We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, good location but lacks polish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Ranked #53 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Affordable, good location but lacks polish”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hotel has had a major refurbishment since I was last here in 2009 and is quite tastefully decorated. The location is great - just a 10 min walk from the Waterfront and close to a good selection of restaurants in its own right. Stayed here for 7 nights on a work trip in November 2011. My husband accompanied me on this trip and the hotel put us in a room with twin beds, which couldn't be changed and was quite disappointing. Beds were moderately comfortable. Bathrooms were nice, good work space and nice tv. Internet however was very, very slow. Overall the rooms were nice however the entire air conditioning unit was in the room so this created a very, very, very noisy nights sleep. I wore ear plugs and pretended I was sleeping on a plane. There wasn't an option to open the windows as our room was on the road and so it was just as noisy. Reception staff were mostly good, though there were a few rude exceptions. That said, the breakfast was phenomenal and the restaurant staff were great. A colleague used the gym facilities and said they were good though there wasn't water available. Overall the hotel offers good value for money and certainly is pleasant, it just lacks a little polish.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GogglesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Gogglesman,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction on TripAdvisor - we appreciate the feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not manage to exceed your every expectation. I assure you that we will make work of the aspects of our operation that need attention and I certainly hope you will provide us another opportunity in future to show you that we took your comments to heart and improved as a result of them! Thank you again and best regards.

Pieter Buitendag
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    295
    99
    23
    14
See reviews for
55
266
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed at the Protea from the 28th to the 30th November2011, and could not fault it for the cleanliness of its rooms, and the facilities provided in them. The breakfast each day was such, that I doubt that anybody could fault it. For young people, the harbourside is only a ten minute walk away, but for us "oldies" a short taxi trip for a very reasonable price was just the ticket.
Cape Town is such a wonderful city, and for us, staying at The Protea Hotel just made the holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank culinaire2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Culinaire,

Thank you so much for taking time out to post such wonderful comments about the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction! We really appreciate it! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

With best regards,
Pieter Buitendag
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in Nov 2011 as part of a Riveria Tour of South Africa. The room was spotless complete with safe and a sony LCD TV. The location was very good, a taxi cost us 30 Rands to the V and A waterfront. In the room you have a writing desk complete with an ipod compatible speaker system / alarm clock and 1 UK 240v socket. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of hot and cold choices. You could ask the chef to cook egg dishes to suppliment the bacon and sausages from the buffet. Our room had a side view of table mountain and was not noisy. It was on the 4th floor. I would reccomend this hotel to others

Room Tip: Room 404 was quite and had a side view of table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_happyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Mr_Happy Man,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction on TripAdvisor! We appreciate the feedback so much! We love having the Riviera Tour Series with us and it was great to read that you enjoyed the Hotel! Hopefully you will visit Cape Town, South Africa and the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction again some day!

best regards,
Pieter Buitendag
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Hotel is in a great location, easy to gain access to the city and site seeing, staff very helpful and friendly.
Definitely stay there again when I’m back in South Africa

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klipvissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed here for two nights at the end of a trip to South Africa.
- we paid for a premium room which is actually no different at all to the standard rooms but carry a £60/$90 increase to your nightly room rate....the only difference? The premium rooms are on the 'quieter' side of the hotel. How did we find out? They checked us in to the standard room first which when questioned if this was a premium room, they apologised and said they made a mistake. When moving us across the corridor, the room is actually no different! This is a complete con and they will try and get away with anything, the website doesn't highlight this either.
So good:
- comfortable well appointed rooms if a bit small
- clean
- good location
Not good:
- expensive for South Africa with a quality level below that of other accomodation in Cape Town
- charge you for car parking which they don't tell you on check in
- impersonal check in getting the room wrong with misleading advice
- more a business hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick,
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is an ideal hotel for Cape town. Situated on the north side within about 20 minutes easy walk of the Waterfront and similar to the main town. A very business-like hotel, with good, friendly, staff, good facilities, excellent breakfast. Clean rooms and reception, not luxurious, but very comfortable.
One very small irritation was that although there were always half a dozen staff near and around reception, I was kept waiting for some time to deal with a small query one morning even though there were at least that number of staff behind the desk, most of whom were doing nothing. However on another occasion a failed key was dealt with quickly and effectively.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracerWarwick_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Spent two nights in the most gorgeous loft room in Victoria Junction. It was very unique with the living area being on the lower level with steps leading up to the Mezannine bedroom. Any hitches from the renovation had been sorted out and we had no complaints whatsoever. Loved the Nespresso machine in the room! Staff were great and breakfasts left nothing to be desired. We ate in the restaurant one night. The menu is brief but it does cover all tastes and was delicious.
We will have no problem in recommending Victoria Junnction and will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a loft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#56 of 109 in Cape Town Central
339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#85 of 109 in Cape Town Central
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Address: corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town's trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction's location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience - breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon's Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing