We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Westin”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel was perfect. The decor, the design, the staff, the buffet beakfasts, the rooms were all outstanding. My ample- sized room had a view of Table Mountain and water. Beds are superb. While the location appealed to business travelers as it's across the street from the convention center, it's also is an excellent hotel for the traveler. It's located within walking distance of the V and A Waterfront as well as the heart of the City of Capetown. The people at the concierge desk were more than helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Susan R

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and look forward to having you stay with us again.

SuperFoodsRx® menu
•SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits.
SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    677
    159
    54
    43
See reviews for
229
710
139
767
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

An awesome hotel to explore the Cape Region. Great view of the harbour and Table Mountain from the rooms. A superb spa facility at the hotel. Free shuttle service round the clock to V&A waterfront makes it extra special. Full buffet breakfast caters to needs of all International tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for the view of the harbour and Table Mountain from the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahipVyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear MahipVyas

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. Thank you for choosing the Westin and we do hope to see you again very soon when next you travel to Cape Town.

The Westin Essense
At Westin, everything we do is designed to help you feel your best. From our world-renowned Heavenly® Bed and our nourishing SuperFoodsRx™ dishes, to our energizing WestinWORKOUT and our revitalizing Heavenly® Spa treatments, every element of your stay is created to leave you feeling better than when you arrived. Westin. For a better you.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was centrally located with a perfect view of the table mountains. The hotel offered free shuttle service to the va waterfront every 15 mins. The staff were polite and helpful and the buffet breakfast was very good

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredvaingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear mk1bykunbi

Thank you very much for the positive review of our hotel.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Capw Town and hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Westin is a great hotel in Cape Town at the end of Long Street and close to V &A Waterfront. If driving, it is also in a convenient location to the N1 and major roadways. Free wifi, cheap parking and an incredible breakfast buffet. The gym is modern and has views of the Waterfront. I only wish I had a room with a view of Table Mountain...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wvinbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear wvinbrooklyn

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.


• To help you pack light and stay fit, we now offer New Balance® shoes and clothing for you to use during your stay for only R50. Simply dial Service Express® and request your shoe and clothing size and they will be conveniently delivered to your guest room. Shoes come with socks that are brand new and yours to keep, and the clothing is provided fresh and clean. Upon departure, simply leave the items in your room in their mesh bag.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Cape Town on Friday through Monday using Starwood points. We had an executive suite (838) and access to the lounge on the 19th floor. The staff was very hospitable and friendly. The hotel is modern and clean. We did not eat in any of the restaurants except the executive lounge and found the food there to be good, though not particularly memorable. The staff was quite nice and helpful. When we checked out, I left the charger to my Mac Air in the room. I called back hoping that they would find it but doubtful they would. To my surprise they found it and had it waiting for me at the front desk. This is the perfect hotel for business people working in the CBD or attending a meeting at the CTICC which is connected to it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Richard N

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

The Westin Difference
The Westin Difference makes healthful choices irresistibly appealing – offering innovative programs that ensure our guests feel well rested, well-nourished and well cared for. Westin understands that feeling good flows from a relaxing and comfortable environment where careful attention is given to the most important components of a guest’s stay. At every Westin Hotel and Resort, in the world’s most exhilarating destinations, discerning travelers discover just how good it feels to stay with us.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during the WEF, Africa. Good rooms, decent gym, good breakfast. Large comfortable bed, large full-facility bathrooms, good closet space etc. only irritation was that wall-plugs were scarce or not proximate to the work desk. Don't understand why business hotels don't pick up on this? The service at the hotel was good - from getting stuff scanned, and couriered to my office in Johannesburg. The Arabella Spa was good - had a very nice 1 hr deep tissue charge for a reasonable USD55... My masseuse was knowledgeable and gave good advice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BloDaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear BloDaJo

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

• To help you pack light and stay fit, we now offer New Balance® shoes and clothing for you to use during your stay for only R50. Simply dial Service Express® and request your shoe and clothing size and they will be conveniently delivered to your guest room. Shoes come with socks that are brand new and yours to keep, and the clothing is provided fresh and clean. Upon departure, simply leave the items in your room in their mesh bag.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had zero expectations of this hotel, thinking it would be a bland "executive" hotel as it is attached to a convention centre. So we were very pleasantly surprised that it was really enjoyable. Very friendly staff, lovely lobby, great view of the coast from our big room (nice bathroom) on the 17th floor and an even better one from the lounge on the 19th floor, where if you have an SPG card you can have an amazing panoramic breakfast. We were travelling with small children and didn't use the spa. Kids aren't allowed in the hotel pool but they offer free vouchers for a local health club instead. There is a shuttle bus to the Waterfront every half an hour which we used several times. It is very easy to drive in and out of the hotel as they have a valet service for only £5 a day - you just call for your car from your room when you want it. All in all, we had a great time and our kids loved it too, which we weren't expecting.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up one facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sqwyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sqwyf

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. We are very happy to hear that your children had a great time as well and we do hope to have you stay with us again, should your travels take you to Cape Town in the near future.


Make a green choice
•The less water, energy and other resources we use, the more there is to go around. Reward yourself with a $5 voucher at participating food and beverage outlets or 500 Starwood Preferred Guest Starpoints® awarded at check out for each night you decline housekeeping services (except day of departure). Conservation matters. Make A Green Choice. Guest is eligible to participate if staying for more than 2 nights and can choose one of the following for every night he declines housekeeping services:
R45.00 credit at F&B or 500 SPG Starpoints® or Donating 500 SPG Starpoints® to UNICEF


be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing