We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$168
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$115
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$118
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$126
$114
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$740
$418
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
$190
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$538
$427
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$649
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,393)
Filter reviews
2,393 results
Traveler rating
1,351
738
182
71
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,351
738
182
71
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive clubconvention centerexecutive floortop floorfree shuttleheavenly bedtable mountainjuice barindoor poolevery half hourheated floorsattending a conferenceguest servicestravel deskbreakfast buffetexcellent hotelshuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
1,759 - 1,764 of 2,393 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I have just stayed 10 nights in this modern hotel and had an excellent experience.
I have stayed in some of the best hotels worldwide over the years and this hotel is one of them.
This must be one of the finest hotels in Cape Town and I would certainly return if back in Cape Town again.
The breakfast was world class with an amazing selection.The Executive room was very comfortable, spotless and spacious.The bathroom was clean and luxurious.The location of the hotel was very central and only a 10-15 min.walk to the V & A Waterfront,however a complimentary shuttle coach operated every half hour if one decided not to walk.
The staff were extremely helpful and efficient and every request was carried out with a smile.
Nothing was too much trouble.
I would finally like to make a special mention and thanks for the kindness and exceptional service and attention my wife and I received from Natalie Jordaan at Reception.She made our stay most memorable and would return to the Westin for this alone.She is a credit to this hotel.
Thank you Natalie for helping to make this wonderful vacation

Room Tip: Request a Waterfront view
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin_Edith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear Austin_Edith

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear that Natalie exceeded your expectations and I am sure to pass on your positive comments to her Manager. many thanks for this.

We look forward to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Westin Cape Town is a super hotel. My room was lovely and had great views. The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. Service was fantastic, especially the folks in Guest Services who not only took care of my needs, but checked in with me several times to make sure all was well. The breakfast buffet was very good and had a large variety of choices. The spa is excellent and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear dolphoto

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

it was nice to hear that our Guest Services exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make our guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Near the waterfront. Free shuttle to the water front every half hour or a cheap taxi. Rooms are excellent and the service was fantastic. I have already returned once and will do so again. The one issue I had is that the wifi doesn't seem to do well with rooms that are at the ends of the halls.

Room Tip: Call the front desk for an ethernet cable if you are in a room on the end of a hall.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear worldie07

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

Thank you for your comments posted regarding the slow WI-FI connection, we are please to inform you that we have recently upgraded this service to allow for a better Internet experience.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Westin when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We had a conference at the Wetin for over 200 people. This hotel has great potential but was sadly let down by its staff on things that could easily be fixed. There is just no excuse for a buffet lunch with no serving spoons or a cup af tea that takes 35 min to arrive after lunch. The room keys were a nightmare - often not working in either the floor door or the room door.

Room Tip: People had problems with aircon and hot water on the lower floors
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear CathrynSouthAfrica

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

I do apologize for the service deficiencies you experienced when conferecing with us. Your comments have been passed on to the the Director of Food & Beverage for follow up and action.

Once again many thanks for taking the time and posting your issues.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

ALthough this hotel is mainly used for business my wife and I stayed here on holiday. The atmosphere, rooms, breakfast is world class!

The spa facilities are awesome especially the water beds! I would def reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Dear MHD85

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your time with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay.

sincerely,
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews