We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views; swimming pool; budget; 3 star; carpark; suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Ranked #88 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Budget 3 star suites; nothing exciting but pleasant enough; clean; polite staff; OK breakfast; room 55; large picture windows; fabulous views of table mountain; walking distance to Waterfront; efficient aircon; fridge, 2 hot plates, microwave etc; flat screen TV; 100 mb free wifi; underground parking; swimming pool.

Room Tip: Get a suite with views towards table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnolia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear GUEST

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Cape Castle. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Especially pleased that our STAFF were polite, courteous and helpful - a Protea attribute that we always aspire to.


Kind Regards
David Wilson Poe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 215 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

From the beginning of our 3 night stay to the end, the overwhelming feature was the amazing friendliness of the staff, from reception to dining to cleaner to security. They were only too keen to do anything extra, which we didn't really need as everything was done in the first place! Our room was on the 7th floor giving a very good view to the V&A waterfront (an easy 10min walk away). The room had a kitchenette which was useful, the tea, coffee, etc and the bathroom supplies were replenished daily (often doesn't happen in other hotels) and cleaned very timeously. Parking is available underground, the breakfast was perfectly adequate, and the location is great for walking to the new Green Point Park and stadium and then onto the Mouille Point Lighthouse and seafront boardwalk. Sometimes a bit noisy from the traffic but this was overcome by closing the windows and using aircon.

Room Tip: Choose from 6th floor up for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here for a fraction more than having a double ensuite room at a hostel. For the money we got a 1 bedroom apartment in a great location with a pool. We were really happy with this hotel especially for the price and its location.

The room was very clean, the staff very helpful. The biggest disappointment was the wifi it should be included and instead you had a limited MB/day and had to pay over and above.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGirlontheMove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

A well located hotel. Good service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Des E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed here for three nights. The staff was really helpful and when I asked for a room upgrade they made every effort to get me a better room. This hotel is located in a great spot without having to pay the higher prices of the other hotels. It is a bit of a walk from Green market square area (20 min) but that doesn't bother me. It is also not exactly at the V&A waterfront but only a 10 minute walk to it and about a 2 minute walk from the high end Cape Quarter area. Because of this the price is lower then if you stayed right in those areas. The area felt safe (woman traveling solo). My room was on the 8th floor and had the view of the sea, the city, the V&A waterfront. I couldn't have asked for a better stay for the price I paid (under $100). Also, as a vegan the self catering option was excellent since there is a great grocery story two minute walk away in Cape Quarter. I highly recommend this place. Rooms are modern, clean, spacious, but not fancy pants like maybe the V&A hotel or the One&Only but you are paying way more for those places.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 7th floor or above to have a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Goldenera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The rooms are spacious and very clean. Nice to be able to make a cup of tea or coffee in a proper kitchenette. The staff was very friendly and service excellent.

Room Tip: East facing rooms have a lovely view of Table Mountain (see photograph)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel at the beginning of February. For Cape Town, it is good value for money and obviously recently refurbished. The ‘apartment’ was a really good size – large sitting room/dining area, decent kitchenette with all the requisite crockery, cutlery and pans. In our ‘luxury’ room, our bedroom was totally separate from the sitting room area – with comfortable beds and white cotton sheets. Bathroom also a good size with both a stand-alone shower and separate bath. Everything spotlessly clean – toiletries replaced as required. We could have done with a little washing up liquid in the kitchen, but that is a very minor quibble. We also had a small balcony, with great views down to the Waterfront.
The hotel is easy walking distance to the V&A Waterfront – say 10 – 12 minutes. For those that are self-catering, there is a Pick n Pay supermarket at the Waterfront and also a Spar further down the road (turn right after coming out of the hotel).
Breakfast was not part of our deal, so we can’t comment on the food. The hotel arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport, and this was efficient but the only thing that was a tad on the pricey side. Staff all pleasant and helpful.
We can’t really fault this hotel and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 110 in Cape Town Central
658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#81 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,025 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 110 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Village
Waterfront Village
#68 of 110 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Cape Castle)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $98 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing