We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De Waterkant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Waterkant Village
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“De Waterkant”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I actually thought I was staying in a guest house, but when I arrived was shown to a stunning self contained 1 bedroom apartment. It was awesome. The supermarket was 1 block away so was able to stock up there. De Waterkant is a gorgeous suburb and its possible to walk to the Waterfront and to the city. The staff were great. I loved the little cafe that supplies the breakfast, it was the most wonderful way to start the day, sitting in the early morning sunshine under a sprawling tree hanging with Xmas decorations, listening to the birds and eating my breakfast. I don't even know what the cafe is called but when I stayed in a hotel closer to the Waterfront upon my return to Cape Town I went there to eat rather than at my hotel. And every morning I met new people at the cafe who gave me travel tips for CT and Namibia where I was heading to.(thanks Claus & Darren) I only wish I had planned to stay in De Waterkant when I returned from Namibia. I ended up spendingg my time there anyway. The staff at The Charles were lovely and helpful. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshBarryOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay and experience with us at De Waterkant Village. Your review paints the perfect picture of what ‘life’ is like when you relax and unwind in our unique suburb of Cape Town.

We look forward to welcome you back upon your next visit to Cape Town!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    65
    29
    17
    13
See reviews for
48
61
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The service was great, staff very hospitable. Rooms were clean and well serviced but no aircon and on my first night, no fan which was a pity. Location is very central and the rooms surprisingly quiet considering the central buzzy location. I will definitely be there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at De Waterkant. It is our goal and pleasure to offer our guests great service and hospitality.

We look forward to welcome you back upon your next visit to De Waterkant, Cape Town!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at De Waterkant. It is perfectly located, very close to the Cape Quarters. There is a supermarket and nice little shops. You can walk to the city centre and the Waterfront within 10 minutes.
Nice and friendly service. The rooms are lovely furnished and the shower there is amazing! It is very clean and you get the feeling like being home...
I didn't have breakfast but you don't need it. In the kitchen it is easy to cook (everything is there to cook) or you go to one of the little cafes around the corner.

I definitely would recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Sophie,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and showers with us at De Waterkant! Upon your returm you should definately try our Village Café breakfasts ... it is legendary!

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at 15 Loader, a very nice and well situated 2 bedroom apartment. De Waterkant is a brilliant area to stay in Cape Town - very central, quiet, nice places for breakfast and good shops. It is easy to get to Long Street, the waterfront, sea point, etc from here.
The downsides were: the check out was exceptionally slow and the bedrooms got a lot of light in the morning making it hard to sleep late.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianainspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay and experience with us at De Waterkant.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have such positive views on De Waterkant Village. Your feedback has been most valuable and taking your check-out experience into account we will strive to further enhance our guests' experience by looking at how we can improve on our check-out procedures.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Ian Reed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in 29 Dixon. The noise levels from the nearby bars and late night crowd was an unfortunate disturbance to an otherwise fantastic weekend stay. Given we'd chosen the more expensive "luxury" apartment I would have preferred a quieter location or at least an air conditioner which would have allowed us to keep the windows closed at night to block out the noise.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GPooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay and experience with us at De Waterkant Village.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at 29 Dixon. It would be ideal for all our apartments to have air conditioning, but unfortunately that is not always logistically possible and for that reason we ensure that each apartment without air conditioning is fitted with either a free standing fan or ceiling fan.

Where possible, we always try to advise our future guests that the vibrant atmosphere of this corner of the Village has the potential to be noisy on some nights of the week and weekends.

We hope to welcome you back soon to enjoy a quieter corner of our Village!

Best Regards,
Ian Reed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Although it looks like that on average the quality of the properties under management has gone up and booking and reception service is quite friendly, it is mind boggling that De Waterkant moves guests out of pre-booked locations without any notification.

This happened 3 times to me now and I have come to the end of my stay here nor will I endorse the place any longer to overseas guests.

Yes, according to the small print they may have the right to move people for unforeseen circumstances but it looks like these unforeseen circumstances do include owners pushing their way into their places at last minute notification -according to the receptionist- and not the burst water pipe or other serious calamity.

Yes, you may need to stay friendly with your flat owners as without them you don't have a business to run but likewise without guests there are no flats to fill.

But the least you can do is notify in advance the change of a pre-booked flat; no notification whatsoever and after the fact apology while offering free nights -or an 'upgrade'- doesn't do the trick.

I am looking for a reliable counter party; and 3 changes without any notification indicates very little concern about how reliable you guys are when it comes to pre-booking a flat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reynleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. This always assists us in improving on our standard of service we strive to provide to all our guests.

Communication is key and should a move be inevitable, this should certainly be communicated to the guests. We do apologise that this was not done prior to your arrival with us. Sadly the unit you selected is no longer available in our rental pool and you will note that this property is also no longer listed on our website.

Kind Regards
Ian Reed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location is beatiful, but there are too many rowdy midnight dwellers making noise with cars and yelling at one another after they leave the drinking bars or clubs in the early hours of the morning. We were woken by revving of cars, loud music and people talking at 4h30. The geyser is very small and there was not sufficent hot water for 6 of us to take a shower in succession.

The facilities are comofortable and conveniently located though, with beautiful scenery all aroung. The area is very safe and we walked to nearby restaurants and shopping areas without feeling insecure.

Overall good value for money, but wish the noise level could be addressed.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the nightclubs on de waterkant and somerset streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crocodile07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
955 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 109 in Cape Town Central
354 reviews
De Waterkant Cottages
#18 of 125 in Cape Town Central
135 reviews
De Waterkant House
#100 of 155 in Cape Town Central
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Property: De Waterkant Village
Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760's. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired cafe's. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors. From serviced apartments, houses, guest houses and traveller's rooms De Waterkant Village has it all and lodgings at the village are as diverse and eclectic as the place itself. In keeping with the feel of an authentic traveller's village, guests can enjoy services and facilities when staying in apartments or houses, such as a service centre, concierge, housekeeping and breakfast at The Village Cafe every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing