We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Backpack
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cape Milner(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fritz Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
An African Villa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Long Street Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Cape Town Hollow(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Happy Rhino Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveler rating
472
193
41
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
193
41
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetfair tradetable mountainprivate bathroombed dormtownship tourcommon areasrooms are cleanenjoyed my stayfelt very safethe location is perfectkloof streetstayed here for nightsstay in cape townsouth africahome away from homehostel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 730 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The backpack comprises a number of small adjoining buildings with lovely plants and trees and lots of well appointed common rooms. The staff are really nice and the hostel attracts a wide range of guests. The location is pretty good, around 2km from the business district and with lovely views to table mountain. The common bathrooms are clean and well furnished and the overall feel of the hostel is positive, due mainly to the staff who are great. The hostel is safe: security guard, gates and loads of lockers.

However given the rooms are well above market rate for a hostel (600ZAR single room without en suite), the owner really needs to invest in air conditioning for his/her guests. My last night was sleepless due to the temperatures over the summer - entirely unnecessary. Some of the most expensive rooms already have aircon so it clearly could be provided to all guests. Of course, this won't be an issue for those travelers visting in the winter months, where hot water bottles and blankets are available.

Those who are hoping for a cheap hostel bar may be better looking elsewhere, the most expensive beer and soft drinks I had in my entire stay at cape-town (inc. bars in the touristy long-street area) was at the hostel....still, this may not apply to the entire bar menu while some guests might see this as a positive - keeping the mayhem outside the hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and enjoyed the amenities on offer.

It is unfortunate that you stayed here while there was a heat wave in Cape Town. We will definitely be looking into addressing the air conditioning during the hot months.

In keeping with our good business journey and Fair Trade accreditation, we choose to support local suppliers, which is why we only stock craft beers from microbreweries, which is more expensive due to producing smaller amounts with no preservatives.

We hope to welcome you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Being our first stay at a backpacker I must admit that our stay at The Backpack was truly an unforgettable experience, absolutely loved it! We won't forget Steve Bhiko room on the upper floor with amazing view of Table Mountain. The staff are very friendly and helpful and after one week's stay, it started to feel like home. Excellent location with good proximity to Camps Bay, Clifton Beach and of course, Table Mountain. If you looking for a decent yet affordable holiday, just go to The Backpack!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gilbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for a great review! We look forward to seeing you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our stay at the backpack was aaa-ma-zing, going back there in two weeks, absolutely loved it! The staff is very friendly and helpful & after staying there for two weeks, it felt like home. Good location, nearby camps bay, clifton beach and ofcourse, table mountain. If you're still doubting, just go to the backpack! A pleasant stay is guaranteed!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for reviewing us. It's always a great compliment when our guests feel at home.

We are indeed fortunate to be centrally located with easy access to Table Mountain, beaches, restaurants and nightlife.

Hope you are enjoying your travels, we look forward to seeing you again in a few weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here with a friend in a private room with ensuite which was always immaculately clean and well presented! The staff were super friendly and always willing to guide you on the best ways to explore the city most effectively during your stay! The location was handy for the local bars etc, although we still would get a taxi which the hostel organised for us! Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a nice, clean and reasonable place to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lollamallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and found the staff friendly and helpful.

Looking forward to welcoming you in Cape Town again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

The Backpack was a nice place to stay in Cape Town, close walking distance to the downtown area and Long St. The staff is very friendly, and it's nice to have a bar on site.

However, we were not pleased with the cleanliness of our room. We constantly had ants in our bathroom (on the top floor!), and even after informing the staff the problem was never fixed. The staff did not change our towels or sheets for our entire stay (5 nights).

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ecuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay.

During hot and humid weather ant infestations are more likely, we have since brought this under control.

An investigation has been logged into our booking system's functionality, as we pull a daily report for cleaning and room servicing. It is set up to change bedding every second day.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the area, staff and bar and trust that you will have a more enjoyable stay next time you're in Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews