We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Waterkant Village
Ranked #94 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 24 night stay at 114 Loader St, on the Piazza in De Waterkant Village. The property was managed by Village and Life, though we booked through a Travel Agent. We had booked a "classic" property for 2 adult couples and on arrival found that we had been upgraded to a "luxury" apartment with 2 bedrooms, one bathroom and a large living area with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. There was also a small terrace at the front of the ground floor property and a communal lawn area at the rear.
The main bedroom was spacious with a double bed, 2 double wardrobes, a hairdryer, wall mounted air con/heater and a TV. The 2nd bedroom had 2 single beds, a double wardrobe and a hairdryer but there was barely room to move round the bed or open the wardrobe doors.
The beds however, were extremely comfortable and the bed linen was changed regularly.
The large bathroom had both bath and large shower and there was a good supply of hot water with towels changed regularly or on request.
The lounge was comfortable with TV and video player and was combined with a dining table and 6 chairs. The kitchen had lots of cupboards, a fridge freezer, microwave, oven and hob and best of all - given our length of stay - a washing machine
I would not describe the apartment as "luxury" but it certainly worked well for us on this holiday and had everything we could have needed. It was the winter period in Capetown and there was a considerable draught from doors and windows when the weather was wet and windy - but we had 3 moveable electric radiators and a further wall mounted air con/heater in the lounge area so we were never cold.
There was some noise from apartments above/next door to us and from the garage doors at the rear, early in a morning - but nothing that would be a real nuisance
The location was fantastic with lots of bars and restaurants - and only 1.5km from the V&A Waterfront (once we found the shortcut) and about the same from the City Centre. If we used a taxi after dark, it cost only 40 rands to the Waterfront. The area itself is very picturesque and constantly patrolled so we felt very safe. The Spar supermarket had everything we needed for self catering with a wide range of fresh food
Car hire was surprisingly cheap - a 1.6 Toyota Corolla cost 667 rand for a 2 day hire, including all insurances from Avis in the village and petrol is much cheaper than here!
The Village and Life staff were always helpful and any minor maintenance issues were sorted within hours
All in all, we had a marvellous time and really enjoyed staying at this location - though the steepness of the access roads was a little challenging at times!

Room Tip: Book direct with Village and Life after researching on line, the properties they manage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear Valued Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and have such positive views on the De Waterkant area. Your feedback has been most valuable and taking your review into account we will strive to further improve our guests' experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 211 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2012

In the heart of Capetown (@ Greenpoint), you can either choose to stay in a generic hotel room, or, you could book yourself an independent, fully stocked cutting-edge villa, for almost half the price. Villa # 21 on Jarvis Street was simply awesome. This place is simply unbeatable on price, comfort, cleanliness and location. Just don’t lose the keys though-we were charged 1100 rand to replace the locks !

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank woody2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A clean and safe option for women travellers traveling alone, with the added luxury of good cotton sheets and occasionally decadent bathrooms. Beautifully appointed rooms and apartments with good reliable Internet access, exceptional laundry services , lovely views and located in a stunning part of cape town.near to beautiful breakfast lunch and dinner places, lovey yoga studios .... Little reason to stay any where else in cape town.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Reservations Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Valued Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and have such positive views on the De Waterkant area.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Best Cape Town location, good housekeeping, beautiful character cottages with tasteful decor. Stayed in 25Jarvis. Spacious, bright and close to everything. Only downfall- across from gay sauna so it's noisy at night. Also, there's no furniture on the roof deck. Great kitchen and modern bathrooms, good linen and comfy beds. This was our 5stay with Village and Life. Best value.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank GerritVisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

As always a very friendly and helpful welcome to the De Waterkant House, small but extremely pleasant, very clean, very comfortable and with a lot of charm. Nothing like the Formula One mentioned by Caroline C in 'recent reviews' [I have unfortunately used F1 only once and would not consider using the De Waterkant if there were any comparison] but then again she may be in a parallel universe. Having stayed a number of times the central location to the City,V and A Waterfront and other places makes for an excellent base with a convenient location to the airport.
Breakfast at The Village Cafe or the Charles is to recommended and the Cape Quarter is available for a choice of lunches and dinners. The Fish Market and other locations at the V and A provide excellent food especially a wide variety of fish and shell fish with accompanying wines. Go once go again and again.

Room Tip: State your full room requirements at time of reservation with confirmation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have stayed at the Village and Life at least 10 times and it is the best deal going in Cape Town. I usually get a travellers room which often turns out to be a 2 bedroom condo and is always more than I need. The location is beyond good with a wonderful scenic neighborhood, shops and proximity to the waterfront and good restaurants, close to town. Staff is always helpful and considerate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Amazing view terrace, yummie breakfasts, nice service at reception. it is in a central position in a very lively area. we simply loved it.

Room Tip: N. 6 WAS LOVELY, right on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisaSologni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Waterfront Village
#69 of 110 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#77 of 110 in Cape Town Central
96 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 110 in Cape Town Central
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,046 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#82 of 110 in Cape Town Central
77 reviews
Rockwell All Suite Hotel
#60 of 110 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $93 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760’s. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired café’s. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors. Walking on the beautiful sidewalks, one cannot help but be caught up in its spell, cast by the beauty of the Dutch influenced architecture, with flower boxes under the windows, sprawling balconies and rooftop decks providing exquisite views and majestic old trees that line the streets, filtering the sun selectively through their branches. This is a place that will tempt you into its fold and dare you to indulge and delight in life’s finer pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing