We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Waterkant Village
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in September 2012 and had a wonderful time. We stayed in 4A Loader Street, which was a very nice apartment. The location is very good, and the immediate area is safe to walk around at night as the streets are patrolled 24 hours a day by private security.

That said, the front door was very flimsy to our apartment, and we had to rely on guests in 4B to close the shared iron gate at night. We'd have rather had security measures that we did not have to rely on strangers to guarantee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Valued Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have such positive views on De Waterkant Village. Your feedback has been most valuable and taking your review of 4A Loader into account we will strive to further improve our guests' experience and security in this apartment and others.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    66
    29
    17
    13
See reviews for
49
61
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at 60 Loader St this August. Cape Town was chilly, and like most South African homes, this one did not have central air, just wall units and floor units. We had a hard time getting the place to a reasonably warm temperature. We had a 3 bedroom unit which was nicely furnished, clean and spacious, with a great view. It was nice that my husband and I had a separate bedroom and bathroom than our two children. However, when staying here we were reminded again and again that is wasn't a hotel, which is difficult for foreign travelers. We had to walk a block and a half to get to reception, and there was no phone in the house to call when we lost power (in the end we were able to resolve the problem on our own). Most days our room was serviced, but one day the cleaning service did not come. The shuttle who brought us from the airport when we first arrived spent 30 minutes in the dark driving around trying to locate reception because they had moved it recently.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast was provided at the quaint Village Cafe, which was also around the corner. That was nice, but most of the seating was outdoors and it was quite cold in the mornings.
The area is interesting--we were told is has quite the nightlife, but since we were a family we were generally sleeping those hours and didn't take advantage of it. There are security guards constantly patrolling.
I am not sure I would stay here again for a short-term stay, I think it is better for long-term rentals It's more like the American deals where you rent someone's ski condo for a week than a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photogalDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us at De Waterkant Village. As you mentioned, we had an unusually cold winter this year, especially in August! I am disappointed to learn that you struggled with the heating as the air conditioning heaters in 60 Loader should be more than sufficient for heating each room and living area to a comfortable temperature. Following your review we have had these units serviced and have made additional oil heaters available for those extremely cold evenings.

De Waterkant Village is a collection of apartments and homes within the De Waterkant area and is specified as Self Catering. We offer daily housekeeping services from Monday until Saturday, services on Sundays and Public Holidays however are available upon request.

We value your comments and strive to continuously improve our services to our guest experience of De Waterkant Village and thus provide a more enjoyable stay.

Best Regards,
Ian Reed
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family traveled to South Africa to visit my son who is a study abroad student at Cape Town University. De Waterkant Village was a perfect location, not to far from CTU, The Warefront and Table Mountain,
Upon our arrival, after a 36 hour trip, we found the reception location had been moved. and fortunately it was only around the block.
The 2 bedroom apartment we were escorted to was far to small for a family of 4 with my son staying over a few nights making us 5. Only one bathroom would not do.
Charles was very accommodating , and we were shown another unit.
16 Loader street was like walking into a dream. A welcoming cobblestone courtyard with a fountain and ficus trees, wrought iron table and chairs. The living room was warm and cozy with all full size windows which fold back to let in the fresh air. A working fireplace and little kitchen and full bath. Upstairs was a loft bedroom overlooking the living room with a single bed and a skylight. The second bedroom was fit for a princess, queen bed with a beautiful armoire and a view into the courtyard and a full bath (soaking tub)
And then nice surprise, another bedroom up the spiral staircase! A beautiful view of the city and sunrise. Big fluffy pillows and the bathroom with a roomy shower. There was even a small wetbar for morning coffee and tea with a kettle and a frig.
It doesn't stop there....walking out onto the terrace was a view of the city and lounge chairs and small table.
Up yet another spiral staircase was a spectacular view of Table Mountain! More lounge chairs.Breathtaking. We spent some mornings and evenings up there embracing the beauty of Cape Town and the stars at night.
You certainly need to be in shape to maneuver around this beautiful villa.
Since it was winter, heaters were provided which helped take the chill off in the morning and we had fires almost every night. Fluffy blankets were provided around the living room and books to read.
The maids were excellent and we left a tip each day. They would leave endearing thank you notes with their appreciation. Every one in the reception was so very kind and helpful. Karen and Darian helped us book our safari with Aquila. Beautiful reserve that treated us well and great food, but I don't recommend a safari in the cold and rain...although it was an exciting, we were very cold and wet and it made it difficult to really enjoy the experience.
There were guards on the street day and night always willing to help you find parking and walk you to your door.
De Waterkant Village has some nice restaurants like Manhattans and The Cafe. There was some noise on the weekend nights but not all night.
I highly recommend DeWaterkant for your stay in Cape Town. Thank you for taking care of our family while we visited our son for his 21st birthday in Cape Town!

Room Tip: 16 Loader Street for 4 or more people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Each apartment is individually owned, so the quality probably varies.

We stayed at 77 Loader Street.

Some of the issues verged on absurd, like how the hair dryer was built into the wall in one of the bedrooms. This was very awkward since I am a single, travelling with a couple and had to chase them out of their room to dry my hair.

The cleaning staff were fantastic, but the way the apartments are built is odd at best. I had the upstairs room that had no door and the room was just an open space with the toilet/sink/shower in the open. A hair dryer upstairs would have been handy, and really a minimal thing to add. There was also no rubbish bin in the upstairs bathroom, nor towel racks? Not sure it was worth the price we paid. Furniture a bit tatty. Very cold with only electric, radiant heaters that really didn't help much.

The location really is amazing. So close to Cape Quarter and about a 20 min walk to the water front. Very safe with security guards dotted through the neighbourhood who are very friendly and always say hello and greet you with a smile.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 24 night stay at 114 Loader St, on the Piazza in De Waterkant Village. The property was managed by Village and Life, though we booked through a Travel Agent. We had booked a "classic" property for 2 adult couples and on arrival found that we had been upgraded to a "luxury" apartment with 2 bedrooms, one bathroom and a large living area with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. There was also a small terrace at the front of the ground floor property and a communal lawn area at the rear.
The main bedroom was spacious with a double bed, 2 double wardrobes, a hairdryer, wall mounted air con/heater and a TV. The 2nd bedroom had 2 single beds, a double wardrobe and a hairdryer but there was barely room to move round the bed or open the wardrobe doors.
The beds however, were extremely comfortable and the bed linen was changed regularly.
The large bathroom had both bath and large shower and there was a good supply of hot water with towels changed regularly or on request.
The lounge was comfortable with TV and video player and was combined with a dining table and 6 chairs. The kitchen had lots of cupboards, a fridge freezer, microwave, oven and hob and best of all - given our length of stay - a washing machine
I would not describe the apartment as "luxury" but it certainly worked well for us on this holiday and had everything we could have needed. It was the winter period in Capetown and there was a considerable draught from doors and windows when the weather was wet and windy - but we had 3 moveable electric radiators and a further wall mounted air con/heater in the lounge area so we were never cold.
There was some noise from apartments above/next door to us and from the garage doors at the rear, early in a morning - but nothing that would be a real nuisance
The location was fantastic with lots of bars and restaurants - and only 1.5km from the V&A Waterfront (once we found the shortcut) and about the same from the City Centre. If we used a taxi after dark, it cost only 40 rands to the Waterfront. The area itself is very picturesque and constantly patrolled so we felt very safe. The Spar supermarket had everything we needed for self catering with a wide range of fresh food
Car hire was surprisingly cheap - a 1.6 Toyota Corolla cost 667 rand for a 2 day hire, including all insurances from Avis in the village and petrol is much cheaper than here!
The Village and Life staff were always helpful and any minor maintenance issues were sorted within hours
All in all, we had a marvellous time and really enjoyed staying at this location - though the steepness of the access roads was a little challenging at times!

Room Tip: Book direct with Village and Life after researching on line, the properties they manage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Valued Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and have such positive views on the De Waterkant area. Your feedback has been most valuable and taking your review into account we will strive to further improve our guests' experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

In the heart of Capetown (@ Greenpoint), you can either choose to stay in a generic hotel room, or, you could book yourself an independent, fully stocked cutting-edge villa, for almost half the price. Villa # 21 on Jarvis Street was simply awesome. This place is simply unbeatable on price, comfort, cleanliness and location. Just don’t lose the keys though-we were charged 1100 rand to replace the locks !

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank woody2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A clean and safe option for women travellers traveling alone, with the added luxury of good cotton sheets and occasionally decadent bathrooms. Beautifully appointed rooms and apartments with good reliable Internet access, exceptional laundry services , lovely views and located in a stunning part of cape town.near to beautiful breakfast lunch and dinner places, lovey yoga studios .... Little reason to stay any where else in cape town.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Reservations Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Valued Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and have such positive views on the De Waterkant area.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
350 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#85 of 109 in Cape Town Central
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waterfront Village
#69 of 109 in Cape Town Central
610 reviews
De Waterkant Cottages
#16 of 127 in Cape Town Central
137 reviews
De Waterkant House
#97 of 155 in Cape Town Central
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Property: De Waterkant Village
Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760’s. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired café’s. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors. Walking on the beautiful sidewalks, one cannot help but be caught up in its spell, cast by the beauty of the Dutch influenced architecture, with flower boxes under the windows, sprawling balconies and rooftop decks providing exquisite views and majestic old trees that line the streets, filtering the sun selectively through their branches. This is a place that will tempt you into its fold and dare you to indulge and delight in life’s finer pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing