We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Ranked #54 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Absolutely no complaints about this hotel. We had a fantastic stay here. It is a clean and modern hotel with rooms furnished and equipped with all the comforts and needs. The buffet breakfasts were amazing and the staff were attentive and helpful. The location is excellent with the V&A Waterfront and many places in city center within walking distance. There are several restaurants and supermarkets within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear sicamous

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront and for pointing out some our very unique selling points, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will be sure to pass on all your feedback to the hotel STAFF. Please keep an eye on our website,where I am sure you will be able to find great deals.
We thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    292
    99
    23
    14
See reviews for
55
264
36
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Location is very good only a cheap taxi ride to the Water Front with Shopping, Bars, Restaurants
and a Brewery who not only serve good beer but excellent food. The hotel is very clean with a strange pool ! My one complaint would be security, as there was a incident when we were there, the person walked in off the street and went up a few floors with out being picked up. This in turn made us feel insecure and yet this should have been the most secure hotel. The staff were very pleasant and the room was lovely, large and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillips52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Phillips52
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront and for pointing out some our very unique selling points, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We review all GUEST feedback as it is vital tool for us use to improve the areas where we are falling short and to ensure we are meeting our GUESTS every expectation. In the matter of security, we at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront do our utmost to ensure the safety of our GUESTS. We are aware of the incident you have mentioned and the matter is currently being investigated by our Security management, local law enforcement and police.
We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a really fantastic stay here. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. They went the extra mile and had a room ready for us very quickly after arriving as we were early for normal check in. Although they did laugh when my wife and walked into the foyer looking like drowned rats when we had been caught in the hail stones! Mind you it was quite funny and we soon dried out in our lovely room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear LynJ52,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront and for pointing out some our very unique selling points, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service. We will ensure that our Front Office STAFF will have an umbrella for you on your next stay – should it be raining outside.

Your comments much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again soon.

Kind Regards

Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Spacious and modern rooms. Flawlessly clean and well equipped. Not in the very center of the city, but mostly everything in walking distance or accessible by taxi at very low prices. Helpful and friendly staff. For shure We'll come again...

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CGN1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear CGN1311,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront and for pointing out some our very unique selling points, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We review all GUEST feedback as it is vital tool for us use to improve the areas where we are falling short and to ensure we are meeting our GUESTS every expectation. We are glad you were able to benefit from Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront’s location.

We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is very well located in a decent neighborhood. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the waterfront, or a five minute $4 cab ride or free shuttle.
The hotel is modern with a nice lobby and very nice rooms. The halls and rooms have some exposed brick giving it an interesting look.
Excellent breakfast.
But the service is very poor.
One night they forgot our wake up call; next night called at wrong time. One night had trouble with shuttle pick up. My room safe did not have a door on it. When I advised them of it, they said it would be taken care of immediately. Never got taken care of.
The service at South African hotels in general is not up to par, but in this hotel it was simply very poor.
With decent service, I would have given it 5 stars.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RScharfer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear RScharfer9,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront. We review all GUEST feedback as it is vital tool for us use to improve the areas where we are falling short and to ensure we are meeting our GUESTS every expectation.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our GUESTS were able to take advantage of our location with regards to our proximity from the V&A Waterfront, restaurants & bars and the many local attractions. Please be advised that your issues have been addressed with the Front Office TEAM to ensure incidents like these do not reoccur.

We hope to be welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront soon and allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves; we welcome another opportunity to show you Protea hospitality at its best.

Kind Regards

Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a fun, "industrial-feel" hotel in a fabulous city! The room was a perfect size for the amount of time we were in it (which was not much. Too much to see.) Plus a wonderful breakfast, including anything (and everything) one would ever want. I highly recommend the Victoria Junction.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Susan B
Thank you for your great review about your recent stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront.
GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. We are delighted you enjoyed our full English Buffet for breakfast!
Your comments are much appreciated, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction again soon!
Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a surburban stay in Johannesburg, it was nice to have an urban stay. The hotel was well situated and walkable. It is a modern, loft environment. The rooms were modern, clean with nice amenities. Although they mention free wifi, it is limited and seems to have intermittent periods. The best thing is the breakfast buffet. Wow! So much food variety and choice, plus omelettes to order. I thoroughly enjoyed it. If given the opportunity, I would stay there again. It is a little noisy because of the urban location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear tep1

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are delighted to receive your compliments about breakfast and we will certainly congratulate the TEAM you commended for their exemplary service. We are glad you made use of the 500MB of free Wi-FI daily.

Your comments are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again soon.
Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 109 in Cape Town Central
976 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#57 of 109 in Cape Town Central
333 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#80 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#85 of 109 in Cape Town Central
203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Address: corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town's trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction's location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience - breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon's Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing