We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at The Westin Cape Town for 3 nights on business. My room was spacious, spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished and very comfortable - I just wish every hotel I visited was like this!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful when I asked questions about the hotel or the local area and the complimentary shuttle bus to the V&A Waterfront is a great service. Colleagues had recommended that I stay at the Radisson Blu, which is on the waterfront; I may well try there if I need to visit again, but I would have no problem at all in staying at the Westin again either.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConfusionCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

DearConfusioncorner

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be Well

Rob Kucera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 2,260 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Westin in Cape Town is truly a magnificent hotel. These days, I'm not inclined to stay with a larger, branded hotel group, but I would return to this Westin. The hotel's service was impeccable, and during my weeklong stay, I encountered nothing that made me think otherwise. In fact, one morning, when an omelette I ordered from room service was taking longer than expected, the service manager called to apologize and say that she didn't like the quality of the first they had made, and she had sent it back to the chef to be redone. That's quality service. The spa/gym/pool area is on the top floor and is something at which to marvel. (Don't miss the view from the sauna.) Overall, the food was excellent, the room was comfortable and well-appointed, and everything else went smoothly.

Thumbs up, Westin.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room, and barring that, a room on one of the upper floors. Good views of the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear mapagr

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionaly hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you agian in the near future.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the WC for five days in April and enjoyed the amenities and the close proximity to most of Cape town. The hotel is designed nicely with friendly staff. There is a small, nice affinity pool on the top floor with beautiful views of the city. Be sure to get the breakfast included option. There is a free shuttle that goes to the waterfront throughout the day we took advantage of. Only two constructive items: improve your internet, it cuts out intermittently and is not to the Starwood quality and speed, and secondly educate staff on the green program. The day when the room was suppose to be cleaned, it wasn't and days I chose not to participate, my room still wasn't cleaned. This was addressed by management later in the evening.

Room Tip: If you're looking for Starwood familiarity and service, then stay. We found Capetown to have wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getupdosomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear getupdosomething

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience caused with your internet connection. We recently upgraded our system to be able to provide a faster and more reliant internet connection and are experiencing some teething problems. We are sure the service will be up and ruinning as it should shortly.

The Make a Green Choice was launched at the Westin Cape Town mid March, I am sorry that your room was not serviced as indicated. Please be assured your feedback has been passed on to the repsective Department head for follow up and action.

Thank you for choosing the Westin Cape Town and we do hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Westin Cape Town is a good hotel to have as a home base for a stay in Cape Town. The rooms are nicely furnished and highly secure. The close proximity to the V and A waterfront with a complimentary shuttle was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was good quality. We took advantage of the area and booked a car/tour through the hotel. We did a tour of Cape Point/Cape of Good Hope and the Wine Country. Our guide, who we highly recommend, was Mansoor Abdullah. He is a South African native and highly knowledgeable about the country. He showed us the beauty of South Africa and the "real" South Africa at our request. If you chose to tour with a private guide, we can highly recommend Mansoor Abdullah. He was outstanding and made our stay in Cape Town so enjoyable yet enlightening at the same time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJKTRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

dear AJKTRK

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear that our travel desk chauffeur drive exceeded your expectation, they work exceptionaly hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to se you in the near future.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is in the business district but within walking distance of the good bars and restaurants in central Cape Town. The service is very good and the breakfast buffet delicious and extensive. The bar has great cocktails and again good service and there is a very regular shuttle service to the V and A waterfront. The pool and jacuzzi have fantastic views and are a great place to relax if you pick a less busy time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graciej78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear graciej78

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Everything at the Westin Cape Town was as it should be - the hotel was clean, the staff appropriately responsive. Our room had a lovely view of the water. The shuttle to and from the waterfront was very convenient. Breakfast was well stocked with many options and good service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennismomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear tennismomma

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and look forward to having you stay with us again, when next your travels take you to our beautiful shoreline.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I have just spent a week in this hotel for a conference, the facilities were great and staff very friendly.

My room was very clean with a good view over the harbour, and I especially liked the layout of the bathroom!

Internet was solid throughout but not overly fast.

Hotel restaurant had many interesting combinations, and portion size was good.

The last day I went for a stroll, the hotel is situated in quite a boring area but I had walked up and down the main streets in no time at all, without the need of a cab.

Nice hotel and nice staff

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beligerent_ghoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear beligerent_ghoul

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,715 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,782 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $225 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing