We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Backpack

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Backpack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I really loved this place. It was very upscale and everyone was friendly and nice. I splurged and had the private ensuite room. The bed was so comfy and the front desk helped me get a taxi to the waterfront and got me a good price as well. I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to anyone wishing to have a nice getaway. I was here in May so it was quite quiet, but I can imagine it being busy in the high season. It was close to everything and I felt very safe staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNU10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Cape Town.

We are fortunate to have a taxi company that works directly with us so we know that the rates you will be paying are really good.

We hope that you will visit us in the future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 715 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Helpful, professional, friendly staff. From the moment you arrive the security guard, cafe/bar, and reception staff will make you feel safe n stress free. Big n beautiful building with tons of space, beautifully landscaped, clean, new linens, fully equipped kitchen, extra safes, free wifi, activity centre, parking, laundry service, and an overall great vibe.
My buds in surrounding hostels all wanted to come here! Perfect location, very central and just a block up from Long St. The RED BUS stop is just a few blocks up. Ask the amazing reception for more details
If you like quiet time before midnight I'd suggest email reception/calling before you come and requesting a accommodation away from the cafe/bar/reception.
I

Room Tip: Book accommodation away from the cafe/bar and reception if your a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FortMcMurrayJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for the review on Tripadvisor.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that even your friends at other places wanted to stay at our hostel.

We always strive to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible and we are happy to hear that you happy with the services provided by our frontdesk staff.

We look forward in welcoming you in the near future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the backpack for 2 nights during a recent trip to Cape Town and simply have to recommend it as THE BEST place to stay for any young or young-at-heart travelers.
The staff are fantastic, the facilities are all spotless and the retro funky decode immediately makes you feel like you've found an oasis of like minded travelers all eager to offer advice and stories from their recent travels.
Don't forget to look up their "making a difference" campaign and pack some extras from home to donate to their charities - it's a great initiative, a top ace to stay and I can't wait to get back

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room I the quite side of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trickys_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel.

It is lovely to hear that you heard about some of our projects we support and it is awesome that you could assist with donating items.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Overall quite happy, we booked a private room with ensuite. Room was lovely and clean, definately worth the extra cost. We only stayed for 2 nights. Food at the Backpacker was a little pricey, better off eating elsewhere. We noticed most people making their own meals as the kitchen facilities are great. Located nearby is a great supermarket where you can stock up on supplies and even meals.

The location is great! Would definately recommend. Only real complaint the front desk staff were not very helpful, everyone seems to be a little too relaxed with matters. No one really going out of their way to help you or to offer some advice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with the frontdesk staff. They normally are always keen to talk to guests about trips or tours or even about where to go in Cape Town.

The hostel is cool in that it allows you to have self-catering options should you wish not to purchase breakfasts in the cafe.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Clean and gorgeous, this place is the perfect landing spot after a long flight. I booked my own private room for the night and loved the double bed and my own bathroom. It was nice and clean and there was free wi-fi! The place seemed always busy and the front desk was really helpful and helped answer my million questions and also helped me book a day trip. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you had an awesome stay with us in Cape Town.

Our house-keeping ladies always work extra hard to make sure that our rooms are kept the standard that our guests expect. It is lovely to hear that those expectactions were met for you with your room.

The frontdesk team are always happy to answers questions that guests may have and we are always willing to book trips or tours for guests staying with us.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

First Time in Cape Town, Picked up from Airport as it was a late flight, everyone at the Hostel were friendly and helpful. The service was amazing and the atmosphere was excellent and fun. The view of Table Mountain whilst you had breakfast was outstanding. The Hostel was safe and they also look after your car.....Worth Every penny

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benisa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Cape Town. We are always striving to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible while at The Backpack.

The location of the hostel, especially when eatting in the cafe area is divine, we are very fortunate to have an awesome view of Table Mountain.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hostel in the future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with the backpack on and off for two weeks in December. It was super hard to book a room because it was alway sooo busy! I guess that's a good thing, but when you are stranded it doesn't help! Great atmosphere, I found that it was a chill vibe during the day and a party place at night. A bit of a older crowd were there around the time I was, which was fine! The staff were helpful ad friendly. It was SO CLEAN!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on the nights you managed to get a bed in the hostel. This is a busy time at The Backpack, so getting a bed isn't always easy.

Our housekeeping department work extremely hard at ensuring that the hostel is always kept as clean as possible. We want our guests to have the best stay possible and the housekeeping team play a BIG part in that.

We like to believe we are a non-agist hostel, so it is always exiciting to see what type of crowds you will meet around the communal areas. Everyone has different stories and adventures to share and it makes for a cool group normally to party with.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the hostel in the future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 129 in Cape Town Central
745 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 129 in Cape Town Central
520 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 129 in Cape Town Central
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 129 in Cape Town Central
400 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 129 in Cape Town Central
551 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 129 in Cape Town Central
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $33 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Africa's original award-winning Fair Trade hostel and travel shop, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban designer hostel. Private or Shared rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, electronic safes and in-house ATM. FREE fibre WiFi through the hostel. Swim in the pool with a view of Table Mountain, meet like-minded international travelers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, singles, twins and family rooms. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing