We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #28 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Well this was our 1st stop in South Africa. We stayed here for 4nights 5 days. The hotel is at a very safe location and the 2nd best place 2 stay after Pullman hotel. Hotel provides free shuttle to the waterfront every 15 minutes to & fro. Rooms are very clean and the staff very helpful and always willing to advice. Though while checking out had an issue, which was taken care off. The breakfast served here was really good and upto the standard. They also have good collection of souvenir for sale at there shop. Taxis are easily available from here as its close to the conventional centre and very nice locality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saikiran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Saikiran9

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review of your recent stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Westin Essense
At Westin, everything we do is designed to help you feel your best. From our world-renowned Heavenly® Bed and our nourishing SuperFoodsRx™ dishes, to our energizing WestinWORKOUT and our revitalizing Heavenly® Spa treatments, every element of your stay is created to leave you feeling better than when you arrived. Westin. For a better you.

We hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed two nights in this hotel on a business trip. I very much loved this hotel. I slept very well, it was very quit. The room was spatious and well equipped. The breakfast was superb, even people on a diet can find plenty of things they enjoy. The location is ok, not to far from the harbor and nearby the chamber of commerce. I did not visit the SPA

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SooLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear SooLux

I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know.

Thank you very much for choosing the Westin Cape Town and we hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great hotel. Totally recommend. Rooms were very nice, clean, spacious. I was really comfortable! Rooms had great views of the city too. Hotel staff was extremely helpful in recommending activities and restaurants in the area. (We didn't eat at the hotel since we were in a good location for walking around.)

Interesting story to show how great the staff was at this hotel: During one of our days exploring Cape Town a cab driver offered to be 'driver' for the day. He said he would wait for us at all the places we wanted to go to (Table Mountain, Botanical Garden, lunch stop). He said he'd give us a total cost at the end of the day.... we thought to ourselves, "this is great" but also a little strange....so we called our hotel and told them the situation. They knew immediately who our cab driver was, told us that they know him well, and that we're in good hands. Needless to say, we had a great day in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Jill_L

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We are very happy to hear your trip to Cape Town was a memorable one and appreciate your praises shared with regards to your Cab Driver.

We do hope to welcome you again to the Westin Cape Town when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed at the Westin for three nights while in Cape Town on business. (Third trip to CT) the location is great with a shuttle bus to the V&A Waterfront and your central for table mountain, etc.

My room on the 12th floor was roomy, with a good size bathroom, great shower and plenty of space to hang clothes etc. I had my suit cleaned and the service was good. My colleague is an SPG platinum member so we had breakfast in the lounge on floor 19 where the service was great.

We didn't eat in the hotel, preferring to get the shuttle to the V&A but did have a beer in the bar and the service was good.

Overall a great hotel but it has a very business feel to it and if I was on holiday with my wife I think I stay at the Vineyard in Newlands, which although further out, has nice gardens and a terrace for breakfast etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up so you get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_Welwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Colin_Welwyn

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

Starwood Preferred Guest
Westin is proud to be part of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program, the premier award-winning hotel loyalty program. Members of the SPG program earn valuable Starpoints® across all Westin hotels and resorts as well as Starwood’s eight other distinctive hotel brands. Members can redeem Starpoints for Free Night Awards with no blackout dates or capacity controls at over 1000 hotels and resorts worldwide. Starpoints can also be redeemed toward Award Flights on over 350 airlines, merchandise, and more. Becoming a member is free at spg.com/join

We hope to see you again when next your business travels take you to Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I am here on an SOTC tour with my family. The rooms are well thought out and comfortable. Room service could be a little more helpful though. The hotel is of course well located and the coach to the waterfront is useful. We happened to have lunch at Louis B today and unfortunately the experience wasn't very good. We had ordered 4 pastas and it took more than an hour for the food to arrive. Also the pastas were all bland and had no sauce at all. The hotel staff is helpful and friendly in general. As for the restaurant Thirty7, breakfast was fabulous but the vegetarian indian food at dinner wasnt authentic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garima90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Garima90

I was very pleased to learn that you and your fmaily enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

As tastes vary, we have to try and gauge which types of meals will be popular on any given occasion. We do pride ourselves on being able to accommodate our guests requirements and I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

We do hope we may welcome you again when next your travels take you to our beautiful shores.

A Sensory Welcome
The sensory-rich environment at Westin offers a respite from the rigors of travel and sets a welcoming tone. Upon entering the lobby, guests begin to breathe more easily as they are greeted with soothing elements like relaxed lighting, natural botanical beauty and stimulating music. The signature White Tea by Westin fragrance lightly infuses all common spaces.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Its a mix of things that make this my favourite hotel in Cape Town. The location near the V&A, the amazing views of Table Mountain from the room, the staff and the food qualities. Its very Westin and is one of the main reasons that I like to visit Cape Town. I find the staff very friendly, especially in the Lounge and they always remember me. Makes a difference when you spend a lot of time in hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grantmethis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Grantmethis

Thank you so much for your positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Westin Cape Town.

It is nice to hear that our Westin Executive Club staff exceeded your expectations and we do look forward having you stay with us again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

The Westin Difference
The Westin Difference makes healthful choices irresistibly appealing – offering innovative programs that ensure our guests feel well rested, well-nourished and well cared for. Westin understands that feeling good flows from a relaxing and comfortable environment where careful attention is given to the most important components of a guest’s stay. At every Westin Hotel and Resort, in the world’s most exhilarating destinations, discerning travelers discover just how good it feels to stay with us.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

That is what the hotel helpfully informs us through a notice provided in the bathroom. But according to the warning issued by our tour guide, guests have had even their toothbrushes and hairsprays stolen. Therefore, we were advised to lock everything, including our toothbrushes and combs in our suitcase every time we left the room. This was a royal pain !! Since the hotel knows that their staff are dishonest, they could have provided us with additional keys to a secure cupboard in the room so that we could shove in our toiletries and other knickknacks every time we stepped out of the room. Unpacking and re packing our suitcases every few hours, really took the joy out of traveling.

Apart from this, Westin cape town is typical business hotel, certainly not meant to be stayed in and enjoyed as a part of a family holiday. The rooms are tiny - we were told we were given the "large" family room but it was quite small. The interiors are plain and frankly quite depressing - I would say at a 3 to 4 star level, certainly not 5 star.

The aircon wasn't functioning when we arrived and though we got it repaired it really wasn't cooling very well the three nights we stayed there.

The service is slow and surly. For instance if you ask for some coffee powder you have to wait at least 20 minutes for it, and sometime you even have to remind them once again before they oblige.

The only positives ,I found, about the place are the great breakfasts and the tile warmers in the bathroom !!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank smammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear smammen

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We are sorry to learn of your concerns regarding your recent stay at the Westin Cape Town and at the outset, would like to offer my sincere apologies for the dissapointment you have expressed.

I trust you will accpet that the difficulties your experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards.
I wish to bring to your attention, that all our guests are advised upon check in to make use of the safe in their rooms to safe-keep their valuables. We also offer safes at the Front Desk. The onus to make use of these facilities lies with each guest.

We thank you for staying with us at the Westin and also providing us with your feedback.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,807 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,556 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $201 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing