We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay at Westin-capetown!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay at Westin-capetown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel stay was very comfortable and nice.The location of the hotel is very good and its very convenient if you want to visit the water-font.The shuttle service provided by hotel is too good.The rooms are good ,staff is friendly.What I liked about the hotel is the beautiful view of capetown which you get from the room.It is very conveniently located and the food in the hotel is really good.Will certainly prefer to stay in this hotel if I happen to visit capetown once again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashutosh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear ashutosh14

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations, they work very hard to make every guest feel special.

We hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    677
    159
    54
    43
See reviews for
229
712
139
767
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
779 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I am a Platinum SPG member, and have been for a long time. i have stayed at this hotel lots of times, and have asked my staff to arrange meetings/conferences here.

It has an excellent location next to the Cape Town Conventiom Centre and the highway. The rooms and spa and gym is also great. They have apparently now also dealt with the multiple cases of staff theft from guest rooms.

However, on 2 occassions my room key card did not allow me access to my room. Even after the check in (there is no Platinum check, you have to stand in line), I could not access my floor (15). Then last night after dinner, this happened again, and even after giving the security guard mt key card and registration card, he still had to get my name etc before authorising a new key being cut.

This type of thing spoils it all. Also, the staff are generally just average, nothing exceptional as I expect from Westin, where one is usually vowed.

I had to ask for an Afrikaans newspaper at breakfast, this is not usually stocked, despite being the most popular local paper. Breakfast was great.

They also have antiquated coffee machines in the suites, why not get simpler Nespresso machines?

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Gerhard130711964

We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments with regards to your recent stay at the Westin Cape Town.

I was sorry to learn of your concerns regarding the incident with your key card, however due to our guests safety, we are obliged by Starwood procedures to ask for identification prior to issueing new key cards.

Afrikaans Newspapers are requested very seldom, therefore we do not stock them; we have major local Enlgish newspapers available daily and all other local & international newspapers are available on request only.

Our in room coffeemachines have been refurbished recently, these are new models for hotel coffee machines.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

We hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have stayed twice at this hotel on transit through Cape Town. We were upgraded on both occasions and service was amazing - there is nothing they won't do for you. Breakfast in the executive lounge was a real treat with panoramic views over Cape Town. We had no problems with the shuttle service to the waterfront where you can find some excellent restaurants and a great atmosphere.
Both stays our room was spacious and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in - much appreciated after an 11 hour flight from London. On the second stay our upgrade was to a higher level room and this bathroom was amazing, huge bath and walk-in shower and wardrobe.
I find it hard to fault this hotel and our experiences there so I won't. We will not be staying anywhere else whilst in Cape Town and have recommended it to all our fellow travellers who have to transit through this great city. In fact we will be staying again for 4 nights from next Saturday and can't wait to get a taste of 5 star service again!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardwallis74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Richardwallis74

I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and i would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received.

Thank you for chosing Westin and we hope to welcome you again.

The Westin Difference
The Westin Difference makes healthful choices irresistibly appealing – offering innovative programs that ensure our guests feel well rested, well-nourished and well cared for. Westin understands that feeling good flows from a relaxing and comfortable environment where careful attention is given to the most important components of a guest’s stay. At every Westin Hotel and Resort, in the world’s most exhilarating destinations, discerning travelers discover just how good it feels to stay with us

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I have got to say, the westin cape town is truly an amazing property. The hotel decor was nice and warm the rooms are finished really nicely,spacious, and comfortable. They have some of the best veiws of cape town, both water and mountain. When we checked in they upgraded us to a nice corner suite which gave us access to the executive club. I don't know if you can buy access the the club floor, But the dining room on that level is something out of a dream. Surround views are all amazing. Now for the best part. I have never ever seen service like this place. They are so gracious, not overdone or tip contingent. Pure and simple gracious service. For example, we needed to walk to synagogue on Saturday. Since we don't use the car on Sabbath, and we were concerned about walking back late at night, I mentioned it to the guest relations manager christian and he immediately offered to drive out late at night with a security guard who walked back with us a full half hour. Now that's service. He wouldn't even accept a tip or payment for the car to get there. Do not mistake this place for a business hotel. In my opinion this is a top notch hotel for vacationers with superb service. The spa facilities are fantastic as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmo20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Bigmo20000

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that our Duty Managers exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionaly hard to make every guest feel special.

We value your support and hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

State of the art modern, with a well-done breakfast buffet. Close to downtown,with a shuttle to the waterfront restaurant/entertainment area. Few restaurants in safe walking distance at night, but wonderful waterfront views more than compensate. Modern, well-appointed rooms with all the typical Westin luxuries.

We visited while the Executive Floor lounge was being renovated. The alternative arrangements were mediocre, and despite a complaint on Twitter that was followed up by Starwood Preferred Guest, our second night experience was no better. While the renovations will be done by mid-August, the absence of competent service recovery by Westin Cape Town hotel management suggests all is not as it should be.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank boybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear boybanker

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to provide your comments. We are pleased to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I do sincerely hope you will accept that the difficulties you experienced due to the closure of our Westin Executive Club certainly do not reflect our normal standards. Unfortunately due to unforseen maintenance in the Westin Executive Club kitchen we had to close the venue on short notice.

During this time breakfast and Canape hour are served in our Ground Floor Restuarant Thirty 7's. Once again, I am sorry for the inconvenience caused and we do hope to welcome you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed one night in an Executive room to celebrate the 10 year anniversary of the hotel! What an excellent stay! 10 years later and you would think the hotel is still new! Check in was effortless and we got a room on the 17th floor which was spotless.
After checking in we went to the spa, which was gorgeous! The place is so clean and makes you feel relaxed.
However, I booked a 1 hour stress relief massage, but the therapist kept couging and didnt cut her nails, which is unforgivable for a massage therapist - leaving me not so relaxed and disappointed. This left me feeling stressed and irritated actually
After that we went out to watch a show at the Artscape - and came back to a wonderfully turned down bedroom.
The only thing was our complimentary bottle of champagne was delivered warm - bit of a pity as we were really looking forward to it.
The breakfast the next morning was also sensational!
I would stay here again - hotel cannot be faulted! Staff were so friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear StevieJ

Thank you so much for your kind comments, these are greatly appreciated. Customer Care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

I do however apologize for the inconvenience caused with your Spa treatment. I have addressed your concerns with the Executive Manager in charge of the Spa. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, as these will help us with our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Once again we thank you for choosing the Westin and look forward to welcome you again.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for one night, and I enjoyed the hotel,
Location, room, view, lobby....very good!
The breakfast buffet is excellent, wide variety of choices and tastes,

Maybe one night is not enough for a good review, but I'd definitely recommend this hotel for travelers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imed_DZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Imed_DZ

Your kind comments are greatly appreicated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is alwaysd gratifying to receive such praise.

We hope to have you stay with us again - maybe a few days longer - to experience the incredible sites Cape Town has to offer.

The Westin Difference
The Westin Difference makes healthful choices irresistibly appealing – offering innovative programs that ensure our guests feel well rested, well-nourished and well cared for. Westin understands that feeling good flows from a relaxing and comfortable environment where careful attention is given to the most important components of a guest’s stay. At every Westin Hotel and Resort, in the world’s most exhilarating destinations, discerning travelers discover just how good it feels to stay with us.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing