We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Would Definitely Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights while my husband was here for a convention and we would certainly book a return. We had a junior suite which was the perfect size for us and our teen daughter. Comfortable bed and pillows, modern, sleek design, plenty of closet space and a very spacious bathroom with tub and walk in shower. Also, as we had a corner unit, it was very quiet. As noted, it is very near the V&A Waterfront, with a frequent free shuttle to and from the Waterfront. There aren't any local restaurants close by, but there is always a taxi waiting downstairs to take you anywhere you need to go. We never waited even one minute for a taxi.

The breakfast buffet in the downstairs restaurant was plentiful and of a very high quality. You rarely see fresh passion fruit as part of the breakfast offerings, but we were spoiled with it every day (along with many other delicious fruits and purees). They have one employee whose sole responsibility at breakfast is to staff a fresh juice bar every day. We enjoyed trying the dozen or so freshly squeezed juices and smoothies each day -- some were very exotic like cranberry-beet (all were surprisingly good).

It is a real luxury to be able to swim in the penthouse pool and enjoy the spa. One complaint is that they keep the whirlpool at a very cool temperature. When I mentioned this to the attendant, I was told that it was at the usual temperature of 98 degrees Farenheit. All of the whirlpools I've experienced in the US are at much hotter temperatures -- usually in the 103 or 104 degree range. The whirlpool was blowing in cold water and it was not comfortable to stay in at this temperature.

The only other negative regards the Executive Club dining. We enjoyed the cocktail hour and hors d'oeuvres very much. But twice we tried to have dinner there and we were told on both occasions that it was closed to us due to a function.

However, we would still return to this hotel. We prepaid the non-refundable fee for our suite and saved 30%. That made this suite cost much less than a regular room in a similar hotel in the US so it was a very good buy for us as well as a very high quality stay. We also had excellent service from the hotel's business center who helped us to arrange shipping something home to the US.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandrasmom817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Alexandrasmom817

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I reviewed your feedback with regards to the Spa and the WEC and apologize for not being able to accommodate you during your time of stay. We do hope to welcome you again and experience our beautiful Westin Executive Club located on the 19th floor with its heavenly views of Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,158 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for a conference at the conference center 10 meters from the front door of this modern, clean, well appointed business hotel. Excellent free internet. Free shuttle to waterfront shopping and restaurants 15 minutes away.

Good breakfast buffet with American, English, Asian fare.

No complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear familyinnh

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments with regards to your recent stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again when next your travel to South Africa.

• Fuel your body with delicious SuperFoodsRx™ dishes packed with nutrients and energy. Antioxidant rich and naturally low in calories, our tempting selections – from whole-wheat blueberry pancakes to all-natural roasted turkey wraps and black bean hummus – make healthy meals impossible to resist.Created together with doctors and nutritionists, our SuperFoodsRx™ menu cultivates “food synergy,” the pairing of certain foods to increase their nutritional value, to give you the focused energy you need to meet the challenges of your day.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Third hotel in a week and definitely my favourite. Interior is spacious and modern, rooms large and well designed without any gimmicks. Valet parking available, but purely optional. Breakfast was great and all the receptionists friendly and helpful. The location is great, right next to the convention centre and close to the V&A. Will definitely use the Westin as a base for future trips.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear N_McL

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

The Westin Essense
At Westin, everything we do is designed to help you feel your best. From our world-renowned Heavenly® Bed and our nourishing SuperFoodsRx™ dishes, to our energizing WestinWORKOUT and our revitalizing Heavenly® Spa treatments, every element of your stay is created to leave you feeling better than when you arrived. Westin. For a better you.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel stay was very comfortable and nice.The location of the hotel is very good and its very convenient if you want to visit the water-font.The shuttle service provided by hotel is too good.The rooms are good ,staff is friendly.What I liked about the hotel is the beautiful view of capetown which you get from the room.It is very conveniently located and the food in the hotel is really good.Will certainly prefer to stay in this hotel if I happen to visit capetown once again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashutosh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear ashutosh14

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations, they work very hard to make every guest feel special.

We hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am a Platinum SPG member, and have been for a long time. i have stayed at this hotel lots of times, and have asked my staff to arrange meetings/conferences here.

It has an excellent location next to the Cape Town Conventiom Centre and the highway. The rooms and spa and gym is also great. They have apparently now also dealt with the multiple cases of staff theft from guest rooms.

However, on 2 occassions my room key card did not allow me access to my room. Even after the check in (there is no Platinum check, you have to stand in line), I could not access my floor (15). Then last night after dinner, this happened again, and even after giving the security guard mt key card and registration card, he still had to get my name etc before authorising a new key being cut.

This type of thing spoils it all. Also, the staff are generally just average, nothing exceptional as I expect from Westin, where one is usually vowed.

I had to ask for an Afrikaans newspaper at breakfast, this is not usually stocked, despite being the most popular local paper. Breakfast was great.

They also have antiquated coffee machines in the suites, why not get simpler Nespresso machines?

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Gerhard130711964

We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments with regards to your recent stay at the Westin Cape Town.

I was sorry to learn of your concerns regarding the incident with your key card, however due to our guests safety, we are obliged by Starwood procedures to ask for identification prior to issueing new key cards.

Afrikaans Newspapers are requested very seldom, therefore we do not stock them; we have major local Enlgish newspapers available daily and all other local & international newspapers are available on request only.

Our in room coffeemachines have been refurbished recently, these are new models for hotel coffee machines.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

We hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have stayed twice at this hotel on transit through Cape Town. We were upgraded on both occasions and service was amazing - there is nothing they won't do for you. Breakfast in the executive lounge was a real treat with panoramic views over Cape Town. We had no problems with the shuttle service to the waterfront where you can find some excellent restaurants and a great atmosphere.
Both stays our room was spacious and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in - much appreciated after an 11 hour flight from London. On the second stay our upgrade was to a higher level room and this bathroom was amazing, huge bath and walk-in shower and wardrobe.
I find it hard to fault this hotel and our experiences there so I won't. We will not be staying anywhere else whilst in Cape Town and have recommended it to all our fellow travellers who have to transit through this great city. In fact we will be staying again for 4 nights from next Saturday and can't wait to get a taste of 5 star service again!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardwallis74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Richardwallis74

I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and i would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received.

Thank you for chosing Westin and we hope to welcome you again.

The Westin Difference
The Westin Difference makes healthful choices irresistibly appealing – offering innovative programs that ensure our guests feel well rested, well-nourished and well cared for. Westin understands that feeling good flows from a relaxing and comfortable environment where careful attention is given to the most important components of a guest’s stay. At every Westin Hotel and Resort, in the world’s most exhilarating destinations, discerning travelers discover just how good it feels to stay with us

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I have got to say, the westin cape town is truly an amazing property. The hotel decor was nice and warm the rooms are finished really nicely,spacious, and comfortable. They have some of the best veiws of cape town, both water and mountain. When we checked in they upgraded us to a nice corner suite which gave us access to the executive club. I don't know if you can buy access the the club floor, But the dining room on that level is something out of a dream. Surround views are all amazing. Now for the best part. I have never ever seen service like this place. They are so gracious, not overdone or tip contingent. Pure and simple gracious service. For example, we needed to walk to synagogue on Saturday. Since we don't use the car on Sabbath, and we were concerned about walking back late at night, I mentioned it to the guest relations manager christian and he immediately offered to drive out late at night with a security guard who walked back with us a full half hour. Now that's service. He wouldn't even accept a tip or payment for the car to get there. Do not mistake this place for a business hotel. In my opinion this is a top notch hotel for vacationers with superb service. The spa facilities are fantastic as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigmo20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Bigmo20000

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that our Duty Managers exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionaly hard to make every guest feel special.

We value your support and hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,713 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $222 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing