We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Ranked #82 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Booke dinto this hotel by mistake, thinking it was somewhere else in CT ! Stupid me.

What a pleasant surprise as it is easy to get to . Stunning room, with small kitchenette. Very clean and modern furnishings. All in all a very acceptable base for work or play in CT

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear GUEST

Glad you dropped in by mistake and thank you for your comments. Our goal is to make our GUESTS feel comfortable and at home.

We hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Cape Castle in the future.

Kind Regards

David Wilson Poe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    95
    49
    17
    2
See reviews for
43
61
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KENT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Budget 3 star suites; nothing exciting but pleasant enough; clean; polite staff; OK breakfast; room 55; large picture windows; fabulous views of table mountain; walking distance to Waterfront; efficient aircon; fridge, 2 hot plates, microwave etc; flat screen TV; 100 mb free wifi; underground parking; swimming pool.

Room Tip: Get a suite with views towards table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnolia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear GUEST

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Cape Castle. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Especially pleased that our STAFF were polite, courteous and helpful - a Protea attribute that we always aspire to.


Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

From the beginning of our 3 night stay to the end, the overwhelming feature was the amazing friendliness of the staff, from reception to dining to cleaner to security. They were only too keen to do anything extra, which we didn't really need as everything was done in the first place! Our room was on the 7th floor giving a very good view to the V&A waterfront (an easy 10min walk away). The room had a kitchenette which was useful, the tea, coffee, etc and the bathroom supplies were replenished daily (often doesn't happen in other hotels) and cleaned very timeously. Parking is available underground, the breakfast was perfectly adequate, and the location is great for walking to the new Green Point Park and stadium and then onto the Mouille Point Lighthouse and seafront boardwalk. Sometimes a bit noisy from the traffic but this was overcome by closing the windows and using aircon.

Room Tip: Choose from 6th floor up for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here for a fraction more than having a double ensuite room at a hostel. For the money we got a 1 bedroom apartment in a great location with a pool. We were really happy with this hotel especially for the price and its location.

The room was very clean, the staff very helpful. The biggest disappointment was the wifi it should be included and instead you had a limited MB/day and had to pay over and above.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2WorldExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peralada, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

A well located hotel. Good service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed here for three nights. The staff was really helpful and when I asked for a room upgrade they made every effort to get me a better room. This hotel is located in a great spot without having to pay the higher prices of the other hotels. It is a bit of a walk from Green market square area (20 min) but that doesn't bother me. It is also not exactly at the V&A waterfront but only a 10 minute walk to it and about a 2 minute walk from the high end Cape Quarter area. Because of this the price is lower then if you stayed right in those areas. The area felt safe (woman traveling solo). My room was on the 8th floor and had the view of the sea, the city, the V&A waterfront. I couldn't have asked for a better stay for the price I paid (under $100). Also, as a vegan the self catering option was excellent since there is a great grocery story two minute walk away in Cape Quarter. I highly recommend this place. Rooms are modern, clean, spacious, but not fancy pants like maybe the V&A hotel or the One&Only but you are paying way more for those places.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 7th floor or above to have a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goldenera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

The rooms are spacious and very clean. Nice to be able to make a cup of tea or coffee in a proper kitchenette. The staff was very friendly and service excellent.

Room Tip: East facing rooms have a lovely view of Table Mountain (see photograph)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#55 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#64 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Cape Castle)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing