We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong staying here..for the right price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel is in a bit of weird location.... quite aways from the pier and 15 minute walk from the business district and in the middle of a highway. They have a shuttle to get you to main attractions but it's still somewhat of hassle to to just randomly get out and see main attractions of Cape Town. It's next to the convention center- so if that's what you are here for this is the place to stay.

I found the staff very accomodating and the rooms up to and beyond Westin standards. The spa is pretty spectacular at least in one way- they have a steam room with a top floor view the city - not something you see every day and quite frankly something you do want to experience. If it wasn't for their awkward location I would give this place 5 stars. And remember you're paying top dollar to stay here so if you're looking for a deal... good luck.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jurajfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear JurajL

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 2,295 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at The Westin Cape Town during our recent visit to the city. It's a great experience right from the check in procedures to the room facilities. Most of the rooms have a great view. We had opted for the Executive Club Rooms. These gave us to the Executive Lounge on the 19th floor. We had the option of taking breakfast in the restaurant 'Thirty7' on the Ground Floor or in the Executive Club Room on the 19th floor. We chose the Club Room simply because it has a great view. The bed in the room was pretty spacious and though we had asked for an extra bed for our 5 year old daughter, we did not feel the necessity for the same and therefore didn't put it up. The hotel offers free wifi throughout - in lobby as well as the rooms and the speed of the same is great. All staff - be it the reception, bell boys, porters, housekeeping staff, restaurant staff, etc. are very courteous and helpful. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and fro from the V&A waterfront from 9:00 am to 9:00 pm. - this works really great for guests who are too tired to walk it up to the V&A (which is a 15 min brisk walk) or want to avoid taking a taxi. Overall the location of the hotel is also great - its a 30 min drive from the airport, Greenmarket Square (a shopping area) is at a 10 minute walk from hotel, though I wouldn't advise guests to walk after 5:30 p.m. It's also very close to the V&A waterfront from where ferries to Robben Island depart at 9:00 am, 11:00 am, 1:00 pm and 3:00 pm. The V&A also has a shopping mall, various shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose the Executive Club Rooms from 14th to 18th floor that either face the Waterfront or Table Mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saurabhvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear saurabhvd

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that all staff members exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We spent three nights at the Westin Cape Town. We rented a car and this hotel was well situated to be our home base for our day trips. The staff was very helpful, the room had a great view and the comfortable heavenly bed. Our room rate included breakfast which was excellent. I recommend using the club level restaurant and ordering off the menu. The hotel is adjacent to the convention center so there were more business guests than vacationers when we were there but it did not detract from our experience. I struggled with selecting a good hotel for our stay and after visiting Cape Town (which we loved) I am sure we made the right choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear libbylulu

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This Hotel is absolutely fantastic! Good location! Clean! Amazing spa and saunas! But 10 points come for brilliant breakfast buffet which includes a variety of food from all over the world, starting with sushi and finishing with tens of different juices. Very close to the waterfront!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuriN302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear JuriN302

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that Arabella Spa and our Breakfast buffet exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Westin just opposite the Convention centre is quite luxurious...good lobby..especially the old look wooden benches gives a unique look.
But multi level card access to reach the room may put off some...card access for lift to open, lift to go to the floor, to open the floor door and of course to open the room.
The room is quite good over looking the convention centre and giving a good view of the port and Lions Head mountains.Only sore point is the canal in the front of thehotel could have been maintained little better...this is also visbile from the room.
The bath room is good..seaprate partitions for shower and WC with in the bath room is a good idea...could'nt understand the need for two wash basins that to side by side.
The food was good...the people very helpful...over all a very happy experience

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear plpalani

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you emjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, walkable to downtown longstreet where the restaurants are and the waterfront.
Great service, breakfast buffet with excellent food.
The rooms are beautiful.
Really loved this hotel and will definitely go back there.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank colomba63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear colomba63

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Was here for a business trip which included a stay over a weekend. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the location is superb.

Will absolutely stay here again, cannot say a bad word about this place

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank lynnscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear lynnscot

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $198 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing