We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Backpack

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Backpack
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here in Dec 11 - Jan 12. We loved it! Very clean rooms, great, quiet location, beautiful view of the mountain, friendly staff and a nice little restaurant/bar located in the hostel. Within easy walking distance to Long Street. You do have to pay for wifi, though - but it's quite reasonable.

Couldn't have been better. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessielinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Backpack.

Kind Regards

Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    186
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
112
250
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed a few days in November 2012 in this hostel. Arranged a prebooked airport shuttle through the hostel, the driver arrived a bit late, but very friendly driver. Stayed in a singe private room wich was affordable, and in my opinion, the best out of "2 worlds" - own room like a hotel, but at the same time able to meet many interesting people.
The bar is nice, there is a chinese take-away option (direct delivery to the hostel) so you can eat lunch or dinner cheap at the hostel.
Breakfast can be bought at the hostel.
Really recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAlexS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty at The Backpack, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you shuttle was a little late for you. They normally are always on time.

It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed your room facilitlies. We too, love the fact that the private rooms allows you to feel as if you are in a hotel, but the crowds that are around the communal areas allows you to meet like minded people.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at the Backpack in Cape Town for just over a week with my brother. I was getting married to a gorgeous girl from Cape Town and needed a place to stay prior to the wedding. I have nothing but amazing things to say about the Backpack. The staff (from the reception, the chefs, the bar staff and even the owners) were amazing and always a helping hand. There was always a great atmosphere and even an awesome Halloween party. I also don't think there are many hotels / hostels in Cape Town where you can have a view of Table Mountain from one of your bedroom windows to Lions Head in the other window.
They also organised a fantastic shark cage dive with White Shark Adventures and my brother went on a couple of tours including a trip to a township and a safari drive at Inverdoorn of which he had nothing but great things to say.

I don't usually do reviews on websites but I believed my experience needed to be shared because it was truly excellent - as was the wedding by the way :)

Room Tip: Steve Biko - Great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaggyBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad that you choice to stay for a part of your wedding holiday at the Backpack.

It is awesome that you could party along with us at the Halloween party.

We are happy to hear that you were happy with the services provided for you by all our staff members.

Please visit us again in the near future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Staying at The Backpack is a MUST while in Cape Town. Over 20 years, Toni & Lee have built a hostel experience that is not just a home away from home, but a community away from home. They bring people together in a comfortable, fun environment. The 2nd night of my stay 25 of us went out on the town lead by Lucas, our fearless Barman! T.B. has relationships with local businesses making it easy to do whatever you want; get a cab, hike, dive, fly, volunteer... T.B. was a highlight of my trip!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonblaze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Backpack.

The owners Lee and Toni have mastered the art of what true backpacking is all about.

It is lovely to hear that you had some awesome adventures with fellow guests, and that our barman Lucas was able to show you a good time in Long Street.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

AMAZING atmosphere!!! The staff (Eleni, Prudence, and Lucas especially) make sure everyone has a great time, arranging activities during the day and great partying at night. It has everything a good hostel needs: great location, delicious food, a fun common area and bar, and the friendliest people around. You'll have a blast!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelle072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strived to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible while at The Backpack.

We are glad that you were able to make use of the common areas located around the hostel to meet other people.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Located a few minutes away from Longstreet. The hostel itself has a home-like atmosphere. Nice view. Friendly staff. We had a double room, which was perfectly fine. Good matras. Coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Room was cleaned daily. There was a small safe in the room. There is small carparking in front of the hostel. It is not behind gates, but there is a security officer sitting at the front door/gate who watches over the carpark, also during the night. Free wifi is available at the bar area. Payed wifi is available anywhere in the hostel. They have a swimming pool too. Nice bar and communial area, you can easily make friends here. Hostel can offer breakfast. Some restaurants are a few minutes walk away. Or when it is dark, the staff can order you a take away to be delivered at the hostel. Dont walk around Cape Town when it is dark.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-travelfraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is lovely to hear that you were happy with your room during your stay with us.

We are glad that you felt safe with leaving your car in the parking lot. It is very important that we have a guide on duty 24/7.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overal stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
148 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Backpack in April for a few nights after arriving in Capetown. We had a little trouble finding it driving from the airport but it was nighttime. The hostel has a great bar/restaurant well priced with really good "healthy" breakfasts/lunch dinners. It is a gathering place and always filled with people. The rooms were average typical hostel style. There is a place to wash clothes and a pool. The whole complex is quite big and sprawling a little "maze like" but interesting to wander around. There is even a teepee set up for "rent". The front desk is helpful they can arrange township tours, or other sightseeing. There is a large parking lot which was easy to find space in.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different ask to see a few if you are particular....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is awesome to hear that you had a good stay with us. Sorry that it was slightly difficult to find us.

As the hostel is made up of four Victorian Houses, it is very nice to find all the hidden aways spots where you can sit and chill if you don't want to be up in the main bar/cafe area.

We are glad that you were able to make use of the travel desk during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
315 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
608 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
484 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 125 in Cape Town Central
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Property: The Backpack
Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing