We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De Waterkant Village - 5bLoader”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Waterkant Village
Ranked #94 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great location, perfect apartment and a great behind the scenes team who make things happen.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Front Office Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear Patrick

It is with great delight that I read your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our team contributed to a positive stay.

You can request 5b Loader apartment again next time you book with us and we will try our best to accommodate you in that unit.

Kind Regards
De Waterkant Village team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 209 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had a lovely stay in our apartment rental which was a convenient walk to downtown, some very nice shops and restaurants. the staff at reception were extremely helpful and accommodating and professional. The apartment was very nice, clean, with an amazing rooftop terrace with views of the water and Table mountain. an amazing value for your money! I would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Front Office Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Dear Andrea

We are very proud of our staff members and are pleased you had a wonderful time with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers and we do hope to see you back here on a future occasion.

Kind Regard
Shafieka Huynh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I am extremely happy that my two friends from Norway was able to have a really good experience with true Cape Town Hospitality. I had a very good experience from the start and dealt with a lady called Gillian Smith, she answered my inquiry promptly and provided me with all the information that I needed. I made a few alterations to the booking numerous times and she amended the bookings for me without any problem. Went to Cape Town and paid the deposit for the three bedroom apartment booked at the Village and Life reception. The staff there was very friendly and they were extremely professional even though they had some technical problems with their computer system being offline. I have corresponded back and forth with Gillian afterwards that we will be amending the booking to less then one day on very short notice and then on the day of the booking I called her to amended the booking to an apartment which is cheaper and she was very courteous and professional over the phone as well. My friends returned from Cape Town last night and when I asked them how the apartment was and if they enjoyed it they said yes that it was a beautiful apartment and that they had beautiful views over the Waterfront and harbour. They both told me that they enjoyed themselves extremely. We will definitely recommend Village and Life for future bookings for our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randall A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We have booked a house at Waterkant through Village and Life 4 months ago. The house was fully paid for. When we picked up the key we got a completely different house in Waterkant way beyond the standard it was supposed to be!

Do not do business with them because you are going to be disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thimo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Front Office Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Dear reviewer

As a team we strive to provide the highest level of service and to ensure guest satisfaction and we apologise that you did not experience this.

Our apartments are normally booked per apartment type and not the specific unit, but should the guest request certain features that only a few apartments in that category have we will try our best to accommodate accordingly, but this can unfortunately not be guaranteed.

We would like to invite you back in the near future in order for you to have the true Village experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The quality of the accommodation was very good. I enjoyed staying at the Charles Guesthouse, De Waterkant Village. The service was good and the room I stayed in was very nice. I enjoyed the view from my room. The breakfast was also very good. There is a nice variety. Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Very well located appartment that makes you feel home. Superb 360° view from the 3 (three!) terrasses.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alain l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This was our second stay. We chose 57loader street.
Beautifully quaint and safe neighbourhood, walking distance to many good restaurants, bars, clubs, shops, superb supermarket and great rooftop lounge.
Apartment was clean, tastefully decorated, great tv and top notch appliances, including dishwasher, washer/dryer. No dishwasher tablets or laundry detergent unfortunately.
As we walked in after check in at 6pm on a rain day, the apartment was so cold we had to walk back to reception to ask for another heater. The answer was no, but another blanket was offered. Not good enough.
Also, the Internet did not work and the in room safe was broken. None of these could be fixed during our four night stay. Disappointing.
Negatives aside, keeping in mind the price, daily housekeeping and beautiful location, this is still a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerritVisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Front Office Manager at De Waterkant Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Dear Mr. Visser,

It is unfortunate that we could not fix the safe during your stay; I do apologize for the inconvenience. We have also addressed the issue of the internet with our service provider and they have looked into the problem, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Your positive comments regarding the area and apartment, is so much appreciated and it is because of guest feedback like yours that we can improve on our standards. We hope to welcome you back to De Waterkant Village in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Waterfront Village
#69 of 110 in Cape Town Central
642 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#81 of 110 in Cape Town Central
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#77 of 110 in Cape Town Central
95 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#88 of 110 in Cape Town Central
211 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 110 in Cape Town Central
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Waterkant Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant Village

Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $92 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant Village 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful De Waterkant Village is a unique European influenced village of semi-detached quaint cottages and cobbled streets preserved from the 1760’s. Cradled between the city and the V&A Waterfront, De Waterkant Village is avant-garde, a cultural urban refuge highlighted by the abundance of restaurants, art galleries, clubs, salsa clubs, tapas bars and Parisian inspired café’s. Drawing comparisons from cultural and artistic villages from all over the world, De Waterkant embraces individuality and theatricality, echoed in the architecture and vibrancy of its residents and visitors. Walking on the beautiful sidewalks, one cannot help but be caught up in its spell, cast by the beauty of the Dutch influenced architecture, with flower boxes under the windows, sprawling balconies and rooftop decks providing exquisite views and majestic old trees that line the streets, filtering the sun selectively through their branches. This is a place that will tempt you into its fold and dare you to indulge and delight in life’s finer pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Waterkant Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant Village Hotel Cape Town Central
De Waterkant Village Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing