We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel staff were very helpful, rooms were clean, comfortable, modern and had everything I needed for a business stay. This is really the most convenient hotel for conferences and access to the waterfront and the tour buses.
The spa is very busy though and staff are not that helpful in finding an appointment spot.
I had an executive club room and used the club for breakfast and dinner. The food is wonderful and the wait staff were top-notch, especially at dinner time. Reception is a little sub-par compared to the rest of the wait staff just in terms of friendliness. Service time for breakfast is a little slow, but not excessive so if you need breakfast in a hurry, use the downstairs dining room which is still quite good and fast. Dinner service emulates the service I have received at michelin star restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FormerWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear FormerWorldTraveller

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    677
    159
    54
    43
See reviews for
229
711
139
767
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I went with my wife and although this is technically a business hotel it still was perfect for a young couple on an anniversary trip. I am a Platinum member and the Westin Capetown is the reason why it's worth it.
We had a confirmed suite upgrade before we even got the hotel. The breakfast on the Executive floor was beyond awesome. So much variety and everything is freshly baked in the kitchen. On top of the awesome food is the awesome view of table mountain or the ocean or both from the floor to ceiling windows. The spa is great and the hot tub overlooks the city in a beautiful way. The free drink from 5-7 is also a nice touch. If I am ever fortunate enough to make it back to Cape Town I will most certainly stay here again. A 5 star experience in a great location with great service and great food. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Jas 1285

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear our staff exceeded your expectations, they work extremely hard to make every guest feel special.

We do hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

A Sensory Welcome
The sensory-rich environment at Westin offers a respite from the rigors of travel and sets a welcoming tone. Upon entering the lobby, guests begin to breathe more easily as they are greeted with soothing elements like relaxed lighting, natural botanical beauty and stimulating music. The signature White Tea by Westin fragrance lightly infuses all common spaces.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
307 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We used points to stay at the Westin, and found that choosing the Executive Club stay was an outstanding choice. Every employee at the hotel was obviously trained very well, and they were professional in every way. We arrived early at the hotel, and they upgraded us to a larger room so we could settle in after our long flights. When checking in, they inquired about special occasions and I mentioned my birthday. On our second night, I returned to the room after turndown in the evening, and found a delicious dessert plate had been delivered to the room as a birthday treat. Having access to the Executive Club on the top floor was definitely the reason we would rave about the hotel. They offered drinks and canapes in the evening, and a very extensive breakfast in the mornings. There is a Westin shuttle to the Waterfront, which made our visits there very convenient.
We would choose to stay at the Westin again if we would have access to the Club floor. That was a highlight!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Cheryl D

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and look forward to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

SPG Restaurant and Bars
Life is even more delicious when you season it with variety. Enjoy a wide range of SPG dining experiences for large gatherings, intimate dinners and everything in between — all with exclusive offers for SPG members.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena CA, USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary here--what a fantastic room and view. The Executive Club had an unbelievable daily breakfast buffet, and cooked to order hot meals. The evening hours served canapés and beverages. The view is spectacular! The free shuttle bus to the V&A Waterfront is an easy and convenient way to access local attractions. Our water-view room was large and exceptionally comfortable. The evening candies were the perfect way to end a day! We checked in and out very quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtd330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear MicahelD330

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. Thank you so much for your kind comments, our staff work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

We look forward to having you stay with us again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Westin Weekend
We’re loosening our ties and making a few subtle changes to create a more relaxed atmosphere on the weekends to help you rejuvenate for the week ahead.
Introducing 3pm Checkout on Sunday* and Extended Breakfast Hours all Weekend. Which means more time to enjoy your weekend, whether that includes hitting the slopes at one of our award-winning ski resorts, exploring a new city or a day lounging poolside. Leave feeling energized so you can have a Better Monday.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana farm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

don't buy the concierge package, was there 6 days and bought was worthless, someone is skimming someone there, is not typical westin package-was open very few hours and really had nothing, thank god for the coffee machines in the rooms as was never available any of the times I went up to to get, never did see any wine being served, was wine setting there unopened but were no glasses setting out-real poor package-no tea time in afternoon for the wives either

Room Tip: just don't pay extra for the concierge package
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear welby2

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. As a management team we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

I reviewed your comments, and as per our previous communication, our Westin Executive Club lounge is open during the day until 22h00 in the evening. We serve drinks and canapes from 17h00 - 19h00 daily in the lounge for SPG members. The Lounge does not serve high tea, however this can be arranged upon request. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We do hope to welcome you again and thank you once again for your feedback.

Arabella Spa
Treat yourself to a Heavenly Spa experience that awakens your senses. From healing massages, to cleansing facials and energizing body treatments, every element of your spa visit is designed to help you feel your best.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Westin in early September, 2013. It's part of a huge convention center, so definitely has a corporate feel, but was still a convenient location to get around the entire city and the rooms were nice, with a great view of the city and the pier. We also went to the executive floor for breakfast and HH, and the food and service were both excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Jocelyn K

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to heae you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Attached to the convention center this is a room factory. Perhaps ideal for convention delegates it may not be the best for individual travellers.

The rooms are pleasant and are equipped with espresso machines ( something I love) but on the while the operation is geared to the convention delegate with not much choice for others.

The all day dining and the bar have the same menu and really function as one, meaning there is little choice of dining options, at 8 pm there were not more than a dozen guests but service was slow and a glass of wine took more than 15 minutes.

Check in too was overwhelmed had to ask for the SPG desk, and the receptionist couldn't give any specific time as to when the room would be available, I.e. One, two or three hours. Got mine around 7 pm in the evening.

Breakfast was well set up but the so called 'spectacular view' room overlooked the convention center roof

Room Tip: Make sure the 'Table Mountain' view really does look out on the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear keasdad

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I reviewed your comments and I have communicated your issues to the relevant department heads for follow up and action. As a Management Team we do take all feedback seriously and share these with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues.

Again thank you for your comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to imrpove our service.

We do hope to see you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Make a green choice
• The less water, energy and other resources we use, the more there is to go around. Reward yourself with a $5 voucher at participating food and beverage outlets or 500 Starwood Preferred Guest Starpoints® awarded at check out for each night you decline housekeeping services (except day of departure). Conservation matters. Make A Green Choice. Guest is eligible to participate if staying for more than 2 nights and can choose one of the following for every night he declines housekeeping services:
R45.00 credit at F&B or 500 SPG Starpoints® or Donating 500 SPG Starpoints® to UNICEF

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing