We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i felt ripped off”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Town Lodge
Ranked #71 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“i felt ripped off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I recently attended a global conference and due to the volume of visitors in Cape Town, our choices were limited.
The Cape Town Lodge charged ludicrous rates and offered sub-standard service. The hotel in general is small, cramped, old and dark. The decor is old majority of the rooms are crying for a revamp.
the staff were friendly enough and meals were avarage. All in all - we didnt have too many options - I however, will not spend time or money in this hotel again.

Room Tip: there are massive differnces between the entry level rooms and the "superior" rooms. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    278
    131
    33
    46
See reviews for
74
277
58
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We found this place on an 85% off deal. And for that price I have now complaints what so ever. But for paying the full price you would at least expect to receive some free internet and/or maybe parking. The hotel itself is nice with a pool on the roof, staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel is situated close to Long street with lots of restaurants and bars.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel and we had just come off the QM2.
Lovely breakfast while serenaded with a grand piano.
Huge room with lovely views, a perfect end to our holiday.
Bedding seems to be changed everyday,bliss

Room Tip: We had a superior room with an unnecessary extra bedroom but loads of space. Suites looked amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldenstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great place and close to everything including the Cape Town water front. Large clean rooms. Great Restaurant !
Good price point ..
Lobby to small and very limited parking. Incredible great Breakfast every morning !
We were happy ..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hansi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here one night on arrival in South Africa and on our last night before leaving. Hotel was fresh and clean with a small top floor swimming pool in a suntrap. Room was huge and had all we needed. Porters were very efficient at all times. Will stay again one day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susietoo_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

i spent 3 nights at this establishment
while the check in staff were efficient same cannot be said for the rest of the staff
it appears that the staff make you feel like they are doing you a favour when a request is made
at best the room i had can be considered average
it was tiny and despite a request for a room higher up and the fact that the hotel was not entirely full this request was not fulfilled.
what did guile me about the hotel was the parking arrangement wherein you have to leave your keys with an attendant and that then meant that i was forced to empty my car each evening and leaving the keys at the parking office
the night staff are not exactly very polite and perhaps need schooling in social skills
as for the hotel it is on the main road into cape town and that means constant traffic
the lifts are scary and in my opinion have not been maintained
room maintenance is lacking
i stayed here after having read a few reviews and my experiences were very different from the previous reviewers
i will not stay here again

Room Tip: if possible avoid the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This is our third return visit to this hotel. We were a large family group of 7 plus one infant. We had four rooms two on executive floor and two on the plush ninth beside the pool. Our room was fab inside was like a New York loft with views of table mountain . The breakfast in the hotel is really good and only a very short taxi ride to the waterfront. Will definately be back rooms are lovely food is fab staff are great

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AngoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#52 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#90 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#73 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#43 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Lodge

Property: Cape Town Lodge
Address: 101 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#60 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Town Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Lodge South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing