We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice suite in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #53 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Pluses:
- Clean room with view over Atlantic
- Nice compact kitchen
- Friendly staff
- Grocery store within 1 block for easy purchase of supplies
- Restaurants nearby
Minus:
- Bed was on funky platform raised 6 inches above room which guaranteed tripping

Room Tip: All have ocean views. Don't worry; be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 427 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Fantastictic location. Staff was very helpful. Shuttle service a big plus. So much to do in Cape Town. Visited during july of 2011 with my wife and son. We own a timeshare thus this was an exchange. Stayed in a 2 bedroom room with a perfect ocean view and pool view. Loved waking up in the morning looking at the view and the sunsets were wonderful. Bus service from the hotel to downtown was excellent but really did not need it. Staff was helpful with ideas on where to eat outside of hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckdwalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just returned after having spent 3 nights at the Peninsula hotel. I had been looking forward to staying at the hotel, having read several positive reviews. However, generally speaking, I was not happy. The room was clean but I had some noisy neighbours and I could hear everything through the walls. Having forgotten a multiplug for my cellphone,I went to look for one at the Raception. They did not have the British model, but promised me one soon.Until I left , it had still not come. I also asked for wake time at 3.30 hours,but they called me at 4oohrs when I was already up. But the worst part was the food. Neither the quality nor the quantity was satisfactory.It was simply a mess. In spite of that,breakfast was just ok.. The waiters were friendly and helpful. My advice. The hotel is appropriate for budget vacationers, but still they can go dine outside. There are some good hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Do not believe what you red in the web
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleuriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I own RCI time share at the Peninsula but I seldom get to use it so this was the first time I have been to the hotel in a few years. Firstly the location is excellent. It’s at the border between Sea Point and Mouille Point with great ocean views. The Hotel has been well maintained and on the 4 floor they where revamping some of the rooms, this seems to be an ongoing procedure but it didn’t interfere with our stay. Although we never ate at the hotel I did take a look at the breakfasts which seemed good value with a decent selection of dishes. They also had a Cape Malay dinner during the week which looked worth wile. The staff are friendly and helpful and the tour desk personnel seem well informed, There is a Red bus pick up near the hotel I would highly recommend using the red bus for first time travellers and even if you have been to Cape Town before, its a quick and easy way to hit the tourist high points and get round the city. There is very little negative to say about the place except for the shortage of parking. As long as you get a good rate I would unreservedly recommend the Peninsula.

Room Tip: The noise from the wind can be a problem but the higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerSA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom on the 6th floor and woke up to an amazing view each and every morning. Make sure you get something higher than the second floor so you can enjoy the sunset.
The hotel staff was very nice and went out of their way to answer questions or help with any issues. The shuttle was also very useful and they were very gracious about accomodating requests.
Units need a little updating but are really ok. We had plenty of room for the four of us.
Hotel resturant was good but a little pricey. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. The waterfront also has great places to eat.
Paying for parking is unfortunate but still reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Request a room above the seond floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

During our South African tour, we spent one week at Cape Town in the Peninsula hotel.
We very much appreciated this hotel very well located. Our suite had a beautiful see view and the hotel is on the sea front and quiet.
Restaurant of the hotel is OK and the service is nice. Many other restaurants are close even if it requests to go by car.
On top of that, Cape Town is a beautiful city with lots things to visit (Cape of Hope, Hermanus, wine valley…). However, I’m a bit astonished that the Botanical garden belongs to the top ten. It is beautiful, very well located but Butchard Gardens on Victoria Island, and many Japanese gardens are nicer at it.

2 disappointments:
- the cable car to Table mountain was closed for maintenance at that time
- Robben Island was fully booked.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myginza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel has a beautifil ambiance and a view that this out oof this world.
Every suite opens and overlooks the magnificent Atlantic ocean
The staff are friendly and helpfull.
The rooms are spacious , well kept and clean.
The hotel is well located accross from the ocean and closs to the new Cape Town Stadium and V & A Waterfront

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhevlen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
314 reviews
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,098 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#73 of 110 in Cape Town Central
352 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel

Address: 313 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $162 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula All Hotel Cape Town Central
Peninsula Cape Town
Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Cape Town Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Cape Town
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing