We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay was great but...”
Review of The Backpack

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Backpack
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay was great but...”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I went to CT with my girlfriend and while we were waiting for the receptionist, a couple from Germany had not realised how much it actually was for a room. They had not budgeted enough money for the room they booked thinking for the room and not per person. They asked if they could use the phone to call and find other accommodation, however the receptionist said yes but we will have to charge you. Now i understand you can't just go letting everyone that stays there free access to your phones, but i thought the backpackers could have been a bit more accommodating for our foreign visitors. Perhaps one free call... (not for everyone, but in that circumstance) Otherwise its a great place to go, id recommend it to anyone passing through CT!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarryd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hostel to be an awesome spot.

On normal circumstances, we wouldn't charge those guets for that phone call. It is unfortunate that they were charged. Perhaps it was an accident by a trainee on duty that day. We will be aware of making sure it doesn't happen again though.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    186
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
114
253
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I can really recommend the Backpack hostel. It is nice, clean and has a friendly atmosphere. Me and my friend stayed in a private room with shared bathroom. The room was a bit small but very clean and cosy and nicely decorated, with a private safe and coffee and tea making facilities. The bathroom was just across the hall, so that was very easy. We were a bit away from the bar area so we didn't have any noise problems (if there were any?) The staff is very helpfull and so friendly! The kitchen area is big and clean. There is also a shared dining room with computers and some more safes and a tv room. Wifi is free around the reception and bar. The area is great and feels very safe, it just a few streets away from Kloof street, which has lots of trendy bars and restaurants, shops and a big supermarket. We stayed at another hostel on Long street afterwards and that was not nearly as nice as the Backpack...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely glad to haer that you were happy with the services and standard of your room and the hostel. We pride ourselves in giving the best service possible to all our guests especially when it comes to the house-keeping side of the establishment.

The location is an awesome spot. Close enough to the night life, but far enough away that you can get a good nights sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Staff is amazing the rooms are awsome, u get served fare trade coffe and by simply staying there u r supporting the community projects they raise. Lucas is the guy if u want to explore Cape Towns nightlife and is always up for a joke. They have a dicent travel desk where u can book almost everything u like to do. Keep it going lot´s loved it!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed the Fairtrade Coffee that we serve in our cafe.

It is awesome to hear that you were happy with the services probided by the staff, especially Lucas.

We look forward in welcoming you in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I really loved this place. It was very upscale and everyone was friendly and nice. I splurged and had the private ensuite room. The bed was so comfy and the front desk helped me get a taxi to the waterfront and got me a good price as well. I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anyone wishing to have a nice getaway. I was here in May so it was quite quiet, but I can imagine it being busy in the high season. It was close to everything and I felt very safe staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNU10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Cape Town.

We are fortunate to have a taxi company that works directly with us so we know that the rates you will be paying are really good.

We hope that you will visit us in the future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Helpful, professional, friendly staff. From the moment you arrive the security guard, cafe/bar, and reception staff will make you feel safe n stress free. Big n beautiful building with tons of space, beautifully landscaped, clean, new linens, fully equipped kitchen, extra safes, free wifi, activity centre, parking, laundry service, and an overall great vibe.
My buds in surrounding hostels all wanted to come here! Perfect location, very central and just a block up from Long St. The RED BUS stop is just a few blocks up. Ask the amazing reception for more details
If you like quiet time before midnight I'd suggest email reception/calling before you come and requesting a accommodation away from the cafe/bar/reception.
I

Room Tip: Book accommodation away from the cafe/bar and reception if your a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FortMcMurrayJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that even your friends at other places wanted to stay at our hostel.

We always strive to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible and we are happy to hear that you happy with the services provided by our frontdesk staff.

We look forward in welcoming you in the near future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the backpack for 2 nights during a recent trip to Cape Town and simply have to recommend it as THE BEST place to stay for any young or young-at-heart travelers.
The staff are fantastic, the facilities are all spotless and the retro funky decode immediately makes you feel like you've found an oasis of like minded travelers all eager to offer advice and stories from their recent travels.
Don't forget to look up their "making a difference" campaign and pack some extras from home to donate to their charities - it's a great initiative, a top ace to stay and I can't wait to get back

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room I the quite side of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickys_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel.

It is lovely to hear that you heard about some of our projects we support and it is awesome that you could assist with donating items.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Hill, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Overall quite happy, we booked a private room with ensuite. Room was lovely and clean, definately worth the extra cost. We only stayed for 2 nights. Food at the Backpacker was a little pricey, better off eating elsewhere. We noticed most people making their own meals as the kitchen facilities are great. Located nearby is a great supermarket where you can stock up on supplies and even meals.

The location is great! Would definately recommend. Only real complaint the front desk staff were not very helpful, everyone seems to be a little too relaxed with matters. No one really going out of their way to help you or to offer some advice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with the frontdesk staff. They normally are always keen to talk to guests about trips or tours or even about where to go in Cape Town.

The hostel is cool in that it allows you to have self-catering options should you wish not to purchase breakfasts in the cafe.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#36 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Property: The Backpack
Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing