We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly Renovated Rooms - at last!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Ranked #81 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Haywards Heath, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated Rooms - at last!”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I've stayed at the Cape Castle several times in the past as it has always beens excelent value for money. For less than many hotels rooms, you get a 1 bedroom apartment! However, the rooms were looking a bit dated and grubby, so I was glad to see that they have finaly started renovating the guest rooms.

AT the time of may stay (January 2011), floors 7, 8, and 9 were completed, floors 5 and 6 were work in progress, and floors 2, 3 and 4 were yet to be renovated. I was given a room on the 7th floor with views across to the Waterfront.

As you can see from my photos, the yellow paint, red wood, and stripey sofas have gone and have been replaced by fresh white walls, brown furnishings and black wood furniture. The bathrooms havent been touched, but they were in good condition anyway. LCD televisions have been fitted, although the choice of channels was pretty poor still.

The rooms look so much better and make this hotel great value for money. I booked through ebookers, and got a rate of £38 (ZAR380) per night- a real bargain!

This hotel is ideally located for the Waterkant, and Bronx bar.

Minus points are the noisy road outside, and the pool isnt that good, but I could live with that for the price I paid. They have also finally installed WiFi internet in the hotel roosm, but ZAR200 per 24 hrs is a rip off. There is no justification for this fee. I hired a Mobile Broadband dongle from a mobile phone shop and got 2 weeks of internet for ZAR700 - this would have cost me ZAR2800 if I had used the hotel WiFi!!!

I have stayed here about 5 times now and I would always look to stay here again when visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chippy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    96
    49
    18
    2
See reviews for
43
62
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

This hotel is good value for money, at least for the 499 ZAR per night we spent for a room with bathroom, kitchen and a dining room. The kitchen was well equipped and clean. On overall, the room and the bathroom were quite clean. The staff very helpful.
The hotel is near the stadium. You need a car to go to the Long Street area, but you can walk to the waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oxys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is a decent hotel - nice view and comfortable room. Everything's alright except if you need the staff to do things for you - they forgot to give morning calls everyday, and they gave a packaged that was sent to me to the wrong guest :) But they did try to track down that other guest to get my package back. So yea, overall it's quite pleasant if you don't need morning calls from them :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kng86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I stayed here with friends during the World Cup and overall had a wonderful time in the Cape. If you stay here, you're paying for location.

The location is perfect. It's situated about a 10 minute walk from the V&A waterfront so we walked there pretty much everyday. It's also fairly close to the main downtown streets which are also walkable. In terms of getting around, it's about 10 min taxi to Cape Bay and a 10 min taxi to Table Mountain.

In terms of the room, the hotel itself is average at best. It's fairly dingy on the outside and the inside. However, the rooms are clean and spacious. The room comes with a seperate living area which is quite big and the bedrooms themselves are fairly nice.

In Capetown you shouldn't be in your room that much anyway, so this is a more affordable option than some of those high end boutiques.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epc5163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We were happily surprised to see a very large room upon our March 18, 2010 arrival, having booked a Superior Room at the higher rate. We were put on the 3rd floor and our room was directly over the pool. The room was more like a New York City one bedroom apartment, very large, reasonably clean with an acceptable bathroom. Parking was included in the garage and driving to and from the Waterfront was nice. However, that night we found that the lock to the living room window had been broken, such that anyone could step right into our room from the adjoining roof/pool area. This was a major safety concern, and when we spoke with reception, they said it couldn't be fixed. We wedged a chair in the window to keep it closed. Secondly, the shower door did not close fully, and any shower would flood the bathroom. All of the faucets (2) seemed to be improperly installed and were loose and falling out. Ifyou could arrange to have a higher floor room (which I specifically requested in MY reservation and was not granted) this hotel would be acceptable. However, this was not a safe neighborhood and the broken window was cause for alarm.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epimediums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at Cape Castle. We booked a superior room on the 8th floor which had wonderful views of the waterfront and the Green Point world cup stadium. From the large bathroom we had a wonderful view of Table Mountain - really lovely to wake up to. The large one bedroom had 2 large single beds pushed together. Lots of room to walk around in and lots of windows to see the views. The large lounge/kitchen was very comfortable with a sofa bed for my children. The kitchen was well equip with fridge, microwave, kettle etc. Our large balcony even had a gas BBQ and table and chairs.
The pool was small and water very cold - although our children enjoyed it! There are only a few sun loungers around the pool but very comfortable ones with thick sponge mattresses.
We used the car park as had hired a car. We were charged R40 per day which I don't think was bad.
The policy is check out at 11am however our flight was not until 1020pm. We advised the staff of this and they did give us courtesy room to use which we were not charged for - very much appreciated!
The staff were very friendly, happy and ready to help and the room was very clean with fluffy soft towels changed daily and crisp white linen sheets on comfortable beds. Would stay here again as thought the location was very good.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

I stayed four nights, on a business trip. The suite was spacious, very comfortable, very clean. However, the claim in their brochure of "magnificient views of either the Waterfront or Table Mountain from every apartment" are not accurate. I had a side room that overlooked the adjoining apartment block - no sign of either sea or mountain. The views only apply if you are fairly high up and facing in the right direction - so make sure you ask for one of those rooms. Also the description "directly adjacent to the V & A Waterfront" is another exaggeration - you have to cross two busy dual carriageway roads and walk another couple of blocks - about 20 minutes in all - but still reasonably convenient.
Food was OK but nothing special. I found a good deli 10 minutes walk away and brought stuff back. Breakfast was expensive for what you got - local restaurants, even those on the Waterfront, were better value.
Best thing about this hotel was the friendliness of the staff - excellent service at every turn. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Special thanks to Genevieve on reception who went out of her way to be helpful - also the other reception staff and the guys downstairs on security.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shireen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#65 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#57 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Cape Castle)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing