We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin, not the Bestin but good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The service at Westin Cape Town is definitely not up to par with other Westins or even a 5 star hotel, which is why it has some poor reviews.

The hotel and our room were fantastic - comfortable beds, heated tiled floors, and awesome dual shower heads. The hotel is relatively new, so it is in great shape. The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. The wifi frequently did not work and we would have to call daily for a new password. The business center's computers were slow and useless. Staff response was pretty poor, when we told them the internet was not working they just shrugged. The bed looked like a five-year old made it.

Breakfast at the executive lounge is amazing... fresh and healthy and delicious, with great views of table mountain. the location of the hotel is very good, a 10-15 minute walk from green market square. you can easily obtain a cab, or get the shuttle to the V&A waterfront. the shuttle runs every half hour, and takes about 10-15 minuted to get to the water front. the spa was adequate at best, best to avoid unless you really need an overpriced back rub.

Overall we had a pleasant stay at the Westin, but it's not up to part with other 5-star hotels.

Room Tip: ask for a higher level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CondorBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear CondorBears

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay wuth us at the Westin. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate the feedback you provided. I am truly sorry for the poor internet connectivity during your stay, however in December we changed our internet service provider and are now able to offer our guests a much faster and more reliable system.

I do sincerely hope you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards. There is a standard procedure to make up beds and I am sorry this was not the case. Your comments have been passed on to the Department head for follow up and action.

In-Room Spa Services
Restore energy and relieve stress with a menu of custom treatments developed especially for Westin In-Room Spa services. Guests can indulge in the experience of a soothing spa getaway in the privacy of their own room. Many resort locations also offer peaceful healing in beautifully designed on-site spas where innovative therapies help guests get back to their best selves.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,348 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and this was a great place to stay. Clean, modern, safe, centrally located, shuttle to the waterfront, and all around excellent.

The staff is very professional and the concierge went above and beyond to get us reservations at every restaurant we asked for.

The hotel is also very green with LED lighting and dual flush toilets.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive level so you have access to the happy hour and infinity pool on the 19th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivinInCDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear LivinInCDM

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel the Westin Cape Town.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is located near the Convention Centre. It is a perfect location!
We checked in and we found out we had been upgraded to the Executive floor. The room was spacious, with ocean view, very functional with a spectacular bathroom.
There is free coffee in the room that you can make yourself using a very nice coffee machine.
We had access to the Executive lounge on the 19th floor. The views are amazing! The service is also amazing. We had breakfast there every day, most days enjoying the view of Table Mountain. From 5 to 7 they served canapes and drinks. You can upgrade to the Executive level for a reasonable price. It is well worth it. Breakfast is fantastic. They have a buffet but some of the food items are prepared for you upon request.
They have a beautiful gym, also on the 19th floor and you can work out while enjoying the view. They have a lot of cardio equipment, weight machines and free weights.
There is a spa, which offers free access to the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and the most amazing sauna I have ever been. It is also on the 19th floor, at the corner of the building with glass walls overlooking the V & A Waterfront and the Ocean.
The hotel provides towels for the beach. Also there is a free shuttle to the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, which runs every 1/2 hour until 11:30pm at night.
Guest services are very helpful. They offered us advise on safety, provided us with local information, always with a smile.
We enjoyed our stay at the Westin very much. We highly recommend it! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to upgrade to the executive level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter_DBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Globetrotter_DBA

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

WestinWORKOUT
State-of-the-art and well equipped, the WestinWORKOUT gym helps keep fitness routines active while on the road. Guests can energize with a wide choice of treadmills and bikes for heart-pumping cardio, tone up with strength machines and free weights or flex in open areas for stretching or yoga. This first-class facility also keeps guests hydrated and entertained. Select locations offer customized WestinWORKOUT guestrooms with in-room equipment for all performance levels. The RunWESTIN program provides local running maps for every hotel with three- and five- mile routes. Select properties offer a change of pace with guided ‘discovery runs’ led by a running concierge. RunWESTIN welcomes back all runners with a fresh towel and cold bottled water. During the week 1 to 9 November 2012 all Westin Hotels across the globe will be launching the New Balance gear lending programme where guests can have fresh, clean New Balance shoes and clothing delivered to their room during their stay, allowing them to pack light and stay fit.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I treated a foreign friend to Cape Town and booked herefor four nights from 18th-23th December 2012. I always book a room that allows free access to the Executive Club. I felt a total sense of belonging to this brand when she rated this the best Westin in all her travels. The staff as usual, are always accoodating and in particular, the Zimbabwean gent on night call was competent and courteous and treated us like royalty.
The LOCATION was excellent and for the first time did ot hire a car and used the hotel shuttle to access the waterfront. In order to show her Cape Town, I took the 2day 'hop on hop off' from the ICC, which borders the hotel. Our sightseeing was in this way, readily accessible and without any inonvenience. Furtherore, the staff prepared a breakfast box for us on the day we were unable to take breakfast. By the way, the Egg Benerdict with Salmon for breakfast at the Executive Club is the best I have eaten...

Room Tip: Corner rooms have amazing views and choose mountain and waterfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoziJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear JoziJetsetter

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations, they work exceptionaly hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Starwood Preferred Guest
Westin is proud to be part of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program, the premier award-winning hotel loyalty program. Members of the SPG program earn valuable Starpoints® across all Westin hotels and resorts as well as Starwood’s eight other distinctive hotel brands. Members can redeem Starpoints for Free Night Awards with no blackout dates or capacity controls at over 1000 hotels and resorts worldwide. Starpoints can also be redeemed toward Award Flights on over 350 airlines, merchandise, and more. Becoming a member is free at spg.com/join

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Very comfortable and welcoming hotel, thank you. The entire hotel is beautiful, from the lobby to the lounge to the rooms to the spa.

Room was very nice sized for what I think was a regular room. I had a wonderful panoramic ocean and harbor view. Room was modern, clean, very up to date. Floor security was excellent with inside doors on every floor when exiting the elevators, I felt very safe and secure.

Staff was great with helping me on my first visit to Cape Town, arranging restaurants, tours etc. Convenient shuttle every 15-30 min to Harbor area.

Spa is awesome and the infinity pool and sauna have incredible views and should not be missed.

So thank you for a stay that exceeded expectations,

Room Tip: ask for a harbor/ocean view room. Although those that are on the other side and overlook Table Mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear WorldTravelRod

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Westin Growth
Having established a firm footing and ever-growing presence in North America, Westin is now aggressively migrating around the globe. With an unprecedented opportunity for international growth, the Westin brand is at a pivotal point in its history and quickly establishing itself as an international market leader. Today, more than half of Westin hotels are in the United States, but 90% of the brand’s pipeline is outside the United States. In 2011, Westin will open 12 new hotels worldwide in markets including China, India, Costa Rica, Panama, Mexico, the United States and Canada. The brand’s growth in China is second only to Sheraton among Starwood brands. Already a market leader in Beijing and Shanghai, Westin has seven hotels in China and is poised to more than double its footprint there over the next two years, debuting eight new hotels in key markets including Guangzhou, Xian and Nanjing.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is, without doubt, the best I have stayed in in 2012. The location is great and every aspect of the interior is faultless . The lobby, dining room and spa, as others testify, are all extremely welcoming and the rooms themselves are extra large, well appointed and super equipped. The only minus was the way in which the Internet dipped out from time to time but we were never without it for long. A word of congratulations to the dining room manager and the whole breakfast crew: the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen and all served with efficiency, effectiveness and a willingness to go the extra mile.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robmarshall33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear robmarshall33

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear that our dining room staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

I do however apologize for the interruption of the internet connectivity, during December we upgraded our internet service provider to offer a more reliable and faster speed.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see again very soon when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

From the huge room with walk in closet to the amazing service, this hotel is a must stay at. The breakfast buffet every morning is insane, its a must do, they have everything from sushi to omelets and everything in between. I swam laps everyday on the rooftop pool, and took a sauna too.

Room Tip: the higher the better, the view is insane
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLindes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear TheLindes

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,713 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $222 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing