We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Westin is a great hotel in Cape Town at the end of Long Street and close to V &A Waterfront. If driving, it is also in a convenient location to the N1 and major roadways. Free wifi, cheap parking and an incredible breakfast buffet. The gym is modern and has views of the Waterfront. I only wish I had a room with a view of Table Mountain...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wvinbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear wvinbrooklyn

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.


• To help you pack light and stay fit, we now offer New Balance® shoes and clothing for you to use during your stay for only R50. Simply dial Service Express® and request your shoe and clothing size and they will be conveniently delivered to your guest room. Shoes come with socks that are brand new and yours to keep, and the clothing is provided fresh and clean. Upon departure, simply leave the items in your room in their mesh bag.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    687
    161
    53
    44
See reviews for
236
719
140
780
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Cape Town on Friday through Monday using Starwood points. We had an executive suite (838) and access to the lounge on the 19th floor. The staff was very hospitable and friendly. The hotel is modern and clean. We did not eat in any of the restaurants except the executive lounge and found the food there to be good, though not particularly memorable. The staff was quite nice and helpful. When we checked out, I left the charger to my Mac Air in the room. I called back hoping that they would find it but doubtful they would. To my surprise they found it and had it waiting for me at the front desk. This is the perfect hotel for business people working in the CBD or attending a meeting at the CTICC which is connected to it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Richard N

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

The Westin Difference
The Westin Difference makes healthful choices irresistibly appealing – offering innovative programs that ensure our guests feel well rested, well-nourished and well cared for. Westin understands that feeling good flows from a relaxing and comfortable environment where careful attention is given to the most important components of a guest’s stay. At every Westin Hotel and Resort, in the world’s most exhilarating destinations, discerning travelers discover just how good it feels to stay with us.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during the WEF, Africa. Good rooms, decent gym, good breakfast. Large comfortable bed, large full-facility bathrooms, good closet space etc. only irritation was that wall-plugs were scarce or not proximate to the work desk. Don't understand why business hotels don't pick up on this? The service at the hotel was good - from getting stuff scanned, and couriered to my office in Johannesburg. The Arabella Spa was good - had a very nice 1 hr deep tissue charge for a reasonable USD55... My masseuse was knowledgeable and gave good advice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BloDaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear BloDaJo

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

• To help you pack light and stay fit, we now offer New Balance® shoes and clothing for you to use during your stay for only R50. Simply dial Service Express® and request your shoe and clothing size and they will be conveniently delivered to your guest room. Shoes come with socks that are brand new and yours to keep, and the clothing is provided fresh and clean. Upon departure, simply leave the items in your room in their mesh bag.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had zero expectations of this hotel, thinking it would be a bland "executive" hotel as it is attached to a convention centre. So we were very pleasantly surprised that it was really enjoyable. Very friendly staff, lovely lobby, great view of the coast from our big room (nice bathroom) on the 17th floor and an even better one from the lounge on the 19th floor, where if you have an SPG card you can have an amazing panoramic breakfast. We were travelling with small children and didn't use the spa. Kids aren't allowed in the hotel pool but they offer free vouchers for a local health club instead. There is a shuttle bus to the Waterfront every half an hour which we used several times. It is very easy to drive in and out of the hotel as they have a valet service for only £5 a day - you just call for your car from your room when you want it. All in all, we had a great time and our kids loved it too, which we weren't expecting.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up one facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sqwyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sqwyf

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. We are very happy to hear that your children had a great time as well and we do hope to have you stay with us again, should your travels take you to Cape Town in the near future.


Make a green choice
•The less water, energy and other resources we use, the more there is to go around. Reward yourself with a $5 voucher at participating food and beverage outlets or 500 Starwood Preferred Guest Starpoints® awarded at check out for each night you decline housekeeping services (except day of departure). Conservation matters. Make A Green Choice. Guest is eligible to participate if staying for more than 2 nights and can choose one of the following for every night he declines housekeeping services:
R45.00 credit at F&B or 500 SPG Starpoints® or Donating 500 SPG Starpoints® to UNICEF


be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here on a company trip in July 2012.

i decided to write a review because it was so memorable.

All i would like to say that the trip was wonderful as the hotel was a really good choice. It has a great restaurant, fully furnished fitness room, scrumptious breakfast, excellent staff, value for money and a great location.

the room was more than what i expected and i loved the toilet with the heated floor.

it was a nice stay and should i return to cape town, i will definitely stay in the Westin again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Muzzil

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Starwood Preferred Guest
Westin is proud to be part of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program, the premier award-winning hotel loyalty program. Members of the SPG program earn valuable Starpoints® across all Westin hotels and resorts as well as Starwood’s eight other distinctive hotel brands. Members can redeem Starpoints for Free Night Awards with no blackout dates or capacity controls at over 1000 hotels and resorts worldwide. Starpoints can also be redeemed toward Award Flights on over 350 airlines, merchandise, and more. Becoming a member is free at spg.com/join

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Westin is amazing. Great staff, great amenities, great location. We couldn't have asked for a better Westin experience. Everything we needed was taken care of and you can't beat the location. The executive club has an amazing breakfast and the views are breathtaking. On one side you have Tabletop Mountain and on the other the sea. I could have sat up there my entire trip. The servers were good spirited and so kind and patient. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear asouth

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we look forward to welcome you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

The Westin Essense
At Westin, everything we do is designed to help you feel your best. From our world-renowned Heavenly® Bed and our nourishing SuperFoodsRx™ dishes, to our energizing WestinWORKOUT and our revitalizing Heavenly® Spa treatments, every element of your stay is created to leave you feeling better than when you arrived. Westin. For a better you.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights, and were upgraded to an executive suite which gave us access to one of the nicest breakfast I've ever seen, at the lounge, included in the price. Room was excellent except that we were right under the spa and could hear the hot tub every time it was activated but it closed at 10 at night I think, so not really an issue.

We had massages and they were all great. Really enjoyed the spa facilities.

Negatives;
We did not walk anywhere and specially not after dark,and we tried to get the shuttle twice with no success. Once at 6 pm was whe apparently the driver went for dinner so the shuttle was canceled, and once it was full. However a 500 ZAR taxi ride (5USD) did get us everywhere we wanted to go. And there was always a taxi available. And we were lucky enough to be with our son and his wife, and he always sat at the front and paid all the cabs. (lol)

Service in the restaurant was very slow. We ate there one night after a busy day. Menu is also limited.

Having said that, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kisha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Kisha1

Thank you for your postive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,619 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,695 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing