We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel fairly close to the bay area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Superb hotel fairly close to the bay area”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Superb rooms and facilities, amazingly helpful concierge staff and even a running concierge to take you out. Gym/spa/pool facilities are excellent. Short, safe daylight walk (15 mins) to Green Street Market. Well served by free hotel shuttle to and from waterfront area for pubs and restaurants and local cab rank opposite for longer trips (or you can use a hotel driver for a bit more money). Superb views of Table Mountain and surrounds or out to sea from most of the higher floor levels. Bit of a cab ride to Table Mountain itself (20 mins) but cabs so sensibly priced not an issue. I wouldn't walk far around here at night as a stranger/visitor (other than in waterfront area) but I think this is true really for all of Capetown. Cape Peninsula winelands in very easy reach too (30 minutes by car). Free wifi throughout and fairly reliable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jonathan V

We were delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear our Concierge and Run Westin Team exceeded your expecations. They work exceptionaly hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

• Fuel your body with delicious SuperFoodsRx™ dishes packed with nutrients and energy. Antioxidant rich and naturally low in calories, our tempting selections – from whole-wheat blueberry pancakes to all-natural roasted turkey wraps and black bean hummus – make healthy meals impossible to resist.Created together with doctors and nutritionists, our SuperFoodsRx™ menu cultivates “food synergy,” the pairing of certain foods to increase their nutritional value, to give you the focused energy you need to meet the challenges of your day.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    694
    163
    55
    45
See reviews for
238
723
142
793
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was there for a full week. There are some positives and negatives – Overall I would say the place is average. But it seems to lack personality to me and was stark at times. This is odd for South Africa which certainly doesn’t lack personality!

Pros:
Unbeatable views from the room I was provided
Excellent views from top floor restaurant
Nice rain shower and heated floor in bathroom
Should note, I was there for a conference in the hotel basement and they seemed to do a fine job on conference arrangements

Cons:
Arranged for airport pickup, they forgot me at the arrivals terminal
Disagreeable front desk staff, each time I approached it
Food at the restaurant was average (I ate there at least 7 times)
No executive lounge – it’s been turned into a restaurant on top floor
I had breakfast on top floor, thank goodness for the views b/c a la carte service extremely slow
They didn’t deposit star points to my account after check out

--I think I’ll try somewhere else next time for comparison purposes

--Wouldn’t recommend the concierge/lounge package probably not worth it because it’s a restaurant

The redeeming factor is the location near waterfront and Table Mountain views, without these it would be a miss...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _Mundo_Traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ask_Mundo_Traveler_11

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I reviewed your comments with regards to your travel arrangement, restaurant & lounge service as well as the comments with regards to the posting of Star Points. As Management we take all comments serious and I thank you for posting yours.

Due to space limitations, our Westin Executive Club Restaurant also accommodates our Executive Lounge. Lounge facilities are avaialbel during the day as well as our Canape hour which is hosted from 17h00 - 19h00 daily. we apoligize if you felt these services to be inadequate.

Star Points are posted after your stay by SPG International, the hotel does not post points to members accounts.

We are sorry for any inconvenience caused and do hope we may have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Westin Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is directly connected to the conference center so it is very convenient if you go there for a meeting. It also provides a shuttle to the waterfront where you can find many good restaurants, shops, museums and an aquarium. It is important since there are only 2 restaurants inside the hotel which serve similar dishes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Nelson L

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

In-Room Spa Services
Restore energy and relieve stress with a menu of custom treatments developed especially for Westin In-Room Spa services. Guests can indulge in the experience of a soothing spa getaway in the privacy of their own room. Many resort locations also offer peaceful healing in beautifully designed on-site spas where innovative therapies help guests get back to their best selves.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough about the concierge and staff at this property!! Thanks for making my Xmas such a great experience. Room was amazing...lounge was beyond great and all of my meals were so great!! Zara took special care of all my tours and the private tour to the wineries and cheetah rescue made my trip.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ALTravel_everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear AL Travel_everywhere

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that Zara & our Concierge Team exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

SPG Restaurant and Bars
Life is even more delicious when you season it with variety. Enjoy a wide range of SPG dining experiences for large gatherings, intimate dinners and everything in between — all with exclusive offers for SPG members.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a reasonable 1 night stay in which I was put on one of the top "club" floors (during which time there was no club as it was closed for some reason), I found out upon checkout I was being charged an extra $60 for the privilege - there had been no mention previously and as a Plat member, I had only assumed. I didn't argue as I needed to get to the airport, but made a note to try to alert others that this hotel management has some games they will play. The location is OK for the tourist waterfront, but it's mostly a convention place. If you're looking for something a little more central and authentic (and honest), look elsewhere. For a short stay as a tourist it's fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale_uark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear dale_uark

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I reviewed your comments with regards to the surcharge for club privileges at the Westin Cape Town. Should the Westin Executive Lounge be closed due to a private function, the cancape hour is relocated to our Ground Floor Restaurant and Bar. Club members enjoy the same service throughout their stay.

We do take all comments serious and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Thank you for choosing the Westin and we do hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Arabella Spa
Treat yourself to a Heavenly Spa experience that awakens your senses. From healing massages, to cleansing facials and energizing body treatments, every element of your spa visit is designed to help you feel your best.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of October 2013. My check in was swift and I got an amazing corporate rate so got club lounge access and room on the higher floor. This for me was the best part, the room was huge with its own office area and a nice view of table mountain.

The bathroom had heated flooring which was a really nice touch, extremely cosy in the evenings!

Service was of a high standard, particularly in the club lounge, the breakfast was simply amazing, they had some super healthy options which I absolutely loved, special juices, fresh granola and certain super fruits. The views on the 19th floor for the club access breakfast was beautiful, and a la carte breakfast options for the hot items was another nice touch.

The gym was a little small , as with most hotel gyms , particularly in the free weights and open space, but again they capitalize on view from the gym too being on the 19th floor. I used the spa too which for international standards was very reasonably priced. The Sauna was unique and a must to try , first Sauna I've used that capitalizes on the spectacular view. The service in the spa could have been a bit better, not quite my Dubai standards, but nevertheless the massage was relaxing and professional and the water bed with heated blanket in the relaxation room at the end was very pleasant.

There is also a shuttle bus to the waterfront every half hour which is convenient, and a stop on the hop on and off bus 1 min away, which was perfect!!! They also have a travel desk for excursions and a special service desk for club guests.

Overall it was hard to fault this hotel, very safe, excellent value for money, top notch service, I'd definitely go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Nadeem_Uddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Gb805680

We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear that our services exceeded your expectations. Thank you for choosing the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon.

• Combine your workout routine with fresh air and local scenery with our RunWESTIN℠ program. We’ve teamed up with New Balance® to provide with 5 and 10km routes through the city, along the beach or into rural landscapes. Runners of all levels are welcome to join a group run with our Run Concierge or grab a running map and take off on their own. Either way, you’ll be welcomed back with a fresh towel or cold bottled water.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I liked this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and plenty spacious. Beds are comfortable. The hotel is out of the touristy area of the V & A Waterfront (shops, restaurants, etc) but provides a free shuttle back and forth that runs every half hour. Service and food are both good. It is by the convention center so designed more for the business traveler but is a good spot for the leisure traveler as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Tracy L

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

WestinWORKOUT
• State-of-the-art and well equipped, the WestinWORKOUT gym helps keep fitness routines active while on the road. Guests can energize with a wide choice of treadmills and bikes for heart-pumping cardio, tone up with strength machines and free weights or flex in open areas for stretching or yoga. This first-class facility also keeps guests hydrated and entertained. Select locations offer customized WestinWORKOUT guestrooms with in-room equipment for all performance levels.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,644 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing