We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Recommended Stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Ranked #57 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I rate very highly this recently upgraded hotel. The staff were helpful , attentive and they were determined to make the stay an enjoyable one. The rooms were spacious and clean and the room safe was an added bonus. Breakfasts were were excellent and the a la carte meals were of a high standard. Nothing was too much trouble. Most people tried the local restaurants. The restaurant had a little bit of a canteen feel - but do not let that fool you as the food is top quality. The Hotel is 15 minutes good walk to the Cape Town Waterfront. Taxis cost about 40 -50 Rand. Make sure you take a metered taxi - there unregistered taxis claiming to be the hotel shuttle. Ignor them as they overcharge.
I think everyone was delighted with the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnHull73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 667 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

First rate rooms if somewhat masculine style but good facilities with nice restaurant facilities, staff very friendly. Close enough to walk to city and or Victoria and Alfred docks.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Dear Benwhit,
Thank you very much for posting your comments about the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction on Trip advisor. We appreciate that you took time to do so and appreciate the comments you made!
We hope to see you in Cape Town and at the Hotel again soon!

Best regards,
Pieter Buitendag
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

The hotel re-opened at the beginning of the September and looks great. Our bedroom overlooking the football stadium was large, spotless and had a flatscreen tv with all the sports channels - there were a couple of teething problems, leaking shower and safe which hadn't been wired up. Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice and a large vegetarian section. The hotel is within easy reach of the V&A waterfront and the city centre. We were advised to book a taxi to travel after dark which we did - to be fair we were pestered by beggars during the day when out walking - but, this is my only gripe with the hotel, the 'taxi' would arrive immediately - impressive until you realised it was one of the hotel staff's limos and you were then charged 40 rands for the first passenger and 20 each for the rest of the group, making a short journey for four 100 rand(dearer than London?)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Dear DHC8,

Thank you for the comments you posted about the Hotel on Tripadvisor! We love receiving feedback and criticism as it allows us to affect positive change. Thank you for the compliments you paid the Hotel. IN relation to the teething problems - we are working hard to get those last couple of snags seen to.
In relation to your comment about the transfers the following - the taxi's at the Hotel most certainly do not belong to any of the STAFF. This is an outsourced contract with a professional entity in the transport business. I do however value your comments about the pricing and we will engage with the supplier on this basis! I am sure you will notice a positive change following your valuable comments on your next visit to South Africa and the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction! We look forward to seeing you again!

best regards,
Pieter Buitendag
General Manager
pieter@victoriajunction.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This hotel had just been open 1 day after extensive renovation and in my opinion still had to find its heart and soul. I cannot fault the rooms - they were urban and hip with desk, ipod dock, flatscreen tv, tea/coffee making facilities, perfect lighting etc. The restuarant lacked atmosphere but was excellent value and the food tasted lovely.

The location of this hotel is perfect - only 5 minutes to the V&A and downtown markets. A very handy (large) Spar which had everything is only two minutes down the road and was houses in a lovely small mall.

Very functional contemporary hotel - great for business not so good for an intimate hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shopaholic1980_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Dear Shopaholic1980_3,
Thank you so much for your review of the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - we really appreciate your feedback and I assure you that now that the dust is settling after the refurbishment we're working hard on refining our GUEST experiences!
Thank you for staying with us and we certainly hope to see you again in future!

Best regards,
Pieter Buitendag
General Manager
pieter@victoriajunction.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Victoria Junction was newly renovated it September 2011 and its very hip, urban and contemporary. It was a really cool surprise to have such a nice hotel during our visit to Cape Town, SA. Very close to the waterfront and downtown shopping markets. Great breakfast buffet too!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pipsquek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I travel often and found this hotel to be one of the best regarding service. Everyone on staff went overboard to help. The service at breakfast is fantastic, and there is a vast selection of food offered. I was in awe when I walked down the stairs from the first floor to the breakfast room to see a view that was like no other. I could have stayed in a single spot all day. I am eager to return to Capetown and when I do, I plan to stay in this hotel. Proteas overall are a fantastic chain!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jms31880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Very comfortable stay, rooms are spacious, breakfast is good. Staff is amazing. Great service. Location is superb. 10 min walk from waterfront.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manish3859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,076 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#89 of 112 in Cape Town Central
219 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#82 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,032 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Address: corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#52 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $137 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town's trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction's location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience - breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon's Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing