaurant and provide R60 meal vouchers for a very nice cafe on the street (Village Cafe). The food there is excellent, but the R60 voucher is a bit too little, as you have to pay from your own pocket if you exceed R60. An orange juice and omelette works out at R62+ which means you have to pay in a couple of Rand, which is very annoying, as the guesthouses' rates are already quite high.

I had to phone the guesthouse to sign out, as they were not in the office at their promised business hours - again, slightly annoying when you have to catch a flight.

All considering, it was a decent stay at a place with nice character and a great location. Touching up on the details would have made this a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanDirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Jan Dirk

We thank you for your review.
Please note that all of our rooms have different lay outs, not all without bathroom doors. We will however look into this matter for future renovations.

Unfortunately parking is limited in the village although secure parking can be provided at the Cape Quarter or in Loader Street at an additional charge per night.

We will take your comments into consideration with regards to the breakfast voucher.
Our reception is open from 07:00-23:00 daily and unfortunately the receptionist on duty had to assist another guest at another property in the village which caused a slight delay.

We strive to provide a high level of service and can only improve on the feedback we receive so we thank you for your input.
Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had a great time in Capetown....not in the last place due to my stay in Waterkant house. The personel is friendlly, adequate. The rooms ( beds!) are really comfortable in an old- world style .
The neighbourhood is crammed with nice little café's and restaurants...life jazz within 50 meters!,
So...highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahjvanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Ahjvanm

Thank you for your positive review. We have just completed renovations to some of our rooms at De Waterkant House which included replacing some of the beds with king size beds. We therefore encourage you to return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The location is amazing, close to really good restaurants and you can walk around. The staff cancelled my reservation which had been made almost a month in advance because I did not call back quickly enough to confirm the reservation, this was however reinstated. Also lugging my bags to the room I was staying in was a real pain. The room was clean and neat, quite small. Would have been really nice to have wifi! Staff were really noisy in the morning (I was wanting to sleep in after a very busy exhausting week!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, General Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear BBedford

Thank you for your feedback.
Due to our location in the CBD we can only keep provisional bookings for a certain time period and therefore your reservation was cancelled. Being a 3 star property we unfortunately do not have porters but front desk is more than willing to assist.

Room 1 and 2 at The Charles are traveler rooms due to many reasons, one being the location and possibly experiencing social/reception noise. We apologize for this inconvenience and suggest that you perhaps book a classic or premier classification in the future.

We do have complimentary wifi for all guests at reception and a guest computer station for all to use.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews