We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
$261
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$156
$108
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$114
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$196
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$318
$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$796
$335
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$248
$135
bedfinder
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Winchester Mansions(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$192
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$142
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$343
$220
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,377)
Filter reviews
2,377 results
Traveler rating
1,341
737
180
69
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,341
737
180
69
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive clubconvention centerexecutive floortop floorfree shuttleheavenly bedtable mountainjuice barindoor poolevery half hourheated floorsattending a conferenceguest servicestravel deskbreakfast buffetexcellent hotelshuttle service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,259 - 1,264 of 2,377 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel stay was very comfortable and nice.The location of the hotel is very good and its very convenient if you want to visit the water-font.The shuttle service provided by hotel is too good.The rooms are good ,staff is friendly.What I liked about the hotel is the beautiful view of capetown which you get from the room.It is very conveniently located and the food in the hotel is really good.Will certainly prefer to stay in this hotel if I happen to visit capetown once again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashutosh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear ashutosh14

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations, they work very hard to make every guest feel special.

We hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I am a Platinum SPG member, and have been for a long time. i have stayed at this hotel lots of times, and have asked my staff to arrange meetings/conferences here.

It has an excellent location next to the Cape Town Conventiom Centre and the highway. The rooms and spa and gym is also great. They have apparently now also dealt with the multiple cases of staff theft from guest rooms.

However, on 2 occassions my room key card did not allow me access to my room. Even after the check in (there is no Platinum check, you have to stand in line), I could not access my floor (15). Then last night after dinner, this happened again, and even after giving the security guard mt key card and registration card, he still had to get my name etc before authorising a new key being cut.

This type of thing spoils it all. Also, the staff are generally just average, nothing exceptional as I expect from Westin, where one is usually vowed.

I had to ask for an Afrikaans newspaper at breakfast, this is not usually stocked, despite being the most popular local paper. Breakfast was great.

They also have antiquated coffee machines in the suites, why not get simpler Nespresso machines?

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Gerhard130711964

We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments with regards to your recent stay at the Westin Cape Town.

I was sorry to learn of your concerns regarding the incident with your key card, however due to our guests safety, we are obliged by Starwood procedures to ask for identification prior to issueing new key cards.

Afrikaans Newspapers are requested very seldom, therefore we do not stock them; we have major local Enlgish newspapers available daily and all other local & international newspapers are available on request only.

Our in room coffeemachines have been refurbished recently, these are new models for hotel coffee machines.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

We hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have stayed twice at this hotel on transit through Cape Town. We were upgraded on both occasions and service was amazing - there is nothing they won't do for you. Breakfast in the executive lounge was a real treat with panoramic views over Cape Town. We had no problems with the shuttle service to the waterfront where you can find some excellent restaurants and a great atmosphere.
Both stays our room was spacious and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in - much appreciated after an 11 hour flight from London. On the second stay our upgrade was to a higher level room and this bathroom was amazing, huge bath and walk-in shower and wardrobe.
I find it hard to fault this hotel and our experiences there so I won't. We will not be staying anywhere else whilst in Cape Town and have recommended it to all our fellow travellers who have to transit through this great city. In fact we will be staying again for 4 nights from next Saturday and can't wait to get a taste of 5 star service again!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardwallis74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Richardwallis74

I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and i would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received.

Thank you for chosing Westin and we hope to welcome you again.

The Westin Difference
The Westin Difference makes healthful choices irresistibly appealing – offering innovative programs that ensure our guests feel well rested, well-nourished and well cared for. Westin understands that feeling good flows from a relaxing and comfortable environment where careful attention is given to the most important components of a guest’s stay. At every Westin Hotel and Resort, in the world’s most exhilarating destinations, discerning travelers discover just how good it feels to stay with us

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I have got to say, the westin cape town is truly an amazing property. The hotel decor was nice and warm the rooms are finished really nicely,spacious, and comfortable. They have some of the best veiws of cape town, both water and mountain. When we checked in they upgraded us to a nice corner suite which gave us access to the executive club. I don't know if you can buy access the the club floor, But the dining room on that level is something out of a dream. Surround views are all amazing. Now for the best part. I have never ever seen service like this place. They are so gracious, not overdone or tip contingent. Pure and simple gracious service. For example, we needed to walk to synagogue on Saturday. Since we don't use the car on Sabbath, and we were concerned about walking back late at night, I mentioned it to the guest relations manager christian and he immediately offered to drive out late at night with a security guard who walked back with us a full half hour. Now that's service. He wouldn't even accept a tip or payment for the car to get there. Do not mistake this place for a business hotel. In my opinion this is a top notch hotel for vacationers with superb service. The spa facilities are fantastic as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigmo20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Bigmo20000

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that our Duty Managers exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionaly hard to make every guest feel special.

We value your support and hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

State of the art modern, with a well-done breakfast buffet. Close to downtown,with a shuttle to the waterfront restaurant/entertainment area. Few restaurants in safe walking distance at night, but wonderful waterfront views more than compensate. Modern, well-appointed rooms with all the typical Westin luxuries.

We visited while the Executive Floor lounge was being renovated. The alternative arrangements were mediocre, and despite a complaint on Twitter that was followed up by Starwood Preferred Guest, our second night experience was no better. While the renovations will be done by mid-August, the absence of competent service recovery by Westin Cape Town hotel management suggests all is not as it should be.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank boybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear boybanker

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to provide your comments. We are pleased to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I do sincerely hope you will accept that the difficulties you experienced due to the closure of our Westin Executive Club certainly do not reflect our normal standards. Unfortunately due to unforseen maintenance in the Westin Executive Club kitchen we had to close the venue on short notice.

During this time breakfast and Canape hour are served in our Ground Floor Restuarant Thirty 7's. Once again, I am sorry for the inconvenience caused and we do hope to welcome you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews