We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay again... but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #28 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here again for 4 nights September 2013. The room was wonderful again and service exceptional. We cannot fault the Executive lounge breakfast and the amazing views. We have to come through Cape Town at least twice a year and have stayed here four times, each time swearing we will not be staying anywhere else in Cape Town as value for money cannot be beaten. However, on looking to book our hotel for September for 5 nights, I was shocked to see that prices have doubled. Rooms and hotel have not been renovated so at a bit of a loss at the extreme hike in prices. Especially considering the weakness of the rand against the pound, surely prices should have decreased. The new price does not reflect value for money and unfortunately, I think we will be looking to stay somewhere else this year. For less money we can stay right on the V and A waterfront.
Would be delighted to know the reason for these increases and have a reason to stay at this wonderful hotel again but unfortunately they might have lost our custom...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenwallis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear helenwallis79

Thank you for your comments , with regards to the rates, Cape Town is enjoying some fantastic demand in 2014, but due to you being repeat guests, please feel free to contact shameela.abdullah@westin.com, Reservations Manager directly and see what we can do for you in September 2014.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 2,321 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

As worldwide frequent traveller I pay very much attention on my accomodation and to the hotel quality.
This is a perfect modern hotel for me.
Very clean with superb modern style decoration.
I love the new smart modern style hotel. and this is the right example.
I enjoyed a great breakfast view on the 19th floor Lounge on top of the City.
Free Wi-Fi, Great soft bed, as usual at Westin, large bathroom with wide shower room..
The location is perfect for business in Cape Town,

I suggest to everybody for business.

Room Tip: Enjoy the Lounge at 19th floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear gmz63

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Breathe Westin®
Guests can take a refreshing, deep breath and enjoy a clean-air environment. Becoming the first major hotel brand to go smoke-free in North America — with an expansion to more than 115 hotels — illustrates the Westin commitment of ensuring a healthful stay for all our guests. An overwhelming preference for fresh, smokeless air has extended the program’s reach to the Cayman Islands, Mexico, St. Maarten, Ireland, Spain, Australia, Fiji and New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel because it was an option after travelling with the fantastic Blue Train from Pretoria. The driver picked us up from the train station upon arrival, and he was attentive and polite. Checking in was a lengthy affair, but we finally got to our room 1230. The room was nice, but we wanted to go for a swim and some sun. The hotel offers a nice spa with indoor pool, but no sundeck. If you plan to get a tan, you should opt for another hotel, as we are going to after one night at the Westin.
We had some room service, which was nice food and good value. The tray, however, was on the floor outside our room for hours, even though we called three times to have it removed. It was only picked up after talking to the Duty Manager.
The hotel offers a free shuttle to the V&A Waterfront. We wanted to return with the shuttle at 21:45, and was at the pick up point at 21:40. No bus. We called the hotel at 21:55 asking about it, and the bus was in front of the hotel. It left early as it was full. Many thanks for letting us know, it is only SAR 50 by taxi.
The TV system in our room wasn´t working either and talking to the manager isn´t very pleasant. Complaints are just not welcome in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the executive floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonPedroSkien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear DonPedroSkien

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for a week on a business trip in an Executive Suite. Overall it was a good stay and I would recommend it.

Overall atmosphere: Clean, modern, simple, and elegant describes this hotel. There really isn't a wow factor but I had no issues with anything in the hotel. Everything was comfortable, worked, and fairly efficient.

Rooms: Comfortable room, good bed, nice views. Had all the amenities that one would expect from a 5 star hotel.

Spa/Gym: The gym area, spa, and pool are located on the top floor of the hotel. It has amazing views of the city and waterfront. The pool is an indoor pool, which is nice to have a swim in the Cape Town winter, but a shame there is not an outdoor pool area to relax at during the summer months.

Lounge: Used the executive club lounge every day. Staff were friendly. Breakfast offering was great and nothing to fault here. Also had the canapes and drinks during the happy hour from 5-7 daily which was nice. Would be nice if the lounge was slightly larger as it doubles as a restaurant as well, so there is not that much actual "lounge" space.

Location: This hotel is located at the convention center. Unfortunately, it is neither at the waterfront nor in the center of town. I would rate the location as average for tourists, only because you would need to walk at least 15-20 minutes to get anywhere (in the city or to the waterfront) or have a rental car. If you are here on business, it is a great location.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. Seems to cater more to business travelers instead of tourists, but if you are a SPG member, as I am, it makes sense to stay here. Definitely one of the better hotels in Cape Town, not the best though. I still think the best are the One&Only and the Cape Grace. (Have stayed at both).

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nep1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear nep1984

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed for two nights. Rooms were comfortable and quiet. Room service worked well after a late night coming back from the Springsteen concert. Good location for getting the Hop on- Hop Off bus. Staff was very helpful. A Westin is a Westin is a Westin. You know what you are getting when you check in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retaxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear retaxus

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

In-Room Spa Services
Restore energy and relieve stress with a menu of custom treatments developed especially for Westin In-Room Spa services. Guests can indulge in the experience of a soothing spa getaway in the privacy of their own room. Many resort locations also offer peaceful healing in beautifully designed on-site spas where innovative therapies help guests get back to their best selves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Definetly not a 5 star.
Mini fridge with half rotten apple, an used can of coke, 2 used water bottles. 2 small chocolates candies been half eaten and left there. Unfortunate I can't upload a picture on this site.
After complaining at reception, a person come up with me to the room and took all used items (there was nothing else in the fridge). For the next 3 days and until I left the fridge stayed empty!

All hotels were full during last weekend so I had no choice and had to stay there. But other then the fridge incident, can't complain.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPalhares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear PPalharcs

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We were pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed in the Westin for a week starting at end of January. Overall the service was excellent. Check in was slow - seemed a lot of event bookings overwhelmed them. Check out was slow. Waited at the Starwood Preferred counter and had to ask if it was open while others were being served. Beyond that, room was modern and well appointed. Buffet was top notch though tracking down a server to pay failed on three of the days and had to go back to the front desk for a bill. Shuttle to the VA waterfront every half hour was a great plus. Walking distance to central business district attractions. Despite these few glitches, would recommend the hotel highly but if you get caught in a rush of customers for a conference check in be ready to wait.

Room Tip: Rooms face the mountain or the harbor. You cannot lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravCT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear TravCT2

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the shuttle service to and from the V&A Waterfront.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Westin. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the slow check in and check out.

We train and remind all our staff to be helpfull and courteous and I regret that we did not meet your expections on this occasion.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,807 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,557 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $202 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing