We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great for business and leisure travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a large business function at the Westin tonight, and everything was perfect.

From the parking to check-in, it could not have gone better. Quite unbelievable to be greeted by the front desk manager Joseph Mdashe on my name (I stayed here a few months ago) in Afrikaans! Great guy, a true asset.

The gym and spa are still world-class, and the food at our function was fantastic!

The location is perfect for first-time visitors to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the V&A Waterfront and World Cup stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Gerhard13071964

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for you next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,068 - 1,074 of 2,295 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

Came for 1 night in this hotel, it was bulk reservation from my company to attend conference with our distributors, so around 80 people...
First I got smoking room and when I asked to change they said there are no rooms available (non-smoking) and they gave me room for handicaped people with bathroom arranged for disabled people...
Even in the room lot of things are missing for a 5* hotel: only 1 bottle of water, no slippers, lack of plugs in the room
The variety of food for breakfast and lunch was poor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Amine T

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed there for about a week in November of 2013. The views are beautiful, great executive lounge with wonderful and delicious foods and drinks. Service was beyond excellent, friendly and did their best to accomodate everything they could. The spa is great, had facials and a massage, both well worth the prices. Room service meals are excellent with great variety, and the tour booked from the hotel was very well thought out, informative and fun.

If I ever go back to Cape Town I hope to stay there once again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menoa_minnoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear menoa_minnoan

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

In-Room Spa Services
Restore energy and relieve stress with a menu of custom treatments developed especially for Westin In-Room Spa services. Guests can indulge in the experience of a soothing spa getaway in the privacy of their own room. Many resort locations also offer peaceful healing in beautifully designed on-site spas where innovative therapies help guests get back to their best selves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I had an amazing time at Westin Cape Town..

This hotel is perfectly situated and you will have an amazing view from your room, make sure not to miss the swimming pool and spa facilities.

Great service from all staff at Westin but not very impressed with service at lobby restaurant (host team) as they were not friendly and never made you feel welcome.

In general highly recommended and one of the best,

Thanks
Roy

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espress080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Espress080

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are please to hear that you have enjoyed your room /views and breakfast. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the Hosting staff in our restaurant as this is not our normal standard. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I'm a frequent business traveler and was staying at the Westin while attending a conference at the nearby convention center.

I arrived late at night after a 24 hour flight. The staff met me at my cab and check-in was a breeze. I had reserved an executive room, non-smoking, and was quickly escorted upstairs.

The room was unusually pleasant for a "convention" hotel. The size was generous with a floor to ceiling view of the waterfront (the other side of the hotel looks towards Lion's Head and Table Mountain -- you can't go wrong with either view). There was plentiful storage and I was able to quickly unpack. The hotel had placed a welcome snack in the room.

Sleeping was not difficult. The beds are comfortable, the rooms quiet and temperature control was easy with the snappy air conditioner. The decor is modern, but highly functional and not too "funky."

The bathroom was well appointed with heated tile floors and the shower was more than adequate.

Breakfast for the executive suites is on an upper floor overlooking Lion's Head and Table Mountain. The food was an exceptional selection of continental fare. There were a myriad of fruits, vegetables, cheeses and meats. Additionally, the staff would whip up smoothies and coffees on request. The room is a bit small, however, and if we arrived after 8am, we had to wait.

The location is very convenient and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront. Taxis are plentiful and the hotel was happy to help us arrange transportation when required.

Overall, the hotel is comfortable, convenient with a heaping serving of luxury and service. It is a bit on the expensive side (I paid about $270 per night), but this includes breakfast. However, the next time I attend a convention, I'll stay at the Westin.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor -- go ahead and splurge on the Executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkingmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear kkingmd

Thank you for your positve review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Unwind – A Westin Evening Ritual SM

Continuing to find ways to make a stay more enjoyable, Westin encourages travelers to share an inviting transition from day to night with friends, family and fellow guests. As nightfall approaches, the lobby transforms into a relaxing social space with food, drink and entertainment infused with the style and culture of the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here again for 4 nights September 2013. The room was wonderful again and service exceptional. We cannot fault the Executive lounge breakfast and the amazing views. We have to come through Cape Town at least twice a year and have stayed here four times, each time swearing we will not be staying anywhere else in Cape Town as value for money cannot be beaten. However, on looking to book our hotel for September for 5 nights, I was shocked to see that prices have doubled. Rooms and hotel have not been renovated so at a bit of a loss at the extreme hike in prices. Especially considering the weakness of the rand against the pound, surely prices should have decreased. The new price does not reflect value for money and unfortunately, I think we will be looking to stay somewhere else this year. For less money we can stay right on the V and A waterfront.
Would be delighted to know the reason for these increases and have a reason to stay at this wonderful hotel again but unfortunately they might have lost our custom...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenwallis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear helenwallis79

Thank you for your comments , with regards to the rates, Cape Town is enjoying some fantastic demand in 2014, but due to you being repeat guests, please feel free to contact shameela.abdullah@westin.com, Reservations Manager directly and see what we can do for you in September 2014.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

As worldwide frequent traveller I pay very much attention on my accomodation and to the hotel quality.
This is a perfect modern hotel for me.
Very clean with superb modern style decoration.
I love the new smart modern style hotel. and this is the right example.
I enjoyed a great breakfast view on the 19th floor Lounge on top of the City.
Free Wi-Fi, Great soft bed, as usual at Westin, large bathroom with wide shower room..
The location is perfect for business in Cape Town,

I suggest to everybody for business.

Room Tip: Enjoy the Lounge at 19th floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear gmz63

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Breathe Westin®
Guests can take a refreshing, deep breath and enjoy a clean-air environment. Becoming the first major hotel brand to go smoke-free in North America — with an expansion to more than 115 hotels — illustrates the Westin commitment of ensuring a healthful stay for all our guests. An overwhelming preference for fresh, smokeless air has extended the program’s reach to the Cayman Islands, Mexico, St. Maarten, Ireland, Spain, Australia, Fiji and New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $198 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing