We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Whe we have been there, after a very dissapointing trip to Langebaan, we enjoyed the atmosphere very much. Friendly staff, nice rooms fully equipped. Nice flat screen tv. US/European standard. You won't complain. And the price for a double room was absolutely ok for an expensive city like Cape Town. Never had really complains with Protea Hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Elvira

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront.
Thank you for pointing out some of our very unique selling points, we are delighted you made use of our in-room facilities. The hotel underwent an extensive reservation in 2011, but was opened in 1996. We especially kept some of the features that we believe make the VJ unique during the renovation – so we are glad you enjoyed it. We review all GUEST feedback as it is vital tool for us use to improve the areas where we are falling short and to ensure we are meeting our GUESTS every expectation.
We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    288
    99
    23
    14
See reviews for
53
262
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a good hotel to stay in the room were well kept and the public areas were good. The staff were on the whole helpful and pleasant some particularly in the dining and bar areas were extremely good the one drawback was that the menu for dinner was restricted and although fine for a couple of nights could have done with a daily special.
Would use it again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAG280244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear EAG280244
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront. We review all GUEST feedback as it is vital tool for us use to improve the areas where we are falling short and to ensure we are meeting our GUESTS every expectation.
We are glad you made use of our in-house restaurant and will definitely discuss a possible daily special for our longer staying GUESTs.
We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

New hotel and rooms in excellent conservation state, international breakfast with good options, polite and helpful staff, free shuttle for V&A Waterfront harbor shopping at 19:00,20:30,22:00, nice shopping and gastronomic options nearby, although prices are not affordable as well as other South African cities such as Johannesburg and hoedspruit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Manalex133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Manalex133

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront.
Location is everything for a hotel, to be on the V&A Waterfront and so close to all the other major attractions only reiterates the fact that we do have, location!
GUEST feedback is our yard stick to gage where we are getting things right, and most importantly where we can improve, we will continue to strive towards maintaining and improving our standards.
We thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting family. The hotel is in a very good position, only a short walk to Kloof St and the V&A Waterfront. A free shuttle runs in the evening to the V&A and there are always taxies outside the hotel. The room was very comfortable, although if you are worried about noise ask for one at the back. Our breakfast was not included in the tariff. The breakfast was usual Protea fare, fresh fruit, cereal, cooked etc. The only downside was the coffee - yuk. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamjarJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear jamjarJohannesburg

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront.
We are delighted you made use of our daily shuttle. We review all GUEST feedback as it is vital tool for us use to improve the areas where we are falling short and to ensure we are meeting our GUESTS every expectation. Please be assured that we will communicate your feedback through to our STAFF and Management TEAM in order to not only meet, but exceed GUESTS expectations.
We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here for two night on a business trip. I think the big selling point for this hotel is the great location. It is walking distance to the Cape Quarter (I would have walked if it was not raining). It is also a short drive from the stadium, V&A Waterfront, Virgin Active gym and areas like Kloof Street.

Wifi was complimentary, but breakfast was not included in my rate, so maybe check that.
The check in staff was very friendly and helpful. I felt very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SATraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear SATraveller25

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are always happy to receive such positive feedback and will certainly pass it on to our TEAM. It is always a pleasure to hear that our GUESTS were able to take advantage of our location with regards to our proximity from the V&A Waterfront, restaurants & bars and the many local attractions.
We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future
Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff greets guests with offers of soft drinks and pleasant smiles. The interior of the hotel looks like it was originally a historic building with exposed rustic brick, but I didn't think to ask about that to confirm.

The room was comfortable. The clock had a dock for an iPod, which was nice.

As others have said, the hotel is nicely located in close proximity to the V & A Waterfront. There are also interesting restaurants nearby and a nice, small mall complex with a speciality grocery store with cooked food and a nice selection of wines and baked goods.

Overall, very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seashelltrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear seashelltrvl,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront and for pointing out some our very unique selling points, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.

The hotel underwent an extensive reservation in 2011, but was opened in 1996. We especially kept some of the features that we believe make the VJ unique during the renovation.
We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Accompanied my husband on a business trip to CPT and was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Very friendly staff, from the Reception team to the Cleaning crew, they were always quick to greet and always smiling. Nice size room, very comfortable bed (king) and shower was a delight - loads of steaming hot water and great volume shower. We never used the hotel bar and restaurant - not much of a vibe. My only gripe with the room was that there was no shelving in the double cupboard (only hanging space) which meant that we had to live out of our suitcases! I was pleased to see that they offer a free shuttle service to the V&A Waterfront in the evenings.Location is great for V&A Waterfront and downtown city centre but also quick and easy to get on the freeway for trips to winelands, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Kathy M,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their service.

We review all GUEST feedback as it is vital tool for us use to improve the areas where we are falling short and to ensure we are meeting our GUESTS every expectation.
We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#80 of 109 in Cape Town Central
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#84 of 109 in Cape Town Central
200 reviews
1.1 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Address: corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town's trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction's location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience - breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon's Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing